We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Nice service : smiling and helpful staff.
Beautiful room : the charm of old furniture, and a lot of space.
Wonderful breakfast.
Good location, easy to walk to nearby street food and restaurants.
Penang is an island worth discovering : we would have liked to stay longer!

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MathildeAsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Dear MathildeAsie

Thank you for your kind review we really appreciate the support from our guests and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Campbell House.

We hope to welcome you back again one day !

Warmest Regards

Nardya, Roberto & All The Team at Campbell House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    65
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
87
489
58
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017

Very friendly and helpful staff made our stay most enjoyable.

The breakfast included in the room rate was exceptional...with delicious fresh fruit juices. We live in Kuala Lumpur but wanted a few nights in Penang over the New Year with our family. Although the room rate was certainly high for that period, the rooms were very clean, simple but also authentic for the period of the building. We spent some time up on the roof terrace on New Year's Eve enjoying the fireworks at midnight.

The Italian restaurant associated with the House (where breakfast is served) is highly recommended as well, although there are fabulous places to eat and drink at all around Georgetown and all within walking distance.

The only disadvantage is having to find car parking along the streets, which are very busy most of the time. Although I think the rate was too high for our stay, it was during a peak period..I am sure it is much lower for much of the year. We would recommend it to others...

Room Tip: The top floor has easier access to the Roof Terrace, but you have two flights of stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for choosing Campbell House for your Christmas /New Year break from KL.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated all the effort the staff put in to make your stay as memorable and pleasant as possible. Being in the heart of Georgetown parking spaces on the street are limited and unfortunately we do not have allocated spaces,(we have tried...) however we are lucky enough to have several car parks within a minutes walk to our hotel which is quite convenient. Regarding the room rate we only put our prices up slightly during the peak period as do all hotels but we feel we are priced fairly through this time and throughout the year, unfortunately costs in Malaysia have increased substantially as I am sure you have seen living in KL, however we always reinvest to maintain the property and give the best quality of amenities and products that we can can in order to provide our guests a better service. We thank you for recommending us to your friends and we look forward to welcome you back to Penang and Campbell House again in the future.
All the very best for 2017!

Warm Regards

Nardya, roberto & All at Campbell House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

What a great place to stay. I'm so happy we chose to stay here. It's not just the accommodation or the location, it's the extra effort the staff and management put into making our stay a pleasant one.
A great breakfast starts the day, a hearty good morning from the staff makes it even better.
Those little extras make the difference like the drinks in the fridge and the afternoon treats. I could get used to that!
So much help and information, especially from Joey ensures you get the most from your visit.
Great service and a delightful stay.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Dear Chris J,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are delighted you appreciated all the little extras and the effort our fabulous team put in to ensure guests have a great time not just at Campbell House, but Georgetown and Penang too. We love our little island and want guests to enjoy everything it has to offer. We look forward to welcome you back one day....

With our very best wishes

Nardya, Roberto, Joey and All the Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahiyangana, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

I came to Penang last year with my wife for the first time and stayed at Campbell House. It's a really nice hotel with very friendly staff. The room that we stayed in (Peacock) was so beautiful with all the facilities necessary. I truly enjoyed my stay of two nights in this room- felt very homely. The breakfast was very nice, and the restaurant staff was also very friendly providing us with a really good service. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Penang :)

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashendesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Dear Asendesilva,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your time with us at Campbell House, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our staff, we are very proud of the service they provide and are thrilled when guests give such positive feedback.

Thank you for recommending us!

Best Regards

Nardya, Roberto & All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights on our travels through Malaysia and it was first class from start to finish. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the bedroom was very spacious and tastefully decorated with the comfiest bed. Breakfast was served in a cosy restaurant with fresh fruit fresh squeezed juices natural yoghurt homemade breads and a fantastic selection of hot meals which will keep you going while you explore the fantastic George town.great terrace to enjoy a few drinks on after a long day.Cant reccomend this hotel enough.looking forward to our next visit already
Can't

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jos1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, 3 February 2017
Dear Jos1502,

Thank you for your very kind review, it always makes us proud to hear that guests appreciate the hard work from all our team including all our Chefs!
Thank you for the high recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards

Nardya, Roberto & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 km away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 km away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#4 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price range (per night): RM381 - RM549
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a new class... a new breed of Heritage hotel in Georgetown. A stunning 3 story corner shop house lovingly restored by European owners Nardya & Roberto, located arms length from the madding crowd, with 10 individual suites offering today's modern traveller a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing