We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but needs more people” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of That Little Wine Bar

That Little Wine Bar
Ranked #142 of 870 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Wine Bar, French, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A neighbourhood European wine bar and restaurant with a warm and welcoming ambiance. We accept VISA and Mastercard.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice but needs more people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2016

Very good wine list to choose from and imagine it would have a nice atmosphere with more of a crowd. Unfortunately it was empty when we visited mid-week so really lacked atmosphere which was a shame as the wine was really lovely. Lacked the quality and service of a place like Georgetown Wines but would be willing to go again perhaps when a bit busier as definitely has potential for a nice night out.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Bluemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    50
    37
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely ace great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Well contrary to other reviews the staff were wonderful & very attentive & the service was great.
The place is friendly & has a good selection of wine. We went there several times & thoroughly enjoyed each visit. We didn't have a full meal but the snacks & tappas tower we had were delicious.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank JBubbles50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Service has slipped since our last visit but food still very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2016

The menu is a bit limited (especially for vegetarians) but you can't go wrong with the daily specials.

  • Visited March 2016
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeirutMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service nowhere in sight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2016

A friend and I decided to try out this place as it was supposed to be a good place to pair food with wine.

When we arrived, we walked into a nearly empty restaurant, with a couple seated at a table eating, and nobody else in sight.

After we were seated and ordered the food and wine, the waiter verbally took our order and left. 10 minutes later he returned, asking "was the order .... ?". This did not inspire much confidence.

The food took about 20-30 minutes to arrive, the wine was so so, as was the food considering the price being charged. The staff disappeared to the back after they served the food and you could hear some mild chatter coming from the kitchen.

When it came to the check, again it was a chore to grab their attention.

  • Visited December 2015
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Soon Theam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis of great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2016

My wife & I visited TLWB on a Monday evening after reading positive reviews, and were not disappointed. The food dishes (French Onion Soup, Seared Scallops & Lamb Neck Steak) were all fabulous, the house wine and cocktails delightful and the service efficient and friendly. The experience was so enjoyable, we returned the following evening. Thoroughly recommended if you wish to eat great food, experience friendly service and listen to "easy" lounge music over a glass of red wine.

  • Visited February 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank am0re1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed That Little Wine Bar also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to That Little Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing