We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SanJK89
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Good Hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jan 2024
Pleasant stay, big room, comfortable with all the required amenities. Located in strategic location with easy access to majority of the places around Georgetown. Ample of parking space provided behind the hotel with easy access via backdoor. Have place to chill and play games at 1st Floor with a mini kids playground as well. Also have a rooftop cafe. In house dinings are also available. Had a decent stay.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 454
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 434
  • Priceline
    RM 394
  • Vio.com
    RM 400
0.3 km from WOW Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 728
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 574
  • Agoda.com
    RM 445
  • Hotels.com
    RM 541
0.8 km from WOW Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 519
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 457
  • Agoda.com
    RM 353
  • Hotels.com
    RM 387
0.2 km from WOW Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 475
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from WOW Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 493
  • Expedia.com
    RM 469
  • Agoda.com
    RM 449
  • Hotels.com
    RM 491
3.1 km from WOW Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
RM 179
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 251
  • Priceline
    RM 172
  • Hotels.com
    RM 226
0.4 km from WOW Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 253
  • Expedia.com
    RM 256
  • KLOOK
    RM 195
  • Priceline
    RM 253
0.7 km from WOW Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 576
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 550
  • KLOOK
    RM 469
  • Hotel Website
    RM 559
3.2 km from WOW Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 189
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel website
    RM 189
  • KLOOK
    RM 164
  • Expedia.com
    RM 209
1.0 km from WOW Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 3,145
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
    RM 1,993
  • travelup.com
    RM 2,597
  • Expedia.com
    RM 3,113
1.1 km from WOW Hotel Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
11
12
3
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11
12
3
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2023

We had an unpleasant experience at Wow Hotel Penang.
On 22nd July - MY BIRTHDAY, we arrived the hotel in the late afternoon, turn on the air-con but it wasn’t cold till we came back at night.

We check out my friend’s room which is just next door, her air-con was fine and cool. We called the receptionist and ask them to check out the problem. When the receptionist came up, she don't know how to operate the air-con controller. Also the boiler plug was melted in the power point and nobody can remove it till their tech guy came and use tools to force it out. And..we requested for a fan since the air-con was not cold. But their room only have 2 power points. We need one to charge our hp etc hence there’s no power point for the fan even though they send us a fan.

They mini fridge was not cold and have a funny smell. we asked for a change of room but she said they are fully booked.

With all above, we ask the receptionist to solve it, she told us is late (at around 8pm) and all the staff who can solve our problem have gone off for the day. Fine! She told us she will send staff to solve our problem the next day at 9am. When we return back to our hotel at about 3pm, nothing was done. So, they did not honor their words to us. We called them and ask why was the problem not solve still? Then they send their staff up. But they couldn’t do anything to the power point at all. We waited for some time before we decided that we couldn’t take it anymore and is just wasting our time with them hence we decided to demand a refund for the rest of the night. To be fair to them we will pay for the one night stay.
They then told us all the decision-makers (Manager and Supervisor) all on off, no decision-makers are there. What is this sia. We demand them to give us an reply to confirm that they will refund us the money with an receipt! In the end, they let us check out and said will refund us the money to our CC in 3-5 working days. We check out on 23rd July but till today - 17th Aug 2023, we still haven't receive the payment/refunds from them.

They don't keep their words, so good luck if you stay here.

I also told the receptionist, pls don’t check in anyone to room 407 to let the guest die from electric shock since they have failure powder point. Room 406 is fine. Room 408 air-con was not cold. So apparently, all their system are not consistent.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sightsee34306335116
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2023

The room is spacious, the pillow and the bed are too flat, but the location is great, close to Komtar, Prangin Mall and Gama Supermarket. The toilet in our room was smelly, we asked the staff to switch the room. After they give the new room, the water in the shower room could not recede.... we asked them to check it and fix it. Thank God the staffs are helpful.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Xie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2023 via mobile

The hotel definitely did not wow me. The pictures on booking.com looked lovely, however the room was very run down. There was a dangerous amount of mould in the bathroom, all over the sink and shower curtain , which for someone with sever asthma, is a massive issue.
The room needed re painting, and simply just a lot of TLC. (The same with the entire hotel to be honest). In the ‘games room’ , consisting of a table football and a pool table. However, the ‘pool table’ was just an old , broken and completely useless table with a bit of green felt on the top. Not sure why they haven’t just chucked it !
Furthermore, when trying to get a lay in, we were woken up at around 6:30-7am to what we assumed were the cleaners (maybe guest?). We were woken up and kept up foe about half an hour. So when you stay for a quit and relaxing stay, this ruined that.
Overall, if you just want somewhere to stay with a comfy bed , I would recommend, however wouldn’t go any further than

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2023

The hotel is in the strategic area, close to Komtar, Prangin Mall and bus terminal. The room is spacious and clean. They clean up our room during we stay. It provides an iron in the room. If you bring so many stuffs to carry, you should access the back gate from Hotel Sentral Wow Hotel at Jalan Lorong Macalister (the landmark is the Wedding Legend. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Xie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2023

This budget hotel is located in front of Komtar where are the buses stop. For transportation it is not a problem. The airport bus also stop at Komtar,and if you are going to jetty,then the bus stop stop just 3 minutes walk in front of the temple. The hotel door is always lock, so you need to push the bell if you are the first timer. You need to climb up the stairs as the lobby is located at second floor, be reminded there is no doormen to help you carry heavy luggage. Be careful while you are climbing the stairs as some steps are broken. The lobby has plenty of sitting with nice decoration for those who like Instagram pictures. At lobby area also have a small open air space,maybe for smoking. The room I booked is a twin room and facing the backyard,so it is very quiet. Front room will be very noisy as the traffic is endless around Komtar. The room is OK in size and cleanliness,but a bit dark. Inside the room there is a small working desk but you won't be able to use it as the kettle is also sharing the desk. My bad experience is the safety box, it is out of order and not able to use it permanently as the batteries leakage have rooted the whole panel. The bathroom is bright and looks very clean,the water is good with hot and cold water. This hotel is near restaurants, as Penang is so famous with food. If you like walking,then everywhere is within walking distance such as the night food street, the Weld, the old city etc. Considering the best location and best room rate,I will certainly return to stay.

Room tip: Choose backyard room for quiet night
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HARTONO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews