We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 322
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Priceline
RM 211
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Trip.com
RM 223
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
556
169
20
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
556
169
20
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room roti bakar family suite walking distance famous chendol chowrasta market free afternoon tea excellent hotel boutique hotel tourist attractions free bus heritage building pleasant stay the ground floor street food easy access stayed for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2023

This is a good hotel with good accessibility. The only con is that, there is no parking provided and you have to rely on public parking. However, we did not have any difficulty finding a parking spot.

The hotel itself is located in a strategic location. Walking distance to the Chowrasta market. As for the interiors, not to exaggerate, it was jaw dropping and the service provided was excellent. Definitely worth staying.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Departure53309408214
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Areca Hotel, General Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2023

Dear Departure53309408214,

Thank you for your positive review! We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel good with excellent accessibility.

It's fantastic that you enjoyed our strategic location, especially the proximity to Chowrasta market. We're thrilled that the interiors left a positive impression, and your description of them as "jaw-dropping" is truly appreciated. Providing excellent service is our priority, and we're glad it reflected in your experience.

Thank you for considering us worth staying, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,

Wah Eng Hong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2023

The hotel was nice, clean and taste of oldies. Location super. Parking will be not enough if opposite Majestic has wedding event. The room I stay aircon has cooling issues and has feedback to the mgmt.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Flyer42094615910
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Areca Hotel, General Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2023

Dear Flyer42094615910,

Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to hear you found our hotel nice, clean, and with a touch of nostalgia. The central location is indeed a plus.

We value your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, ensuring a more comfortable experience.

Best Regards,

Wah Eng Hong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2023

This was a great view. We were hesitant as we were not sure of the rooms and the location. But it is the best location.
Though rooms are slightly small but it serve the purpose of just having a good night sleep. Nazrin from the front desk was very helpful. We had requested for a change of room and he obliged it the next day, it was a breeze. The lift in such an old building is a welcome feature. The location is perfect. By the side, you have roti bakar, roti canai, mutton soup. Across the road, you have the famous Chendol and a short walk are all the eateries. Will certainly come back here again in my next trip.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ArchieKopifriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Areca Hotel, General Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2023

Dear ArchieKopifriends,

Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted you enjoyed the great view and found our location to be the best. We're glad the rooms, though slightly small, served the purpose of a good night's sleep. It's fantastic that Nazrin from the front desk was helpful, and we're pleased the room change was smooth. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.


Best Regards,

Wah Eng hong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2023

Absolutely everything was fantastic. The room was great. The hotel seemed as luxury. The free tea snack everyday was fantastic. The employees were always kind. The hotel it’s like 10-15 minutes walking from the city center.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lsA7232GF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Areca Hotel, General Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2023

Dear IsA7232GF,

We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience at our hotel! It's wonderful to know that you found the room comfortable, enjoyed the luxury feel, and appreciated our complimentary tea snacks and kind staff. We take pride in our convenient location, just a short walk from the city center. Thank you for your glowing review, and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future!

Best Regards,

Wah Eng Hong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2023

Charming traditional hotel with all the amenities. Conveniently located close to hawker food stalls, restaurants and markets. Friendly helpful staff. Daily afternoon tea was a treat. 2 kg free laundry for our 5 night stay was an added bonus.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank yatc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Areca Hotel, General Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2023

Dear yatc2017,

Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our charming traditional hotel and appreciated our amenities, location, and friendly staff. We're always here to make your stay special. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,

Wah Eng Hong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews