We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$80
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$80
US$67
View Deal
SAVE US$13
Free cancellation until 07/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$80
US$67
View Deal
SAVE US$13
Free cancellation until 07/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$80
Trip.comUS$67
Agoda.comUS$68
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveller rating
976
92
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
976
92
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews il bacaro iced tea nespresso machine colonial room peacock room boutique hotel roof terrace within walking distance breakfast was delicious home away from home your luggage warm hospitality modern amenities stayed nights visit penang colonial style street food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

If you are wanting a special place where you are looked after like royalty on one hand and like family on the other look no further than Campbell House. All rooms have been beautifully renovated with individual themes from the original 19th centre shophouse and the staff always welcome us warmly ( we choose a different room each time!) We have made this delightful boutique hotel our go-to for a romantic getaway every few months and Il Bacaro, their superb Italian restaurant just finishes off our staycation with elegance. Thankyou Nadia and staff for welcoming us each time. Your service is par excellence, breakfasts amazing and it gives us an opportunity to explore the wonderful nooks and crannies that are the quintessential historic Georgetown.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chelecassebohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nardya Wray, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2020

Dear chelecassebohm.

What a pleasure it was to read your lovely review, it has certainly put a smile on all our faces!
It has been a tough year for everyone but we are so appreciative of the support we have received from guests such as yourself. It is a testament to the hard work of all our team who have performed their duties with pride and optimism throughout the last 8 months to ensure that Campbell House & IL Bacaro offers the best service we can and ensure guests truly feel special when they stay with us.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcome you back soon for another staycation in February!

With warmest Regards for a fantastic New Year!
Nardya, Roberto & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2020

What can I say other than simply the best hotel, the best staff, the best food and the best location. The Campbell House team went of their way to make us feel welcomed and made our stay and my birthday the best.

Room tip: All rooms are unique, please have a look online to choose the one that suits you best
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Localtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nardya Wray, Owner at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2020

Dear Localtraveller100

Thank you very much for this lovely review, we are all very happy that we made your birthday staycation memorable, little treats of happiness are certainly what we all need during these unprecedented times.

Wishing you stay well and happy
Warm Regards
Nardya, Roberto & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2020

had a short staycation with the gf over the weekend, and boy was the whole experience spectacular! Checking in we were greeted by our friendly receptionist Hema who breezed us through the process. She even helped us book a place for our dinner (and also our lunch the next day later on) as we were informed that their restaurant is usually very packed in the weekends.
The room was spacious and clean (we were staying at the Loft unit), and the food at the restaurant was just as good! The owners Nardya and Roberto were also very friendly and helpful in sharing some information about the building's architecture to us :)
Will definitely return here, probably try another room type for fun haha

Recommended to try their T-Bone Steak and their Lamb Meat Balls if you ever decide to dine at their restaurant!

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank incubusskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell House, Guest Services / Front Office at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2020


Dear incubusskj,Thank you for taking time to write a review and it is great to read that you enjoyed the hospitality and the food in our IL Bacaro.It is also a pleasure for us to know that you have received an excellent service from the team and your commendation is very encouraging, especially in this current situation.
We look forward to welcoming you back again for another great stay soon.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

Staff are friendly and warm. Hotel is clean and well decorated. The service bar with coffee and water. Room is super but it will be even better with full length mirror. Food was good. Will definitely come back again.

Date of stay: September 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell House, Guest Services / Front Office at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2020

Dear Sannie W,Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a review of your stay. It is with such joy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We would like to thank you also for the kind words describing the staffs and the services rendered.We look forward to welcome you back to our home in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2020

We appreciate for Campbell Hotel staff members warm hospitality. We felt relaxed and comfortable to stay clean room which was well furnished with Beautiful Colonial decoration. . The roof terrace was also a lovely place to relax and have a drink.
And we could enjoy Delightful Italian cuisine and Delicious breakfast at Il BÁCARO Restaurant.
We had a great time that we never forget!
Would definitely go back!

Date of stay: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nabobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell House, Guest Services / Front Office at Campbell House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

Dear nabobo,Thank you for choosing Campbell House.It was a true delight to have you with us and we thank you so much for this amazing review, we are so happy knowing you enjoyed the hospitality and the food in our Italian Restaurant.We enjoyed looking after you and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews