We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Elizabeth C

Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Penang

Review of 88 Armenian
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jan 2020
We spent a week at 88 Amernian in December 2019-January 2020 and absolutely loved our stay.

The rooms are beautifully furnished and very spacious. We were in the Rodin Suite, and the large bathroom faced out onto the street. The bath tub is great, and the Bath Butler offered by the hotel is wonderful.

We were so well looked after - a special shout out to Skye.

Breakfast at the hotel was wonderful - fruit, croissants and great choices on the menu. The granola was a particular favourite.

The hotel is also conveniently located in the heart of Georgetown, close to lots of other attractions.

Thank you so much to the wonderful staff at the 88 Armenian!
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 728
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 472
  • Expedia.com
    RM 668
  • Hotels.com
    RM 524
0.6 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 475
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 603
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 453
  • Agoda.com
    RM 395
  • Priceline
    RM 418
0.9 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 1,337
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 3,100
  • Hotel Website
    RM 1,100
  • Trip.com
    RM 1,552
0.8 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 519
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 516
  • Vio.com
    RM 251
  • Hotels.com
    RM 366
0.8 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 493
  • Priceline
    RM 433
  • Agoda.com
    RM 409
  • Expedia.com
    RM 494
3.7 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 576
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 548
  • Agoda.com
    RM 476
  • Hotel Website
    RM 558
3.8 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
RM 185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 179
  • Agoda.com
    RM 175
  • Expedia.com
    RM 222
1.0 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 253
  • Expedia.com
    RM 257
  • KLOOK
    RM 195
  • Priceline
    RM 253
1.0 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 189
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 170
  • KLOOK
    RM 168
  • Hotel website
    RM 189
0.7 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
44
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary minibar unesco world heritage historic georgetown welcome drink aesop luxury zone
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2020

Stayed here for 7 nights with my girlfriend in the Rodin Room and was impressed from the minute we arrived. The hotel itself is situated in the historic heart of George Town, making it perfect for sightseeing and strolls around the city. The building is a renovated heritage site with only six rooms. Ours was huge, wonderfully lit and featured a spacious bathroom with full size bath. The service was impeccable - particularly from Sky, the Bar Manager - and we enjoyed having breakfast each day in the hotel's stylish restaurant. The owner and staff had clearly thought about every detail. A most memorable experience.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gfhk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2020

Stepping in off Armenian Street we were initially grateful for the amazing air conditioning and welcoming staff. It is definately an escape from the heat and bustle of George Town. If you have the opportunity to stay here take it!

88 Armenian exudes luxury beyond that of larger five star hotel chains. The interior design is bespoke from the baths to the coat hangers and the additional extras are so thoughtful. A menu from which you can choose the bath salts to be used when a bath is run for you, gorgeous Aesop toiletries, complimentry minibar and such a comfy bed. Right in the heart of George Town and directly across from our favourite Kopi and steam buns the location was perfect.

It was really so great to escape the heat in such a beautiful space. We travelled with our parents and it was heart warming to see how generous the team at 88 Armenian were to them. They are having the holiday of their lifetime and a big part of it is due to our experience at 88 Armenian.

If you are looking for luxury in Penang, this is where you will find it.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Bluecoraltree
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2019

The architecture is immaculate. The interior design is luxurious. The staffs were great, friendly and helpful. This boutique hotel offers free usage of wifi and provided a smart TV with Netflix, Amazon Prime, an iPad and a bluetooth speaker. The bathroom is huge complete with a deep bath tub, with ceiling rain shower and 2 sinks (just in case one is not enough). The small Aesop bottles of toileteries were complimentary as well. Bath butler service provided from 9am to 10pm.
I wished they had toilet bidet though. A Japanese toilet would be a perfect 10.

Room tip: Check in early to get the full experience, as early as 2pm.
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank nikhaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2019

You will not regret your stay here, I promise. One of the best boutique hotels I've ever stayed at, with great attention to detail, personal touches, and added perks. Personal touches like having a "Bath Butler" service where they draw you a bath with your preferred scents and set up the room/bathroom and leave you treats to enjoy a perfect before bedtime bath, curated snacks and drinks that are complimentary, the way they take a delivery order - if you order food delivery - and prepare it nicely with plates, silverware, bowls, and then serve to your room - all of it makes for a comforting and indulgent stay.

The decor is classy, elegant, with gorgeous design elements (you'll die over the elevator and the bathroom, trust me). And you can't beat the location on one of the most beautiful streets in the historic district, Lebuh Armenian.

Bonus: amazing breakfast! One of best complimentary a la carte breakfasts we've had.

Choose them. You won't regret it!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mrinalini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2019

We stayed in the Rodin suite, which is just perfect for a girls trip between best friends. Thoughtful entertainment system with Amazon Prime, Netflix and Spotify, Aesop amenities and a bath butler service makes it easier to spend the afternoon indoors while the sun glares. When you do decide to venture outdoors, everythings just a stone's throw away, from the murals to the cafes to the Chew Jetty - the address is perfect for explorers. The hotel manager would be happy to tell you where to have the best oyster omelette in Penang if you ask, but be sure to dine in the hotel's Copper restaurant at least once. At night, when the streets become quiet, a cocktail at Copper's bar (which is theTop 4 bar of the year in Penang, btw) is perfect.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarayeo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews