We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 1/2 day sightseeing tour with Victor ”
Review of Penang Insights

Penang Insights
Ranked #6 of 13 Food & Drink in George Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer a private host service for visitors who prefer a highly personalised experience with the option to create their own tailored itineraries. You will be our special guest for the day and we shall collect you from your hotel and drop you back at the conclusion of your tour. We welcome travelling couples who want their own privacy and the extra comfort. Choose from our standard private tours or let us help you create your own itinerary.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spend a 1/2 day with Victor and it was amazing. Originally our idea was to see the main highlights of Penang, but Victor wanted to show us the other Penang. He took us to some areas with less tourists and we had the chance to see a private home which was set up for a Chinese festival, a artist house where we could als see the impact of the major construction of the building, a small flower start-up, a incredible street art exhibition and of course several of the great Chinese Temples and much more....Thanks Victor for a great day!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 823michaelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangInsights, Owner at Penang Insights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Michaela and Peter,

You are very welcome and thanks for the review. I am very glad that I had the opportunity to meet you and host your walking tour yesterday. Hope you have an enjoyable holiday for the remaining time in Penang and a safe onward journey to Thailand.

Warmest regards,

Victor Khoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"itinerary"
in 2 reviews
"highlights"
in 2 reviews
"culture"
in 3 reviews
"penang"
in 7 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a week in Penang, after a couple of days, it was time to get some help in navigating where and what we were doing. Victor was an absolute star. He was prompt with communication, punctual, engaging, informative, and easy to spend time with.
Victor had put an itinerary together for what we asked, in our case it was Penang nightlife.
We started with being picked up at our hotel, going to a Friday night food market, where we were shown how to navigate our way around local foods stalls, how to buy food, had our 1st drink from a plastic bag and straw - sugar cane juice.
From here we walked a trail leading to a Chinese temple, overlooking the water, looking to mainland Malaysia, spectacular. This was exceptional, at night, the beautiful lights, walking amongst locals homes, a peaceful, calming experience. From there we went to visit a Clan Jetty, again such a wonderful experience.
Seeing Georgetown at night was particularly beautiful. Victor enabled us to experience this with absolute respect for the locals, whilst seeing things, we would never have been able to manage or find ourselves.
Time flew by, we ran out of time, much to our disappointment. That would be our only suggestion, our tour of 4 hours, wasn’t long enough, need longer.
We would absolutely recommend Victor of Penang Insights,
.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Sofia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangInsights, Owner at Penang Insights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sofia,

Thanks for the review.

I am so delighted that I'm part of your local experience and that you and your husband had a wonderful time with me exploring Penang by night. I am also very grateful to you for your referral to your hotel's concierge manager.

It was an absolutely joy that I got to spend the night showing you both around the food stalls and some of Penang's cultural heritage sites. We were fortunate that the heavy rainfalls had stopped while we were navigating and sampling some of the street food. :-)

Wishing you and your husband the best back in Australia.

Cheers,
Victor Khoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The knowledgeable mr Khoo - a crucial subtlety here is this - Victor is a host - this is much more than a guide. He is a charming accommodating highly educated man with a passion for his native Penang and Malaysia. After an extensive education and experience in USA and Australia he has returned to Penang to bring his engaging personality and hospitality to his passion for sharing all the best spots in Penang with those who engage with him. We had the most amazing 3 days with him eating and visiting places we would not have found on our own or appreciated as much even if we did!! He truly cares about what he does and his itinerary is highly personalized and flexible - we loved the history, the food and the local specialties all equally. Victor is a fascinating chap and if you have time on Penang and want to maximize the things you see, what you do and visit and crucially where you eat in the Pearl of the Orient then he has to be your choice as island host. We recommend him wholeheartedly and hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangInsights, Owner at Penang Insights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Julie,

Thank you so much for this lovely review and recommendation. I am so happy to hear that you and Colin had a great time and gave me this fantastic opportunity to host your entire 3-days trip in Penang, a great privilege that I will always cherish and remember.

All the best.

Regards,

Victor Khoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018

My partner and I wanted to visit some of the less touristy parts of Penang island for an authentic experience and to find out what life is like ‘off the beaten track.’ Being keen ‘foodies’ we also wanted to try some of the local delicacies and to explore the natural beauty of the island.

After doing some research we contacted Penang Insights to enquire about a full day tour of the island. Victor was extremely prompt and professional, and took a genuine interest in understanding what sort of things we wanted to see and do so that he could tailor a program for us.

On the morning of our trip Victor collected us from our hotel lobby at the agreed time in a clean modern air-conditioned car. Before setting off Victor explained where we would be heading and what we could expect to see and sample along the way. It was very friendly, comfortable and relaxed, and after the initial briefing we were on our way!

The whole trip was amazing! Throughout the journey we made a number of stops to sample a variety of local dishes and tropical fruit as well as a delicious lunch at a seafood village. We also learned how spice crops were grown and harvested which was really interesting. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we had plenty of time to linger around and take photos.

We felt that the whole day was really worthwhile as we got see to see and experience many things that we wouldn't have if we had just stayed in the town area. The food of course was amazing as was the countryside.

Victor was an absolute pleasure to be with. Thoughtful and attentive, he was always at the ready with bottles of refreshing cold water and towelettes. You could tell he is very passionate about Penang, its food and culture, and his country in general.

We would highly recommend the tour with Victor.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank stuntreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangInsights, Owner at Penang Insights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Reb,

It was an absolutely pleasure to host you and your partner in Penang and thanks for choosing Penang Insights. I am so happy to hear that you both had a wonderful time and enjoyed the local experience.

Wishing you both a pleasant onward trip and safe journey home.

Cheers!
Victor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2018

My wife and I spent two days in Penang with Victor as our private tour guide. He was a delight to be with and very knowledgeable about Penang and its culture. We saw many wonderful sites including temples, local markets and food places. He gave us an authentic experience of the Penang and culture which is exactly what we were looking for. The food was amazing too!

We can highly recommend doing a private tour with Victor and Penang Insights.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Geordie_on_safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangInsights, Owner at Penang Insights, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Dear Geordie,

It was an absolute pleasure of mine to have this opportunity to show you and your wife around in Penang.

Please do come back to visit us again, and have an enjoyable and safe onward journey to Thailand for the remaining of your vacation.

Cheers,

Victor Khoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penang Insights also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Penang Insights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing