We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Campbell House
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$142
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$131
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveller rating
846
77
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
846
77
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil bacaronespresso machineiced teasari roomopium roomrose roomboutique hotelyogurtrooftop terracefirst floorlittle touchesbreakfast was deliciouswithin walking distancefour poster bedno lifthome away from hometurn down service
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 937 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

A beautiful Boutique hotel with class and character. All the rooms have been sympathetically restored and filled with lovely antique furniture but this hotel is no museum . The bathrooms are gorgeous . The communal area thoughtful , useful and a lovely space . The roof garden is a great place to read and listen to the hustle and bustle of Penang . The complementary surprise daily special you find in the fridge is a lovely touch as is the iced tea . The comfiest beds we have found on our travels around Malaysia . Just the loveliest feel , we felt instantly at home here and could very happily have moved in ! The breakfast was first class too . Staff are just as lovely . A really great place you would want to come back to time and time again .

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Charlotte L,

A big thank you for the great review of our hotel! We appreciate your wonderful comments. We are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and admired the fine architectures and designs in our century-old building. We worked really hard to provide our guests with the best home-away-from-home experience, and we are glad to see that those efforts paid off on your last visit. We are looking forward in having you back with us!

Kind Regards from All the Team at Campbell House & IL Bacaro
Nardya & Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Very helpful staff, and very accommodating even with out late arrival time! We're allowed sit on the terrace for the day after check in! Room very nice and clean with some lovely surprises in the fridge every day! Perfect location and lovely food/drinks! Definitely where I would stay if I were in Georgetown again!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank K4593BRdanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear K4593BRdanim,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Our hotel aims to provide our guests with a truly unique experience and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward in welcoming you back to our hotel again!

Kind Regards from all the team at Campbell House & IL Bacaro
Nardya & Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Booked "The Loft" room for an overnight stay on a Friday for something different. Great service, location & room. Overall the restoration of this hotel is of very high standard as you'd expect it to be as one of the more expensive options in George Town. I think the value is definitely there though. The hotel is right in the action of the old town and you are minutes away from Chulia St. with all its bars / cafes / hawkers & restaurants. Had a fantastic night out and will stay again. Keep up the good work.

Breakfast is included and was fantastic. Its A la Carte so you don't have the "usual" luke warm bai marie set up. The smoked salmon eggs benedict I had were perfect, the fruit platter very fresh & the croissants delicious and fresh. Will try & remember to write up a review under the Italian restaurant where you eat breakfast.

Overall great value and worth treating yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrousMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Front Office Manager at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear GrousMan,

Thank you for the great review and we appreciate the 5-stars ratings from you! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and loved the breakfast we serve in our Il Bacaro Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely home again!

Best Regards from Campbell House & IL Bacaro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Beautiful boutique hotel. Loved the fact that the restoration was so true to the historical character of Georgetown but at the same time accomodating the tastebuds of Westerners with the Italian restaurant and a nespresso machine in the room. We didn't try the restaurant as on our last day it was booked for a function. However the breakfast was amazing. The best I've ever had at a hotel. You can choose anything from the menu (wish I had room enough to try it all). We opted for the smoked salmon eggs benedict. Much prefered this style of breakfast to the usual buffets of typically large but low quality choices.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaKetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Dinner was fantastic last night at this quaint hotel, it was cooked to perfection. It was nice to have a different menu after eating Chinese for the last week, so a welcome meal was had by both my husband and my self, thank you.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Flymebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Dear Flymebabe

Thank you for the super review and thank you for choosing us. Glad you enjoyed and look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Nardya & All at Campbell House & IL Bacaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews