We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Campbell House
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$142
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveller rating
846
77
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
846
77
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil bacaronespresso machineiced teasari roomopium roomrose roomboutique hotelyogurtrooftop terracefirst floorlittle touchesbreakfast was deliciouswithin walking distancefour poster bedno lifthome away from hometurn down service
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 937 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Paid for 3 nights but checked out after 1 night and eventually found the much nicer & superior Seven Terraces boutique hotel in George Town.

What we liked about this Campbell house hotel:
- nice interior design of the cosy hotel lobby and the rooms
- friendly hotel reception staff
- Nespresso machine in the room
- location
- delicious fresh fruit at breakfast
- nice way to see how they use a rope attached to the inner roof to lift the luggage between ground & 2nd floor

What we didn't like about this hotel:
- we had picked the Colonial room based on TripAdvisor reviews stating the other rooms were having more street noise. Our Colonial room on 2nd floor is directly under the roof and the wall has on the other side all the airco-units resulting in a room that was >30 degrees. The airco unit inside the room was relatively loud and when it was operating it marginally brought the temperature down to about 27 degrees, which was still to warm for sleeping comfortably in.
- the hotel restaurant is Italian but of very mediocre quality and considering this mediocre quality not good value for money
- breakfast omelette was very greasy
- Italian owner not client service oriented and made it clear to my Italian wife that he was in business to make profits and not to please guests.
- outside terrace on 2nd floor very hotel and unbarebly noisy as it's where all the external airco-units are located
- no common seating areas in the hotel areas

We'd rate the hotel as a 3 but the attitude of the owner resulted in an overall 2 score

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor (too warm), avoid rooms near noisy street, avoid Colonial room (hottest room due to airco external units on outside wall)
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LarryLAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear LarryLAP,

Thank you for your review and mostly positive comments, we did of course also expect the negative tone. We are sorry you and your wife decided to check out of Campbell House, and were not interested in any alternative options that we offered to you. We also did try to resell the room at the last minute notice you gave us and would have happily refunded you if the rooms was resold.
You state you based your room choice on TripAdvisor reviews, therefore we can only assume that you are far more sensitive to certain noise then the majority of our guests. We did check your temperature setting on departure and saw the setting on 23 degrees which could have been lowered if you felt the temperature too warm, and 2 room changes were also offered. Our building is over 100 years old and can not be altered from its original design externally therefore placing of air conditioning compressors can only be at the back of the building, we are also located in the middle of the busy city of Georgetown so there will always be some noise when sitting outside. We do however have a small library area that is a common sitting area inside. We state all this on our website which I am sure you checked upon booking, we are only a small hotel and do not compare or try to compete with other larger options that are available in Georgetown, which I think is what you may have been expecting.
Regarding breakfast we are sorry you didn't enjoy your omelette we did our best to cater to your off menu request of white egg omelette with banana, it isn't something we have ever been asked to prepare before. As for the food in the restaurant I will respond to the 2nd negative review you chose to write.
We are glad you found a better hotel to suit your needs.
Regards
Nardya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

The owners and staff at Campbell House are amazing full of excellent advice and guidance to ensure that we made the most and enjoyed the wonderful sights of Georgetown. The Hotel was immaculate, breakfast was awesome with large variety of choices, afternoon/supper surprises amazing.Beautiful decorations throughout the whole House and quite settings for its location to ensure peaceful nights sleep on luxurious bed.Value for money.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank thumm_364757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Stopped by for lunch. Amazing! Have dined her on previous holidays. Have never been disappointed. Your hosts are lovely, and the dishes are not only delicious, but so pleasing on the eye. Book with confidence and enjoy. Whatever you order will be perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulj121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Beautifully converted shop house, well located in buffer zone around World Heritage area. Rooms well appointed, lovely relaxing areas and outstanding staff. Owners happy to chat. Check out the luggage transport system!

Room Tip: Any room - all have double glazing!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This hotel was a delight to stay at.

Old style feel to all of the rooms, a very nice selection at breakfast and very comfortable. The staff were welcoming and helped us find a few good places to go and visit around George Town, and helped us to locate some good street food nearby. The hotel is walking distance to a lot of places around the town.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Del E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews