We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$141
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jen Penang(George Town)
US$85
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$122
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$31
US$27
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royale Chulan Penang(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Terraces(George Town)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$191
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
35
89
55
26
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
89
55
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormhuge tvshared toiletprivate roomfree breakfast isaverage staybeds were very comfortabletea coffeelocation is greatcommon areasstayed here for nightschinese new yearpenangguesthousesasiamosquitoeswi
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Great location, you can walk around the town from the place.
The lady at the receptionist was so nice and helpful. We booked the train back to KL at 6am, which was really early to take any of public transport, and Uber or Grab wouldn't be any easier. Luckily, she contacted her friend to take us to the KTM station with a reasonable price. So overall, this is a smart choice for you when visit Penang. However,
There were a lot of mosquitoes in the place, especially my room. :(
The deposit money was quite high compared to hostels in KL.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at red inn heritage over Chinese New Year, so the hostel was very busy. We paid for a superior room which was a great size, had a couch as well as a king size bed plus desk, so loads of room to spread our stuff out. The room had great air con which considering the heat over the time of our stay was fantastic. There is a lot of room for improvement though - our room was not cleaned or sheets/towels changed for our whole 5 night stay, the towels we were given were old and full of holes, the bathroom had mouldy around the door and peeling paint on the walls, and the and floor was badly scuffed and needed a repaint. At night we found the place quite noisy with people coming and going past our room. No maps in reception - we're repeat visitors so know Penang well but new visitors would find this useful.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank afternoon_twee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

It is cheap, it is central. It could be cleaner, especially the common areas like sofas in front of the television. This hostel is in an old pre-WW2 shophouse but although it has a lot of potential, the decor is bad. It could be much nicer with just a little bit more imagination.
Breakfast cannot be called breakfast - just bread, butter, jam and tea/coffee.
Room was not like advertised. On the photos it looks much much nicer and in reality it is very small, and feels like sleeping in a cardbox. But, as I have already said, it is cheap.
Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vanelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

From the desk and the front, the place looks clean and inviting. Step into their rooms and you will be transported to a slum. The rooms are dirty although the toilets are alright. Don't look under the wash basin unless you want to have the shock of your lives. Walk deeper into the 'abyss' and you will find a small opening where they dump all the broken sinks and toilet bowls next to the toilets. The place is long and you get the idea that they extended the place from time to time without much planning making the rooms to be built haphazardly. You will notice that the rooms are not built linearly. The toilets and baths are also simply built so you often see water stains on your ceiling or cysts forming at the edges of the walls.

The only good thing I can say about this place is the number of toilets and baths are higher than other guesthouses I have encountered. And they provide simple breakfast for their occupants. But pay attention to the coffee. 3 days I was there and I noticed one of the coffee machines' pot was not changed in all the three days. No one dares to consume the coffee because we didn't know how long it was there.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kingsguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We got ourselves 3 double rooms and a family room for a little over RM600. Seeing all the bad reviews, I didn't have much expectations before we arrive. Despite the creaking wood floor and paper thin walls, this place is comfortable and it has air conditioning. If you're the diva type that can't handle sharing bathrooms, don't come here. But if you only need a comfortable place to crash amidst your food adventuring all over Penang with clean toilet and non-compromised water pressure any time of the day, this place it is a good catch.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Angel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews