We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hilary
New York City, New York

The best stay in Penang for the most comfortable and personalized experience!

Review of 88 Armenian
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
We had an amazing visit here and loved the hotel! Very small and personal feeling - everyone knows you and welcomes you so graciously. The location is unbeatable - it is steps from so many top sites, but also on a very quiet street. The hospitality was definitely the best part. The whole team was friendly and helpful, always willing to go the extra mile to make it a comfortable stay. We loved the local style breakfast - we were stuffed and each dish better than the last! And the daily snacks left in the room were so good and a great personal touch. We used the bath butler service and it was such a treat!!

The rooms are around a central courtyard from the restaurant downstairs, so that could be loud late at night and somewhat disruptive when falling asleep. And every morning we could hear the call to prayer from the nearby mosque at 5-6am, but that will be true of anywhere in the area and just some local culture. ; )

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and think it is the only place you should stay when you come to Penang!
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: The control panel in the entryway is the best way to control the lights and air; the side panels...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 1,046
  • Expedia.com
    RM 967
  • Vio.com
    RM 610
  • Hotels.com
    RM 766
0.6 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 662
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 565
  • Agoda.com
    RM 433
  • Vio.com
    RM 440
0.9 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 1,200
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
0.8 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 425
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 385
  • Vio.com
    RM 248
  • Hotels.com
    RM 316
0.8 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 472
  • Expedia.com
    RM 475
  • Agoda.com
    RM 391
  • Hotels.com
    RM 470
3.7 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 599
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 574
  • KLOOK
    RM 488
  • Hotel Website
    RM 581
3.8 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
RM 195
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 245
  • Agoda.com
    RM 179
  • Priceline
    RM 181
1.0 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 355
  • Expedia.com
    RM 359
  • KLOOK
    RM 295
  • Vio.com
    RM 355
1.0 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room / Club Deluxe Room
RM 600
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 600
  • Vio.com
    RM 563
  • Hotels.com
    RM 600
0.8 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 207
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel website
    RM 207
  • KLOOK
    RM 199
  • Expedia.com
    RM 229
0.7 km from 88 Armenian
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
44
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary minibar unesco world heritage historic georgetown welcome drink aesop luxury zone
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is exceptional.

I find it hard to believe that this is not higher in the TripAdvisor list. It is as good as any top 5* hotel and I’m glad I somehow caught wind of it at the last moment.

The hotel is absolutely stunning - the exterior and interiors are exquisite. We stayed at the loft suite and wow. The fittings and decor are top end and classy. Smart tv, smart panel lightings, beautiful bathtub, Aesop toiletries..I could just go on. An extremely unique lift as well. The lobby area, which doubles up as a restaurant oozes class. It helps that it’s located right smack in Armenian Street with tonnes of cafes and eateries around. The hotel also smells great.

I’ve been to Four Seasons, Ritz, Shangs, Kempinskis and what not and I dare say the service here matches with those. Because the hotel only has a handful of rooms, the service seems extremely personalised. I booked my trip just a day before, and Suet Chin and Anna were already on WhatsApp moments after I booked to communicate with me. Suet Chin gave us an extremely warm welcome sharing with us with a lot of info about the area than most other hotel staff do. I generally dislike welcome drinks almost anywhere but when I had a sip, I had to finish it. Anna and team also surprised us with a cake and gift as June was both our 10th anniversary and our child’s birthday month. Not just a slice, a hugeeee cake!

Prior to visiting, I was considering Eastern and Oriental but wow, absolutely 0 regrets about my decision. Yes it’s a small hotel with not many facilities but it’s gorgeous. Some blogger or influencer has to get this hotel reviewed and shared with others. It deserves more than 44 reviews on tripadvisor.

5 stars without a doubt. Will definitely recommend.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 220sunilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

To the many lovely boutique hotels in Georgetown, 88 Armenian is a new jewel to add to the collection.
Converted from a burnt out shop house, the owner and architect has spared no expense to make it stand out.
Pros: Good sized rooms. Great beds, linens, pillows. Stand alone bath tubs with a bath butler menu. Spacious bathrooms with double sinks and large shower stalls. Lovely lighting. Super efficient air cons. Good breakfast sets.
Superb staff service.
Good location.
Cons:
Super efficient aircon. It's really cold and setting it higher only sees it revert to the coldest setting when the electronic lights settings are changed ( several times a day and night). Noise seal could be improved as people in the corridors and downstairs dining can be heard. This didn't bother us too much after 10pm as the hotel is quiet by then.
Hangers in the Bartholey Suite are difficult to use as they are fixed into a high hanger that vertically challenged will have difficulty reaching. We also stayed in the Mackenzie Suite which we liked.

Room tip: We liked the Mackenzie Suite. We really liked the manager and staff. The in-house restaurant Tong is superb and well worth one indulgent meal at.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Te Shan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2024 via mobile

Small boutique hotel right in the center of Georgetown. Gen and her team take extemely good care of their guests, small but very nice breakfast, changing on a daily basis. Rooms are equipped with all modern amenities (complementary mini bar, coffee machine, Netflix etc.) but maintain the colonial charme of the original building. Great experience!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Markus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2024

We have been to Georgetown but we have never stayed in such an amazing hotel surrounded by so much culture and heritage, much to see and do just within walking distance. The hotel itself and the hotel team were amazing, with such attention to detail and care, bath butler service plus specially brewed iced tea & evening snacks and different breakfast served on our 3D/2N there. 5-star at its best.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2024

From the arrival, with the very friendly staff and the great tips in George Town, every restaurant recommendation was a dream, to the fantastic huge room and the breakfast, everything was great. They even took care of the parking app as we didn't have a Malay number. I can recommend this hotel to anyone without any ifs and buts.
Keep up the good work!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Excursion23986467345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews