We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a nice ... home!!!!”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and we enjoyed so much. Location is great as you are right in the center of China town. Our room was very nice and clean, service is good and all the time we had lunch, breakfast or dinner at the restaurant was great! Everyone there was really helpful and made our stay really enjoyable.
I really advice everyone to stay here as the atmosphere is so cute and cozy and fuzzy!!
Beatrice

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank beazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Beatrice,

We love your review, and that you felt cozy and fuzzy at Campbell House!
Thank you very much from all of us,

Nardya, Roberto & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

My memories of my stay at Campbell House (a couple of years ago now) are overwhelmingly positive: wonderful reception, gloriously appointed rooms, delicious breakfast tray, and a great place to decamp before moving on to Langkawi (very conveniently located for the ferry).

My only regret is that we didn't stay longer at Campbell House!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank afterbaedeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell H, Front Office Manager at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Afterbaedeker,
Thank you for remembering us and your stay here at Campbell House. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good memory with us. We look forward to welcome you again, and this time stay longer :)

Best Regards,
Campbell House Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

From the moment we entered the Campbell House everyone made us feel at home and relaxed. Vanessa, at the reception desk, was extraordinarily helpful and gracious. The owners, Roberto and Nadia, took time to tell us about themselves and about art exhibits that we would not otherwise have known about. The food at the restaurant was delicious and the service from all the staff was exceptional. Breakfasts were delicious and enormous.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lfentiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear lfentiman,

It was wonderful to have you and your husband stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are extremely proud of all our staff, and Vanessa has been a fantastic new addition to our team, so thank you for the high praise she will be very pleased to read this.
I am so happy you managed to see some of the exhibitions as part of the Georgetown Festival during the 2 days you stayed with us, this years Festival has some wonderful highlights!

Happy Travelling to you and we do hope to see you again!

Warmest Regards

Nardya, Roberto , Vanessa & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel decor gives you a very cosy, warm and refreshing feeling as if you were home in Penang. We stayed in the  Blossom room; looked tiny at first but it was surprising how quickly we ended up loving it... it was perfect for me and my wife.
All the staff is very friendly and helpful, and always goes the extra mile to make you enjoy the stay in the hotel and Georgetown surroundings.
Very good breakfast too, and excellent refreshing surprises in the fridge after a day outside. All rooms come with a Nespresso machine.
Ideally located to enjoy the heritage town and only 5min walk to main bus station (Komtar).
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Campbell house and we will miss it very much... feels like we have left a home and friends behind.
We have travelled to many hotels around the world; Probably the best hotel we have ever visited... a true gemma.
Thanks so much to Roberto, Nardya and their amazing team

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DrDan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear DrDan2016

What a lovely review, we are truly touched!

Thank you so much for staying with us, Blossom is our smallest room, but as you said it is very cosy and has the benefit of having the library just outside so it is like having a big front room to sit in when you want more space. Thanks for mentioning the little touches that our staff all work hard at preparing such as the turn down surprises, plus gaining knowledge of what to see in and around town, sometimes its hard to keep up as we are so lucky to have wonderful Art exhibitions , Festivals and Music to keep us and visitors entertained all year round!

Again thank you for the wonderful review and we do hope to welcome you back again!

Warmest Regards from All The Team
Nardya & Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Highly recommended​. We had a pleasant stay here.
Hotel is decorated in the traditional Peranakan style. It is surrounded by a variety of local shopping and eating options. Ban Heng (a local shop that sells traditional biscuits) is also around the corner. Would definitely go back again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rayneyeoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear rayneyeoy

Thank you for the kind review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. There are some other great biscuit shops we can tell you about on your next visit too.

Kind Regards

Nardya, Roberto & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
873 reviews
0.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,700 reviews
0.3 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 88 in George Town
662 reviews
0.6 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 88 in George Town
500 reviews
0.3 km away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 88 in George Town
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: RM374 - RM649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a wonderful 12 bedroom boutique hotel with Italian restaurant located in the heart of heritage Georgetown. A stunning and unique 3 story corner shop house circa 1903 that has been extensively and lovingly restored offering today's modern traveler a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. Perfectly located in the hustle of China Town, minutes from some of the best street food, and walking distance to historical museums, and fabulous street art. Campbell House offers an oasis of calm in this wonderful UNESCO world heritage city, come and explore Georgetown and Penang with us, we look forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing