We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 177 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Very helpful staff, and very accommodating even with out late arrival time! We're allowed sit on the terrace for the day after check in! Room very nice and clean with some lovely surprises in the fridge every day! Perfect location and lovely food/drinks! Definitely where I would stay if I were in Georgetown again!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank K4593BRdanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear K4593BRdanim,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Our hotel aims to provide our guests with a truly unique experience and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward in welcoming you back to our hotel again!

Kind Regards from all the team at Campbell House & IL Bacaro
Nardya & Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017

Booked "The Loft" room for an overnight stay on a Friday for something different. Great service, location & room. Overall the restoration of this hotel is of very high standard as you'd expect it to be as one of the more expensive options in George Town. I think the value is definitely there though. The hotel is right in the action of the old town and you are minutes away from Chulia St. with all its bars / cafes / hawkers & restaurants. Had a fantastic night out and will stay again. Keep up the good work.

Breakfast is included and was fantastic. Its A la Carte so you don't have the "usual" luke warm bai marie set up. The smoked salmon eggs benedict I had were perfect, the fruit platter very fresh & the croissants delicious and fresh. Will try & remember to write up a review under the Italian restaurant where you eat breakfast.

Overall great value and worth treating yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrousMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Front Office Manager at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear GrousMan,

Thank you for the great review and we appreciate the 5-stars ratings from you! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and loved the breakfast we serve in our Il Bacaro Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely home again!

Best Regards from Campbell House & IL Bacaro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Beautiful boutique hotel. Loved the fact that the restoration was so true to the historical character of Georgetown but at the same time accomodating the tastebuds of Westerners with the Italian restaurant and a nespresso machine in the room. We didn't try the restaurant as on our last day it was booked for a function. However the breakfast was amazing. The best I've ever had at a hotel. You can choose anything from the menu (wish I had room enough to try it all). We opted for the smoked salmon eggs benedict. Much prefered this style of breakfast to the usual buffets of typically large but low quality choices.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaKetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Dinner was fantastic last night at this quaint hotel, it was cooked to perfection. It was nice to have a different menu after eating Chinese for the last week, so a welcome meal was had by both my husband and my self, thank you.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Flymebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Dear Flymebabe

Thank you for the super review and thank you for choosing us. Glad you enjoyed and look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Nardya & All at Campbell House & IL Bacaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We liked the idea of taking the shoes off before you go upstairs to the rooms , the rooms were very clean and had great character ! We loved the library area where you can relax and read with your choice of drinks , the rooms even have mobile chargers which I was very pleased to find !!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank emcken_329827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
920 reviews
0.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,876 reviews
0.3 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
710 reviews
0.2 km away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 87 in George Town
373 reviews
0.6 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#14 of 87 in George Town
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: RM 364 - RM 536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a wonderful 12 bedroom boutique hotel with Italian restaurant located in the heart of heritage Georgetown. A stunning and unique 3 story corner shop house circa 1903 that has been extensively and lovingly restored offering today's modern traveler a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. Perfectly located in the hustle of China Town, minutes from some of the best street food, and walking distance to historical museums, and fabulous street art. Campbell House offers an oasis of calm in this wonderful UNESCO world heritage city, come and explore Georgetown and Penang with us, we look forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing