We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“25th Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yeng Keng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yeng Keng Hotel
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“25th Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed from April 2 to 6, 2017. We had a great stay for 2 nights at their courtyard double room and also 2 nights at the garden suite. Each room is beautiful, functional and very clean. The open areas/courtyard with beautiful furnishings and wall art upstairs and downstairs made the "feel at home" experience. Daily breakfast buffet food and service is excellent at the Yeng Keng cafe and restaurant.The pool is nice and wifi connection is great. All the staff are friendly and accomodating especially Mildred and Trish. We love the fresh flower decoration on our bed for our anniversary treat. Definitely will return with our children next time.

Stayed April 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank elsa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    220
    38
    4
    2
See reviews for
135
398
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently had our third stay in The Yeng Keng Hotel and will always stay at this hotel when we visit Penang. Having lived in Penang in the early 80's, the Yeng Keng brings back positive memories with its heritage building. The rooms, although smallish, are always spotless, its location is fantastic for those wishing to explore Georgetown. All the staff from the Managers, reservation personnel through to the restaurant staff are warm and efficient and are so welcoming. A great place to stay

Room Tip: Views are not necessary, but you can get rooms overlooking their pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TellurianCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent three nights here, but wished it had been longer. Our room was 'small but perfectly formed': very well equipped with a comfortable bed and lots of hot water. The public areas of the building are particularly attractively furnished with lovely plants and quiet seating areas.
The hotel is in a good location for exploring Georgetown.
A bonus is the exceptional restaurant which is all the better for being separate from the hotel. Its colonial style with beautiful wood made it very appealing and indeed it attracts many people not staying in the hotel for its Nonya specialities. Breakfast was excellent, particularly the home-made cinamon rolls.
Clever use of space has enabled the squeezing in of a small pool and a few loungers, which provides a pleasant place to sit outside. The outside seating area at the front was quite sunny when we were there and rather hot.
The service was excellent. I was particularly grateful to the staff for sending on to our next hotel some items which I had left behind. This was dealt with very quickly.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this is a really unique boutique style hotel. the staff were amazing and really helpful. it was our anniversary when we visited and they gave us a lovely cake to celebrate! the pool is small but just perfect to cool down after a day of sightseeing or scootering around the island.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely heritage hotel right in the middle of Chulia Street. Old world feeling! The rooms are not exactly the biggest but then being in Penang you would be probably coming back in the early evening. Chulia Street is quiet by day but if you stroll along it you may well see some ancient craftsmen at work - like the aging tinsmith I chanced upon. And when the sun sets Chulia Street comes alive. Great street food, tons of bars. There is a decent car park at the back of the hotel and bus stops and a convenience store close by. The breakfast was smashing and it was a delight eating 'nonya' delicacies I hadn't had since my youth.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSD1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.4 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.7 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.5 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
0.1 km away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yeng Keng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yeng Keng Hotel

Property: Yeng Keng Hotel
Address: 362 & 366 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Family Hotel in George Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price range (per night): RM300 - RM444
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yeng Keng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yeng Keng Hotel is a 20-room restored heritage boutique hotel located in one of the oldest surviving and intact 19th-century buildings at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of George Town, Penang. Like many of the other buildings in the neighbourhood, it was originally built in the mid 1800's as a private residence. The Anglo Indian bungalow belonged initially to Shaik Eusoffe bin Shaik Latiff an Indian Muslim family and remains unique in Chulia Street for not being relegated to the rear of a row of shop-houses blocking its facade. In 1897 trustees of the Cantonese Club 'Ying Han Pit Shu' bought the building on behalf of the association, later donating it to the trustees of the Straits Chinese Building Association in 1939. The building was later leased to Yeng Keng Hotel. The conversion from a residence into a budget hotel was the prevailing trend along the street at the beginning of the 20th century. Small places of lodgings that were conveniently reached from the harbour were in great demand as the traffic in the port grew. An impressive traditional Chinese entrance gate was constructed announcing entry to the 'Lodging House,' adding grandeur to the commercial establishment and to distinguish it from the rest of the buildings on the street. Conservation and upgrading by the present owner, Hoo Kim Properties Sdn Bhd, was undertaken in March 2009 with the renewed Yeng Keng Hotel completed in April 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yeng Keng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yeng Keng Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing