We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Red Inn Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Inn Heritage
Ranked #84 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Stayed here for three night while doing my visa from Thailand. Great atmosphere and good service. Don't expect 5 star as it is a guesthouse but rooms are good and come with breakfast. WiFi all around and huge TV with plenty of coffee in the lounge area. Nice and comfortable feeling. Some rooms share bathroom but that's OK as the place is so clean. Going again next wek..

Room Tip: Better to bring a towel or you may have to pay for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2017

Great location, you can walk around the town from the place.
The lady at the receptionist was so nice and helpful. We booked the train back to KL at 6am, which was really early to take any of public transport, and Uber or Grab wouldn't be any easier. Luckily, she contacted her friend to take us to the KTM station with a reasonable price. So overall, this is a smart choice for you when visit Penang. However,
There were a lot of mosquitoes in the place, especially my room. :(
The deposit money was quite high compared to hostels in KL.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at red inn heritage over Chinese New Year, so the hostel was very busy. We paid for a superior room which was a great size, had a couch as well as a king size bed plus desk, so loads of room to spread our stuff out. The room had great air con which considering the heat over the time of our stay was fantastic. There is a lot of room for improvement though - our room was not cleaned or sheets/towels changed for our whole 5 night stay, the towels we were given were old and full of holes, the bathroom had mouldy around the door and peeling paint on the walls, and the and floor was badly scuffed and needed a repaint. At night we found the place quite noisy with people coming and going past our room. No maps in reception - we're repeat visitors so know Penang well but new visitors would find this useful.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank afternoon_twee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

It is cheap, it is central. It could be cleaner, especially the common areas like sofas in front of the television. This hostel is in an old pre-WW2 shophouse but although it has a lot of potential, the decor is bad. It could be much nicer with just a little bit more imagination.
Breakfast cannot be called breakfast - just bread, butter, jam and tea/coffee.
Room was not like advertised. On the photos it looks much much nicer and in reality it is very small, and feels like sleeping in a cardbox. But, as I have already said, it is cheap.
Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vanelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

From the desk and the front, the place looks clean and inviting. Step into their rooms and you will be transported to a slum. The rooms are dirty although the toilets are alright. Don't look under the wash basin unless you want to have the shock of your lives. Walk deeper into the 'abyss' and you will find a small opening where they dump all the broken sinks and toilet bowls next to the toilets. The place is long and you get the idea that they extended the place from time to time without much planning making the rooms to be built haphazardly. You will notice that the rooms are not built linearly. The toilets and baths are also simply built so you often see water stains on your ceiling or cysts forming at the edges of the walls.

The only good thing I can say about this place is the number of toilets and baths are higher than other guesthouses I have encountered. And they provide simple breakfast for their occupants. But pay attention to the coffee. 3 days I was there and I noticed one of the coffee machines' pot was not changed in all the three days. No one dares to consume the coffee because we didn't know how long it was there.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kingsguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
Cocoa Mews
Cocoa Mews
#31 of 172 in George Town
155 reviews
0.1 km away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#26 of 172 in George Town
102 reviews
0.4 km away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#22 of 172 in George Town
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Armenian Suite
Armenian Suite
#37 of 172 in George Town
82 reviews
0.6 km away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#50 of 172 in George Town
184 reviews
0.1 km away
Just Duvet Guesthouse
Just Duvet Guesthouse
#125 of 172 in George Town
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Inn Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Inn Heritage

Address: 15 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: RM49 - RM82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Inn Heritage 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Inn Heritage, its 2-story heritage building with modern and comfortable interior design style. The Guesthouse features 31 rooms with 2 chill out areas. Here there is choice varieties of private room types. Red Inn Heritage is warm and friendly and welcomes travelers from all over the world. We have a wealth of experience in the industry and know what travelers value and need during their stay. Guest can relax in our chill out area, complete with 50" Plasma TV and movie library, or catch up with friends and family over the internet. Wi-Fi access is also available throughout the property (FREE OF CHARGE). Trips and tours can also be booked at our reception, so don't be afraid to ask. The Inn also features a small reception/lobby as well as an umbrella shaded breakfast terrace. Red Inn Heritage's various private room types are: single, double, twin and triple, with shared or attached bathrooms that can accommodate a total of 62 people. Bed sheets and linen are provided and there is a choice of low and high budget for rooms. Air-Conditioned rooms are available for your choosing. Bathrooms come with 24 hr hot showers. Red Inn Heritage is located in the heart of Penang Island. We are 8 minutes walk from Penang Port Pengkalan Weld George Town. Bus stops at Lebuh Chulia that need 3 minutes walk to our Red Inn Heritage. If you like shopping then you can go along Jalan Penang or even Lebuh Chulia, were you can find and also taste a lot of different foods (Chinese, Indian, Malay and Peranakan) and merchandise. Georgetown also has a brilliant nightlife and there are a whole host of clubs and late night bars where you can go out and party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Red Inn Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Inn Heritage Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing