We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yeng Keng Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$67
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$156
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$116
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$21
US$18
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
555
237
42
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
555
237
42
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschulia streetchulia suitegarden suitesmall hotelsmall poolcall to prayerwithin walking distanceboutique hotelrestored chinesesitting roomceiling fanbreakfast was includedexploring georgetownpublic areaschicken pielittle indianasi lemak
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We recently had our third stay in The Yeng Keng Hotel and will always stay at this hotel when we visit Penang. Having lived in Penang in the early 80's, the Yeng Keng brings back positive memories with its heritage building. The rooms, although smallish, are always spotless, its location is fantastic for those wishing to explore Georgetown. All the staff from the Managers, reservation personnel through to the restaurant staff are warm and efficient and are so welcoming. A great place to stay

Room Tip: Views are not necessary, but you can get rooms overlooking their pool
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TellurianCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We spent three nights here, but wished it had been longer. Our room was 'small but perfectly formed': very well equipped with a comfortable bed and lots of hot water. The public areas of the building are particularly attractively furnished with lovely plants and quiet seating areas.
The hotel is in a good location for exploring Georgetown.
A bonus is the exceptional restaurant which is all the better for being separate from the hotel. Its colonial style with beautiful wood made it very appealing and indeed it attracts many people not staying in the hotel for its Nonya specialities. Breakfast was excellent, particularly the home-made cinamon rolls.
Clever use of space has enabled the squeezing in of a small pool and a few loungers, which provides a pleasant place to sit outside. The outside seating area at the front was quite sunny when we were there and rather hot.
The service was excellent. I was particularly grateful to the staff for sending on to our next hotel some items which I had left behind. This was dealt with very quickly.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KitSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

this is a really unique boutique style hotel. the staff were amazing and really helpful. it was our anniversary when we visited and they gave us a lovely cake to celebrate! the pool is small but just perfect to cool down after a day of sightseeing or scootering around the island.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

A lovely heritage hotel right in the middle of Chulia Street. Old world feeling! The rooms are not exactly the biggest but then being in Penang you would be probably coming back in the early evening. Chulia Street is quiet by day but if you stroll along it you may well see some ancient craftsmen at work - like the aging tinsmith I chanced upon. And when the sun sets Chulia Street comes alive. Great street food, tons of bars. There is a decent car park at the back of the hotel and bus stops and a convenience store close by. The breakfast was smashing and it was a delight eating 'nonya' delicacies I hadn't had since my youth.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MSD1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This was the most beautiful hotel I have stayed in. In the centre of George Town, walking distance to most tourist attractions or small taxi cost. Not far down the road, we used the Laundromat which was great.
The staff at this hotel were excellent, so helpful and friendly.
Would recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SurelyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews