We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campbell House”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Campbell House”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

This is my second stay at Campbell's House. The room we had, Indochine, was big and spacious and great to come back to after a day exploring Penang. The staff were all lovely and very helpful and went out of their way to accomodate every request. We dined in Il Bacaro once. The food was reasonably good. Would definitely stay again if we were ever back in Penang.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, 13 April 2017
Dear Phyllis W,

It is always a great pleasure when we received a 5-star ratings from our valuable guests. We thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are really looking forward in welcoming you back again, hopefully in the near future!

Kind Regards from All the Team at Campbell House & IL Bacaro
Nardya & Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    70
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
512
62
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I have just completed a lovely stay at the Campbell house. The rooms are gorgeous with huge custom made 4 poster beds, lovely decore throughout. The service was impeccable, everyone is so keen to ensure you have a lovely stay. Front desk staff so helpful to give recommendations on sights to see and place to eat to truly enjoy the Penang experience. The hotel is in an excellent location walking distance to all sights and the waterfront. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and made to order. Definitely will stay here again, highly recommended!

Room Tip: The hotel has 11 rooms in 3 floors no elevator so if stairs are an issue ask for a low floor. Was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glendamailloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, 8 April 2017
Dear glendamailloux,

Thank you for the great review and we really appreciate the 5-stars ratings from you! We are certainly delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely home again!

Kind Regards from All the Team at Campbell House & IL Bacaro
Nardya & Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

A beautiful Boutique hotel with class and character. All the rooms have been sympathetically restored and filled with lovely antique furniture but this hotel is no museum . The bathrooms are gorgeous . The communal area thoughtful , useful and a lovely space . The roof garden is a great place to read and listen to the hustle and bustle of Penang . The complementary surprise daily special you find in the fridge is a lovely touch as is the iced tea . The comfiest beds we have found on our travels around Malaysia . Just the loveliest feel , we felt instantly at home here and could very happily have moved in ! The breakfast was first class too . Staff are just as lovely . A really great place you would want to come back to time and time again .

Stayed April 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, 6 April 2017
Dear Charlotte L,

A big thank you for the great review of our hotel! We appreciate your wonderful comments. We are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and admired the fine architectures and designs in our century-old building. We worked really hard to provide our guests with the best home-away-from-home experience, and we are glad to see that those efforts paid off on your last visit. We are looking forward in having you back with us!

Kind Regards from All the Team at Campbell House & IL Bacaro
Nardya & Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Very helpful staff, and very accommodating even with out late arrival time! We're allowed sit on the terrace for the day after check in! Room very nice and clean with some lovely surprises in the fridge every day! Perfect location and lovely food/drinks! Definitely where I would stay if I were in Georgetown again!

Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank K4593BRdanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this review, 6 April 2017
Dear K4593BRdanim,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Our hotel aims to provide our guests with a truly unique experience and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward in welcoming you back to our hotel again!

Kind Regards from all the team at Campbell House & IL Bacaro
Nardya & Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Booked "The Loft" room for an overnight stay on a Friday for something different. Great service, location & room. Overall the restoration of this hotel is of very high standard as you'd expect it to be as one of the more expensive options in George Town. I think the value is definitely there though. The hotel is right in the action of the old town and you are minutes away from Chulia St. with all its bars / cafes / hawkers & restaurants. Had a fantastic night out and will stay again. Keep up the good work.

Breakfast is included and was fantastic. Its A la Carte so you don't have the "usual" luke warm bai marie set up. The smoked salmon eggs benedict I had were perfect, the fruit platter very fresh & the croissants delicious and fresh. Will try & remember to write up a review under the Italian restaurant where you eat breakfast.

Overall great value and worth treating yourself.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrousMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Front Office Manager at Campbell House, responded to this review, 20 June 2017
Dear GrousMan,

Thank you for the great review and we appreciate the 5-stars ratings from you! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and loved the breakfast we serve in our Il Bacaro Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely home again!

Best Regards from Campbell House & IL Bacaro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
592 reviews
0.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
840 reviews
0.3 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,578 reviews
0.6 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
466 reviews
0.3 km away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#6 of 84 in George Town
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price range (per night): RM378 - RM610
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a new class... a new breed of Heritage hotel in Georgetown. A stunning 3 story corner shop house lovingly restored by European owners Nardya & Roberto, located arms length from the madding crowd, with 10 individual suites offering today's modern traveller a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing