We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$196
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$130
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$115
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jen Penang(George Town)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang(George Town)
US$62
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Terraces(George Town)
US$179
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
20
40
18
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
40
18
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswe stayed in a double roomtoilet papershared bathroomwalking distancedormplugwifihostelpadlockpenangdesk
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2015

The location is good, staff are very helpful. The rooms are a nice size with air con.

Bathroom is small but with a good hot shower.

This is located near little India and has a load of bars and restaurants nearby and the price is good so, really, it's perfect for backpackers or anyone travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank awayoverthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

18ringgit for a dorm, good WiFi, clean beds and environment, other guests weren't particularly friendly, didn't see anyone in the dorm talking to each other, people at reception warm up after a while and are helpful and knowledgeable about penang and georgetown

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank carrot57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

3 nights I stayed here was very good. The receptionist was nice and knowledgeable. The dorm room was clean with 5 shared bathrooms (hot shower yeah). You can easily but cheap drink there, don't need to go out. Maybe it's the cheapest hostel in Geogretown so you can start from there to visit outside

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelisaNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

I stayed here two nights, and for 18 riggets you get a dorm which is brilliant. The place is really clean and very nicely finished. The toilets and showers are shared but are fantastic quality and the showers are hot! The staff are friendly and very helpful, they also sell reasonably cheap drinks at reception. There is a nice patio space out back and out the front, it's also in a great location near little India and Chinatown.

The dorm room only has a fan so can get quite hot but the beds a comfy and clean. The wifi has it's ups and downs, but is normally fine and quite fast. There is also private rooms available but I can't comment on them.

The place ironically has a Carlsberg logo out front, because If carlsberg did budget hostels!

I would say id stay again but I really didn't like Penang so will never come back to this island.

If your staying in Georgetown I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank Robertcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

My gf and I stumbled upon this guesthouse whilst looking for a place to stay. Love Lane had to expensive lodging, this was just on the next street. The owners were very friendly and chatty. We paid 50RM for a double room with shared bathroom. These were one of the cleanest we've encountered in Malaysia so far! Our room was basic. Bed, fan, table and even a sink. Which was perfectly fine. Wifi was pretty fast and everything is in walking distance. Definitely worth checking out!

Oh, and Scandinavians: Just down the road there's a bar called Mish Mash. They sell snus for 18.90RM!

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank slem_dorull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews