We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Staff & Unbeatable Character”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Staff and owners went well out of their way to ensure I had a fulfilling experience in Penang, finding activities to fit my interests and agenda. Great attention to detail in the hotel design, quality of the food and appointment of the staff who were perfectly accommodating. Excellent experience! Thank you to the staff and owners, Roberto and Nardya!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear Alena,

Thank you for staying with us at Campbell House, we are very happy to read you enjoyed your time and all the activities we suggested to you, we were lucky with the events that were taking place just unlucky with the weather! It was a pleasure to meet you and we do hope you have a great last few weeks in Asia, if you ever return please do come by and see us......

With our Best Wishes

Nardya, Roberto & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017

This is the 2nd time I am staying here and still feel overwhelm and love the ever friendly staff of the hotel with a lot of initiative. The decor of the rooms are nicely done up and we certainly love the daily night surprises as well as the morning breakfast ad the restaurant. Pity this time round did not get to eat dinner at the restaurant.

The location of the hotel is extremely convenient to Chulia Street where it comes alive at night with the street food and local fare. And walking around the heritage sites is a breeze. Definitely a recommended place for those who are gearing to stay in the heart of town.

Room Tip: Some touch up work is needed on the furnishing so that it will look refreshed always.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kowboochua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear Kowboochua,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, and for the lovely review, the staff really appreciate the kind words and we are thrilled to read you still had a great feeling second time round. We do hope to welcome you back again for more food!

Warmest Regards

Nardya, Roberto & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

The MOST beautiful and friendly hotel we have ever stayed in! Thank you for a wonderful few days in Georgetown, all the staff we met were absolutely brilliant (really wished I had asked for everyone's names!), the Rose room was stunning (heritage tiles in bathroom, fresh cake and tea in the fridge every day and breakfast was utterly delicious. We were given a detailed and thorough explanation of everything Georgetown has to offer by reception and the map didn't leave my hand for the next few days. Georgetown is an amazing place and everything is in walking distance which means you can see the street art, architecture (and heritage tiles!) and all the wonderful shops. Campbell House is perfectly located to explore everything within the city and was an air conditioned haven that we were glad to come back to after a long day of wandering! We visited Teksen (3mins walk away) on a recommendation and it was the best Chinese food I've ever eaten!
Wish we could come back next week, thank you for making our stay so perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou171085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear loulou17085

Thank you so much for such an fabulous review, we are so grateful!
Myself and all the staff are thrilled to read you had such an enjoyable stay and a great time in Georgetown. There is a melting pot of architecture and yes you are right the tiles are wonderful, there are some gems to found when you are are exploring which you obviously managed to do.

Thank you again and we really do hope we can welcome you back for more adventures and great food!

Warmest wishes
Nardya, Roberto & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Great heritage building and lovely rooms. The breakfast was excellent and the location in the UNESCO core zone makes this boutique hotel the perfect stay in Penang. Special mention for the staff: they are AMAZING. Thank you Roberto and Gadi!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Starship81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Campbell House is a beautiful boutique hotel in a lovingly restored shophouse. The decor is gorgeous and eclectic. The facade does nothing to prepare you for the warmth and gorgeousness beyond those flip doors. Stepping inside felt like I have stepped back into time.

The check in process was pretty breezy but since I had been to Penang a few times prior to this visit, I didn't really need much information from the reception. The welcome drink was served in the Italian restaurant, Il Bacaro, located within the hotel. By the way, the restaurant is where your fantastic breakfast awaits you every morning. The staff here were prompt and friendly in their service. I had a dinner here on my first night and I have to commend the chef on the very delicious ocean trout and grilled cauliflower. I enjoyed every bit of that dish.

There are only 12 rooms in this hotel so expect the staff to know you in a more personal way than a big chain hotel. I like that the rooms are named instead of numbered. Every room has its own theme and is decorated accordingly. I was in the Peacock room and I loved it. It was inviting and cozy but roomy. My only gripe is that there isn't any body lotion and shower cap provided in the bathroom. (Little details like these matter to ladies.) The light at the doorway didn't work as well and the light above the mirror at the doorway seemed to have fallen off. Despite of this, it really didn't affect my enjoyment of the room much.

This hotel is also unique in that you have to remove your footwear beyond the stairs leading to the rooms, much like stepping into an Asian home. There isn't much TV on the cable channels. The only movie channel had terrible reception in my room. But the library on the second floor has an extensive collection of DVDs and there is a DVD player in the room. Depending on your visit, you won't be spending much time in the room anyway if it is your first visit to Penang.

Location-wise, the hotel is located within the range of yummy local food and delights. Everything within walking distance. The staff is extremely knowledgable about the area so definitely leverage on that.

Do note that the hotel has no elevator and is not accessible so it isn't suited for those who need help going up and down stairs. It is also not suitable for families with young children.

Thank you Campbell House for taking such good care of me during my visit. I had a lovely stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tutu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
876 reviews
0.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,706 reviews
0.3 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 88 in George Town
669 reviews
0.6 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 88 in George Town
500 reviews
0.3 km away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 88 in George Town
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: RM370 - RM642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a wonderful 12 bedroom boutique hotel with Italian restaurant located in the heart of heritage Georgetown. A stunning and unique 3 story corner shop house circa 1903 that has been extensively and lovingly restored offering today's modern traveler a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. Perfectly located in the hustle of China Town, minutes from some of the best street food, and walking distance to historical museums, and fabulous street art. Campbell House offers an oasis of calm in this wonderful UNESCO world heritage city, come and explore Georgetown and Penang with us, we look forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing