We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dead”

That Little Wine Bar
Ranked #119 of 929 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A neighbourhood European wine bar and restaurant with a warm and welcoming ambiance. We accept VISA and Mastercard.
1 review
“Dead”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Visited on Wednesday and it was dead. No opinion about this wine bar. Maybe it is better on weekends . A little remote

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBitterTruth, Owner at That Little Wine Bar, responded to this review, 1 July 2016
Hello there,
thank you for your review. Unluckily we are at the moment bang in the middle of Hari Raya - the fasting month. This is the time were all restaurants on our island are pretty much empty because the locals go to the Hari Raya banquettes that offer free of charge or cheap food after the sun is down. It doesn't matter what religion you are having - you can eat there cheaply. Everybody is welcome.
It will all be over in about a weeks time and things will be back to normal. Sorry about that - but there is nothing we can do. That is how Penang works :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    53
    37
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but needs more people”
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Very good wine list to choose from and imagine it would have a nice atmosphere with more of a crowd. Unfortunately it was empty when we visited mid-week so really lacked atmosphere which was a shame as the wine was really lovely. Lacked the quality and service of a place like Georgetown Wines but would be willing to go again perhaps when a bit busier as definitely has potential for a nice night out.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Bluemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely ace great staff”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Well contrary to other reviews the staff were wonderful & very attentive & the service was great.
The place is friendly & has a good selection of wine. We went there several times & thoroughly enjoyed each visit. We didn't have a full meal but the snacks & tappas tower we had were delicious.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank JBubbles50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Service has slipped since our last visit but food still very good”
Reviewed 15 March 2016

The menu is a bit limited (especially for vegetarians) but you can't go wrong with the daily specials.

  • Visited March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeirutMoores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Service nowhere in sight”
Reviewed 3 March 2016

A friend and I decided to try out this place as it was supposed to be a good place to pair food with wine.

When we arrived, we walked into a nearly empty restaurant, with a couple seated at a table eating, and nobody else in sight.

After we were seated and ordered the food and wine, the waiter verbally took our order and left. 10 minutes later he returned, asking "was the order .... ?". This did not inspire much confidence.

The food took about 20-30 minutes to arrive, the wine was so so, as was the food considering the price being charged. The staff disappeared to the back after they served the food and you could hear some mild chatter coming from the kitchen.

When it came to the check, again it was a chore to grab their attention.

  • Visited December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soon Theam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed That Little Wine Bar also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to That Little Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing