We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Jen Penang(George Town)
US$126
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$199
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$122
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$21
US$18
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$21/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$41/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royale Chulan Penang(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Terraces(George Town)
US$192
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
855
78
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
78
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil bacaronespresso machineiced teasari roomopium roomrose roomboutique hotelyogurtrooftop terracefirst floorlittle touchesbreakfast was deliciouswithin walking distancefour poster bedno lifthome away from hometurn down service
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

My memories of my stay at Campbell House (a couple of years ago now) are overwhelmingly positive: wonderful reception, gloriously appointed rooms, delicious breakfast tray, and a great place to decamp before moving on to Langkawi (very conveniently located for the ferry).

My only regret is that we didn't stay longer at Campbell House!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank afterbaedeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell H, Front Office Manager at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Afterbaedeker,
Thank you for remembering us and your stay here at Campbell House. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good memory with us. We look forward to welcome you again, and this time stay longer :)

Best Regards,
Campbell House Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

From the moment we entered the Campbell House everyone made us feel at home and relaxed. Vanessa, at the reception desk, was extraordinarily helpful and gracious. The owners, Roberto and Nadia, took time to tell us about themselves and about art exhibits that we would not otherwise have known about. The food at the restaurant was delicious and the service from all the staff was exceptional. Breakfasts were delicious and enormous.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lfentiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear lfentiman,

It was wonderful to have you and your husband stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are extremely proud of all our staff, and Vanessa has been a fantastic new addition to our team, so thank you for the high praise she will be very pleased to read this.
I am so happy you managed to see some of the exhibitions as part of the Georgetown Festival during the 2 days you stayed with us, this years Festival has some wonderful highlights!

Happy Travelling to you and we do hope to see you again!

Warmest Regards

Nardya, Roberto , Vanessa & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel decor gives you a very cosy, warm and refreshing feeling as if you were home in Penang. We stayed in the  Blossom room; looked tiny at first but it was surprising how quickly we ended up loving it... it was perfect for me and my wife.
All the staff is very friendly and helpful, and always goes the extra mile to make you enjoy the stay in the hotel and Georgetown surroundings.
Very good breakfast too, and excellent refreshing surprises in the fridge after a day outside. All rooms come with a Nespresso machine.
Ideally located to enjoy the heritage town and only 5min walk to main bus station (Komtar).
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Campbell house and we will miss it very much... feels like we have left a home and friends behind.
We have travelled to many hotels around the world; Probably the best hotel we have ever visited... a true gemma.
Thanks so much to Roberto, Nardya and their amazing team

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DrDan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear DrDan2016

What a lovely review, we are truly touched!

Thank you so much for staying with us, Blossom is our smallest room, but as you said it is very cosy and has the benefit of having the library just outside so it is like having a big front room to sit in when you want more space. Thanks for mentioning the little touches that our staff all work hard at preparing such as the turn down surprises, plus gaining knowledge of what to see in and around town, sometimes its hard to keep up as we are so lucky to have wonderful Art exhibitions , Festivals and Music to keep us and visitors entertained all year round!

Again thank you for the wonderful review and we do hope to welcome you back again!

Warmest Regards from All The Team
Nardya & Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Highly recommended​. We had a pleasant stay here.
Hotel is decorated in the traditional Peranakan style. It is surrounded by a variety of local shopping and eating options. Ban Heng (a local shop that sells traditional biscuits) is also around the corner. Would definitely go back again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rayneyeoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear rayneyeoy

Thank you for the kind review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. There are some other great biscuit shops we can tell you about on your next visit too.

Kind Regards

Nardya, Roberto & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Campbell House provides a welcome retreat in the heart of Penang's Georgetown. As a small, boutique hotel, the rooms are spacious and unique, and the staff, with whom residents become familiar, help without delay. In terms of food, look forward to the nightly dessert left in your fridge and enjoy a generous ordered breakfast in the morning. We wholeheartedly recommend Campbell House.

A & E (Cambridge, UK)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emart16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear emart16

Thank you so much for the high praise and recommending Campbell House to future guests, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and sharing your experience.

We do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards from All the Team

Nardya & Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews