We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy customers”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The Calligraphy room was extremely comfortable & smart & quiet. The bed -superb. Bathroom/shower -spotless & large. The whole interior design of the re furbished colonial building was done in good taste (no tacky fake "old/twee") as well as being "homey." Service & front desk employee - impeccable. The absolute highlight though, was the Italian restaurant which really was a culinary experience!!!! We went without a lot of expectations, but were extremely impressed & will definitely come back here (& recommend it to our friends) I don't give compliments easily, but friendly staff, a good breakfast, details like the Nespresso machine, good design & wonderful food, cannot be argued with!!

Room Tip: It was great & one room away from a small outdoor terrace
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Willy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017

The Campbell House exceeded all my expectations in terms of appearance, service and friendliness. They made the 3 days I spent in the Georgetown district amazing! My room was elegant, but also very comfortable and relaxing. My whole experience at the hotel was like stepping back into another era.

Room Tip: Room was spacious and well maintained.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pacificbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

My girlfriend and I just returned from 3 days at Campbell House. We have stayed in many places around Asia on weekend getaways from Singapore and can genuinely say it was the best hotel experience we have ever had. Our stay was helped hugely by a number of great recommendations on the first day, our room (Opium Room) was beautiful, and lovely touches like water being restocked every time you leave make such a big difference to the quality of stay. Breakfast is wide-ranging and plentiful (they even made us sandwiches to take on our early departure on the final day), and runs until 12 in case you want to have a lay in.. really can't recommend highly enough :)

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed in the sari room and definitely will be back to try out the other rooms. All the rooms are themed differently and are beautifully decorated.
The service was exquisite especially their attention to detail from personalised welcome letters, Christmas gift and card and surprise daily treats in the minibar. The staff were also very knowledgable about the area and where to eat!
Breakfast was delicious. Especially the homemade Kaya which I wish I could have taken a jar home to eat! It was a nice touch to provide complimentary lemon tea in the minibar instead of the normal beers and juices.
The shower pressure was good and bathroom was clean making for a comfy stay. Location wise I found handy to walk to all the attractions in Georgetown. The rooftop terrace was also a cool place to just chill and hangout when you want some quite relaxing time away from the crowds on the street.
This place is definitely worth the money and time.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dianna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Many firsts for our first-time at Campbell House- first time having our luggage hauled up by rope and pulley, first time being surprised by afternoon tea and milk in the fridge like a BnB, first time having eggs Benedict with smoked salmon, home-made limoncello on the house after breakfast and kway teow tng from the roadside hawker served right at our breakfast table inside.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
872 reviews
0.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 88 in George Town
3,697 reviews
0.3 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 88 in George Town
659 reviews
0.6 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 88 in George Town
499 reviews
0.3 km away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 88 in George Town
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: RM370 - RM649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a wonderful 12 bedroom boutique hotel with Italian restaurant located in the heart of heritage Georgetown. A stunning and unique 3 story corner shop house circa 1903 that has been extensively and lovingly restored offering today's modern traveler a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. Perfectly located in the hustle of China Town, minutes from some of the best street food, and walking distance to historical museums, and fabulous street art. Campbell House offers an oasis of calm in this wonderful UNESCO world heritage city, come and explore Georgetown and Penang with us, we look forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing