We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick trip made all the more memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yeng Keng Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick trip made all the more memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2017

Stayed at Yeng Keng for one night in Feb with my wife. We were there to celebrate a friend's birthday. As it happened, we checked in on my birthday and the recep sent a cake up to the room. Very thoughtful.
Room was comfy. Hotel was clean and well-located - within easy walking distance of Georgetown's many key food destinations.
And since the weather is extremely hot, this is a good hotel to choose because it has a pool.

Room Tip: Garden Suite is well sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    220
    38
    4
    2
See reviews for
135
398
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2017

Simply put a place that I would certainly go to again if in Penang. The service was very good.We had a problem with our air con and the lady on reception sorted it out straight away very cheerfully.Sadly it broke for a second time and we were moved rooms to a slightly bigger room very efficiently. The pool is great and we were regularly the only ones in it . The bar service was very good to and the seating outside was a pleasant place to have a few gin and tonics.
Good safe for storing valuables.
The only thing that as average was the breakfast. Not much choice but if you like toast, yoghurt and some fruit ,it is fine. Again the staff were very friendly.
Very centrally located too so all in all one to go to.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londontraveller1964X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff are some of the nicest people ever. Mildred at check in is such a lovely woman and was very kind and helpful. The breakfast is delicious, served at the cafe. The staff there was also incredible. The room is fine, kind of small but nice and clean. My only complaint is the bed is not that comfortable. I found the mattress hard. The wifi is free but very slow. The location is great. Walking distance to everything Georgetown.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingRedheadCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

This was our second stay at Yeng Keng and the hotel is still fabulous.

The hotel is perfectly located, the staff are super friendly the rooms and the hotel common areas are spotless. The hotel was quiet and breakfast has choices to suit everyone.

After a busy day we enjoyed relaxing in the early evening in the front courtyard with a cool drink watching the world go.

We enjoyed every minute of our stay in this Georgetown gem!

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

This is a great alternative for those that look to escape from the busy selected packaged accommodation for Visa Run. It's located a 200 mt from the Hotel / Embassy serviced building for Thai Visas. It's quite, comfortable and clean, staff is super friendly and ready to assist any request you might have.

Room Tip: Either near or far off the reception, both good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenzo_beltrame_197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.4 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.7 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.5 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,394 reviews
0.1 km away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Property: Yeng Keng Hotel
Address: 362 & 366 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price range (per night): RM301 - RM444
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th-century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang. Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel. The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House,' adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street. Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd, was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing