We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dinner was fantastic last night at this quaint hotel, it was cooked to perfection. It was nice to have a different menu after eating Chinese for the last week, so a welcome meal was had by both my husband and my self, thank you.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flymebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    65
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
87
489
58
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We liked the idea of taking the shoes off before you go upstairs to the rooms , the rooms were very clean and had great character ! We loved the library area where you can relax and read with your choice of drinks , the rooms even have mobile chargers which I was very pleased to find !!

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emcken_329827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANILA, PHILIPPINES
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights in the room named INDOCHINE. Very comfortable bed and pillows. BUT there is a small step down from the bed area to the rest of the room. Not being careful enough, I missed the step twice and almost fell, so I had to put my baggage by the step to remind me about it.

Nardya and Roberto, owners of the hotel were wonderful hosts, while the Reception Staff and restaurant and room staff were so pleasant, friendly and helpful.

We were offered a wide range of items for breakfast. Their croissants were so good!
We had a good Italian dinner at their restaurant one night. Also, snacks were brought to our room every afternoon.

Will stay there again next time we go to Penang. It is so well located --- near interesting shops, restaurants, and places of interest.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the first floor because there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAR-AITC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear AAR-AITC

Thank you so much for your review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you and all your group stay with us; you entertained us thoroughly! Thank you for your kind praise about the staff and the restaurant, we have a great team and are very proud of all the effort they put in.
We apologize about the small step in the room, this is an original platform which we advise guests to take note of.
Thank you again for choosing us, we look forward to welcome you all back again soon!

Kind Regards from All the Team at Campbell House & IL Bacaro
Nardya & Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paid for 3 nights but checked out after 1 night and eventually found the much nicer & superior Seven Terraces boutique hotel in George Town.

What we liked about this Campbell house hotel:
- nice interior design of the cosy hotel lobby and the rooms
- friendly hotel reception staff
- Nespresso machine in the room
- location
- delicious fresh fruit at breakfast
- nice way to see how they use a rope attached to the inner roof to lift the luggage between ground & 2nd floor

What we didn't like about this hotel:
- we had picked the Colonial room based on TripAdvisor reviews stating the other rooms were having more street noise. Our Colonial room on 2nd floor is directly under the roof and the wall has on the other side all the airco-units resulting in a room that was >30 degrees. The airco unit inside the room was relatively loud and when it was operating it marginally brought the temperature down to about 27 degrees, which was still to warm for sleeping comfortably in.
- the hotel restaurant is Italian but of very mediocre quality and considering this mediocre quality not good value for money
- breakfast omelette was very greasy
- Italian owner not client service oriented and made it clear to my Italian wife that he was in business to make profits and not to please guests.
- outside terrace on 2nd floor very hotel and unbarebly noisy as it's where all the external airco-units are located
- no common seating areas in the hotel areas

We'd rate the hotel as a 3 but the attitude of the owner resulted in an overall 2 score

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor (too warm), avoid rooms near noisy street, avoid Colonial room (hottest room due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryLAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear LarryLAP,

Thank you for your review and mostly positive comments, we did of course also expect the negative tone. We are sorry you and your wife decided to check out of Campbell House, and were not interested in any alternative options that we offered to you. We also did try to resell the room at the last minute notice you gave us and would have happily refunded you if the rooms was resold.
You state you based your room choice on TripAdvisor reviews, therefore we can only assume that you are far more sensitive to certain noise then the majority of our guests. We did check your temperature setting on departure and saw the setting on 23 degrees which could have been lowered if you felt the temperature too warm, and 2 room changes were also offered. Our building is over 100 years old and can not be altered from its original design externally therefore placing of air conditioning compressors can only be at the back of the building, we are also located in the middle of the busy city of Georgetown so there will always be some noise when sitting outside. We do however have a small library area that is a common sitting area inside. We state all this on our website which I am sure you checked upon booking, we are only a small hotel and do not compare or try to compete with other larger options that are available in Georgetown, which I think is what you may have been expecting.
Regarding breakfast we are sorry you didn't enjoy your omelette we did our best to cater to your off menu request of white egg omelette with banana, it isn't something we have ever been asked to prepare before. As for the food in the restaurant I will respond to the 2nd negative review you chose to write.
We are glad you found a better hotel to suit your needs.
Regards
Nardya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The owners and staff at Campbell House are amazing full of excellent advice and guidance to ensure that we made the most and enjoyed the wonderful sights of Georgetown. The Hotel was immaculate, breakfast was awesome with large variety of choices, afternoon/supper surprises amazing.Beautiful decorations throughout the whole House and quite settings for its location to ensure peaceful nights sleep on luxurious bed.Value for money.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank thumm_364757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.2 km away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 km away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#4 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price range (per night): RM381 - RM549
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a new class... a new breed of Heritage hotel in Georgetown. A stunning 3 story corner shop house lovingly restored by European owners Nardya & Roberto, located arms length from the madding crowd, with 10 individual suites offering today's modern traveller a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing