We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Highly recommended​. We had a pleasant stay here. Hotel is decorated in the traditional Malaysian style. Our room was clean and cozy. The property is nice and quiet at night, which was a surprise for us given that it's next to a street in Penang Chinatown. Breakfast was delicious. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Couldn't ask for better stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pvz2662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear pvz2662

Thank you for your very positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our triple glazing! We really appreciate the comments about our staff and we do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Nardya, Roberto & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

I believe all hotel owners in the world should spend some time here and learn how you should really run a good hotel.

The moment you arrive and the staff at reception welcome you by your name, give you a 10 minute introduction of George Town and hoist your luggage through the stairwell with a rope, you know this will be a special stay.

Rooms are lovely designed and extremely comfortable, especially the beds and shower. There's free, homemade ice tea in the fridge, nespresso coffee and fresh sweets or cake are delivered to your room around 4 PM.
The whole building is so well made and designed, the attention to detail is amazing.

Staff is as friendly and helpful as they exist, from the reception, cleaners and the crew in the good restaurant.

Breakfast is great, you can choose freely from the menu and get several servings of fresh juice and excellent coffees.

The total experience here is incredible and I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Many thanks.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jasper K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Jasper K,

Thank you, thank you, and thank you again for such a wonderful review!
We work very hard training our staff and I am so happy to read you mentioned everyone you encountered did a great job, it really means the world to us. Having been in the industry for so long we wanted to create a special place that guests would feel comfortable and welcomed and your review has been very heartwarming that all the hard work we put in has been duly noted!

We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

With our warmest wishes
Nardya, Roberto & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited this hotel at the start of a trip to Malaysia and Thailand.

This hotel was fantastic! Very friendly welcome on arrival (After a long trip from the UK), the owners of the hotel are such lovely people. Fantastic service. Tasty breakfast and the daily home baked treats in our room were a lovely surprise!

Our room was very comfortable and there was an area outside our room with chairs and books for relaxing. Great location with easy access to all of the tourist attractions in the local area. Would highly recommend this hotel to all!

We had some nice Italian wine and bruschetta in the hotel restaurant one evening which was delicious.

This is my second review of a hotel in Georgetown. Each hotel I have reviewed are charming in their own way...it really depends on budget and I would recommend either that I have reviewed.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Sarah O

Thank you for taking time during your trip to post a review of your stay at Campbell House, we are truly happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! We wish you continued happy travels.

With warm regards from all The Team
Nardya & Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

The hotel is a delightful re-creation of a colonial house, we had a four poster and other classic furniture, but with all modern conveniences. It was one of the most friendly places to stay we have ever found on any continent, the owners could not have been more helpful. Another reviewer said it was like staying with friends, without the pressure, and that captures the atmosphere - brilliant.

Room Tip: All rooms looked equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RLawrenceWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Front Office Manager at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear RLawrenceWilson,

Thank you very much for the 5 star ratings! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our place and felt comfortable staying with us and we really do appreciate that our guests get the most comfortable stay that we can provide and we look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely home again!

Kind Regards from All the Team at Campbell House & IL Bacaro
Nardya & Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We stayed on a Saturday night in Campbell House after driving up from KL. I drove as it was a surprise treat for my hubby who has been working long hours for months.
Campbell House is strategically located in Georgetown and within walking distance to a number of attractions.
It was a 'cool' check-in at 1pm after our 250 metres walk from the small public multi-storey car park on Campbell Street itself (you can park overnight as we did and the charges are RM1 per hour).
We were advised to move our car to the street adjacent to the hotel as Sunday is a free parking day but we could not find any available parking bays when we looked around at 7 pm that Saturday night, so we left our car where it was.
After a quick shower (the water pressure was good and the toilet flushes well), we headed out to Penang Road for the famous chendol and Left-Handed char kway teow.
At 2.30pm on a Saturday, it was a manageable crowd and we were able to find a table. I was the 3rd person in queue for the char kway teow and the service was quick for the chendol after we sat down.
After that we walked to Chow Rasta Market for some takeaway 'jeruk' (preserved fruit) which was just around the corner and next to it at the Penang Bazaar, hubby bought me a set of Nyonya Kebaya from this nice humble Chinese uncle who sold it for RM180 ONLY (So reasonable! You can't get this price in KL.).
We tried to have dinner at a dim sum restaurant diagonally opposite the hotel around 7.30 pm but we were besieged by those little bugs that are attracted to the lights. It was so unpleasant!
Trying to salvage our dinner plans, we ate at Yeng Keng Cafe & Restaurant, a 1930's Hainanese eatery which has a live band performing at 8.30pm on Saturdays. We were lucky to get a nice table and the food was good as it claimed.
Headed back to the hotel around 10.30 pm, the bed was already turned down and they left two slices of cake in the fridge for us, complimentary!
We drank the jug of ice lemon tea which was also complimentary (in the fridge when we checked-in) together with a bottle of drinking water.
We had to hydrate as we were walking all day long.
The four-poster bed was comfortable but a bit squeaky, definitely not for those who twist and turn at night!
WiFi signal was also good in the room.
BTW, we stayed in the Colonial Room which was on the second floor just next to the Terrace where hubby could take his puffs.
Breakfast next day is good with ala carte dining and my scrambled eggs and sauteed mushrooms were just as good like those at my hangout in Bangsar and the pizza hubby had was comparable to those we had overseas especially with the sunny side up egg in the middle, nice touch.
Overall, good stay in a cozy hotel at a very strategic location.

Room Tip: The Colonial is the last room which is next to the Terrace where you can have evening drinks and smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KimTeoh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear KimTeoh123,

Thank you for your detailed and flattering review of your stay at Campbell House and Georgetown. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel, we are so lucky to have such wonderful traditional foods and places of interest within walking distance, always a bonus when you come for just a short getaway from KL!
Thank you very much and we do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Nardya, Roberto & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
874 reviews
0.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,701 reviews
0.3 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 88 in George Town
663 reviews
0.6 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 88 in George Town
500 reviews
0.3 km away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 88 in George Town
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: RM374 - RM649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a wonderful 12 bedroom boutique hotel with Italian restaurant located in the heart of heritage Georgetown. A stunning and unique 3 story corner shop house circa 1903 that has been extensively and lovingly restored offering today's modern traveler a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. Perfectly located in the hustle of China Town, minutes from some of the best street food, and walking distance to historical museums, and fabulous street art. Campbell House offers an oasis of calm in this wonderful UNESCO world heritage city, come and explore Georgetown and Penang with us, we look forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing