We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Clear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean & Clear”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Excellent value, the clean and clear environment provided me a good rest.
The location is good and have a lot of good food nearby. It is also very convenient to a lot of heritage spots.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esthertyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    295
    153
    30
    19
See reviews for
110
255
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Looks just like the photos. Everything is crisp white and more importantly clean. Fantastic location.

Only downside is the tiny bathrooms which are more like small wet rooms.

Some rooms do open straight onto the reception area but it was very quiet. Thick fire doors help to block out the noise. It's a very quiet hotel.

Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fidgeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I like the white theme of the hotel. White floor, white sheets, white furnitures. I paid 200RMB for a double room for one night, not the cheapest around, but it was worthwhile.

This is a two storey buidling, so don't expect a receptionist in blazer greeting you. However, the service staff are really a friendly bunch and that made up for the lack of professional image. There is no intercom in the room, but I didn't mind opening my room door calling out for extra towels or extra bottles of water down the corridor.

Good location if you are exploring Georgetown. There is a 7-11 around 2 min walk away. Cable tv was a bonus.

Only problem is we were given a room which smelled of cigarettes and has a window which open to a corridor. Otherwise, it is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stardeenaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

as i write, we are still waiting at the lobby waiting to be checked in. we arrived at 10.15pm and extremely tired from three long journey considering the heavy traffic during this peak travel period.

all we want is to check in but we are told the system is down and the staff informs us they cannot check us in. it is now 11.20pm. the manager is not here. nobody knows what is going on.

this is terrible and a very bad experience.

thought i tried to call the hotel (eventhough I'm here), just to see if i can get anybody on the phone who might know something. guess what...been calling 3x and NO ANSWER.

I'm very frustrated n disappointed with chulia heritage hotel. I'm considering canceling my booking. its 11.25pm. we are tired.

the staff just told us we can get a room. but now there is an electricity problem! incredulous. this is certainly a very bad experience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Skip if you want a budget place, but if you like a hotel this is a great value. It is a pretty nice and modern place, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Fast internet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.5 km away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 km away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.5 km away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#20 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 km away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Property: Chulia Heritage Hotel
Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price range (per night): RM78 - RM160
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing