We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underrated Yet Undisputed. The Jag of Nasi Kandar”

Restoran Mohammed Raffee Nasi Kandar
Ranked #486 of 1,237 Restaurants in George Town
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 October 2020

My good ol' cousin first introduced me this little corner a decade ago referring their fried chicken as the 'Devil Chicken'. Why? As in it was bred down below itself. Satisfyingly big for its price, uniquely marinated, crisped in red. The kuah may come across as fade to some crowd. Personally, their hot steamy rice which collaborates harmoniously with their striking chicken, beef or biji nangka fish makes up for a nice equilibrium. The eggs and bendis seemingly are always fresh.

The form of their curry blend can be rather subjective, it could either be decent to some.. or average to the more traditional taste buds. Nasi Kandar Raffee tend to be consistent in sense of preparation, logistic & supply. The uncle is a lovely chap who is extremely alert of the queue, knowing that customers who wait in such a long line can be critical. He's also a firm, fast-paced person who gets your meal done right in a jiff and straight to payment in 30 seconds while maintaining committed passion in what he does best.

While a certain one near Sikh Temple can be regarded as the Beemer, the one in Penang Rd. or Masjid Kapitan as the Merc, this one caters to the obscure but equally significant crowd.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank davidcoldhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2020

Had Nasi Kandar for dinner. Enjoyed the meal with various dishes ordered.
This restaurant seemed always crowded by the minute for locals and foreign tourists.

Date of visit: January 2020
3  Thank 2818TheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 June 2019 via mobile

Easy to spot this place while passing on Burma Road as it's always have a queue. I stand in line for about 15 minutes until my turn. I request half portion to the server as their rice portion is very generous. Then he got me a big fried chicken, pour all kinds of gravy and curry all over my plate. Now the tricky part is to find a seat as the place is packed. Once you find seat, raise your hand and order your drinks. Now you are ready to dig in on your nasi kandar. Won't spoil the experience, you should try it yourself. The never-ending queues are there for a reason.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank hanzjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 February 2019

Excellent Nasi Kandar. Excellent Roti Chanai (sp?). Go to the food stall, make your choice. Fried chicken? Veg? They’ll bring it over rice with three types of gravy (e.g.Dahl, not the type of gravy you get with a turkey dinner!)

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lovesthelibrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Restoran Mohammed Raffee Nasi Kandar also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Restoran Mohammed Raffee Nasi Kandar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.