We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We have just returned from 4 nights at Campbell House. We stayed in the Opium Room which has windows opening onto Campbell Street. The bed is a 4 poster inlaid with mother of pearl with extraordinary detailed pictures - just amazing - I have never seen anything quite like it. The room was old style and characterful. The owners of Campbell House have sourced many tasteful antique furnishings so the place is comfortable whilst being consistent with the period. The breakfast was ample, with variety to cater to many needs. What was truly outstanding about Campbell House was the service. It didn't matter if it was room service, in the restaurant, or reception, every aspect was excellent. The people working at Campbell House are approachable and bend over backwards to be of assistance. They smile and greet you (I realise this should be a given but often it is not). In the restaurant the people working have initiative (so many lack this these days) and are attentive - again nothing is too much trouble. And at the end of the day, when we had been out exploring and eating the wonderful food that Penang offers, we would return to our room (which was immaculate) and find a note on our pillow saying a little surprise was in the fridge. What a lovely touch - something different every night - I felt like a child again wondering what would be in there. Owners Nardya and Roberto obviously know their stuff and are sharing their knowledge with their family (the people who work with them). And that's the recipe for a superb service ethic in a great boutique hotel.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Julie072010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Julie072010,

Thank you for such a wonderful review that rings true with everything we try to do at Campbell House. We are really touched by your words and are very proud of our staff that sometimes think we are mad for making such high demands on them regarding service.Its great when guests notice the little touches and your review reiterates the importance of this and the small things such as smiling and being considerate which you are quite right, should be a given,but sometimes common courtesies can easily be forgotten.

Again, we truly appreciate the detailed review, I shall be printing this off for all the team to read, they will be thrilled.

Warmest wishes

Nardya, Roberto & The Family :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Great location and convenient to go to all the different places in George town. Breakfast is very nice and much better than those continental buffet type of breakfast. Will stay the same if come back next time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dalei G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Dalei G

Thank you very much for the great review, we are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcome you back again in the future.

Warmest Regards

Nardya, Roberto & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I spent 2 nights at Campbell House on a short break to explore Georgetown. The hotel couldn't have been better located for exploring the quaint streets of the UNESCO heritage centre.
Warm welcome on checking in and shown to Peacock room and helpfully pointed out the terrace and library, both for guests use, on the way.
The room was delightful, tastefully furnished unique touches and the bathroom was spotless and elegant. The two things I would have liked were a few more conveniently located power points and I wasn't keen on the smell of the complimentary toiletries, but small points.
The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and the most delicious mangos when I was there. Very friendly staff are always ready to help and assist and I found the properly an oasis of calm,

Room Tip: Most rooms are the same size so pick the decor you like from the website. One room is tiny though b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulosussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and we enjoyed so much. Location is great as you are right in the center of China town. Our room was very nice and clean, service is good and all the time we had lunch, breakfast or dinner at the restaurant was great! Everyone there was really helpful and made our stay really enjoyable.
I really advice everyone to stay here as the atmosphere is so cute and cozy and fuzzy!!
Beatrice

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank beazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMPBELLHSE, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Beatrice,

We love your review, and that you felt cozy and fuzzy at Campbell House!
Thank you very much from all of us,

Nardya, Roberto & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

My memories of my stay at Campbell House (a couple of years ago now) are overwhelmingly positive: wonderful reception, gloriously appointed rooms, delicious breakfast tray, and a great place to decamp before moving on to Langkawi (very conveniently located for the ferry).

My only regret is that we didn't stay longer at Campbell House!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank afterbaedeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell H, Front Office Manager at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Afterbaedeker,
Thank you for remembering us and your stay here at Campbell House. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good memory with us. We look forward to welcome you again, and this time stay longer :)

Best Regards,
Campbell House Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
876 reviews
0.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,705 reviews
0.3 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 88 in George Town
669 reviews
0.6 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 88 in George Town
500 reviews
0.3 km away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 88 in George Town
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: RM370 - RM642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a wonderful 12 bedroom boutique hotel with Italian restaurant located in the heart of heritage Georgetown. A stunning and unique 3 story corner shop house circa 1903 that has been extensively and lovingly restored offering today's modern traveler a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. Perfectly located in the hustle of China Town, minutes from some of the best street food, and walking distance to historical museums, and fabulous street art. Campbell House offers an oasis of calm in this wonderful UNESCO world heritage city, come and explore Georgetown and Penang with us, we look forward to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing