We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coffee Atelier
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royale Chulan Penang(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$142
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$131
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
182
49
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
49
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroommosquito netunusual hotelcoffee museumdownstairs suiteperson suiteshort corridorlovely plantsgreat breakfast selectionprivate courtyardcharacterful hotelclothes washeddressing rooman art galleryrenovated houseantique furniturefirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

When I booked this place I had high expectations from it already. Only there was a little doubt about the location, as I felt it could get noisy if it's so close to the centre. But my doubts about the noise were ousted as soon as I entered the bedroom which could be nestled deep beyond a common area and a living room. There was also the most beautiful courtyard next to the bedroom. The place has managed to freeze in time and the owners and kept every aspect of it's heritage intact. Besides the heritage the rooms have the most amazing paintings, actually they are all over their cafe too.

Now about the location, it's the best, close to everything, yet away from crowds. There are so many cafes and restaurants close by.

The staff is great, they redefine hospitality and go to a length to accommodate your requests.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I am in Georgetown again.

Room Tip: choose the room with a open courtyard, it looks too beautiful
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheVeggieWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Thanks again for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed George Town and that you had a good time at Coffee Atelier. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The best place to stay in the heart of the old George Town. Super nice, quiet, special building & rooms. The staff takes care of everything with great attention to details! Very clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Feels a bit like home! I could have stayed here much longer! Thank you!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Thanks again for staying with us. Glad you had a good time in George Town and that you enjoyed our little place Coffee Atelier. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

A tour of the Georgetown heritage site is never complete without staying in a heritage house. Coffee Atelier are heritage houses adapted to hotel operations without destroying the old architecture. We chose Coffee Atelier for its location, old architecture, good ratings and availability of a triple-shared room. Little did we know that the very efficient, friendly and accommodating staff is a big factor in making this hotel worth choosing.

The hotel is located in the core heritage zone in an accessible but not too busy and noisy portion. To its north, just a few meters away, is the bus stop of the free CAT bus and the buses that go around the heritage zones and to Penang Hill. Fort Cornwallis and other heritage government buildings are near that area. To its east, about two blocks away, is the Tourist Information Center which conducts free walking tours, the Penang Heritage Trust, Little India, money changers and the clan jetties which is farther away but still within walking distance. A short distance to its south are Chulia and Armenian Streets and side streets which boast of street art, restaurants and various shops. To the west are Chulia Lane with charming cafes, Love Lane which is the boundary of the core heritage zone and Penang Road a major bus route and a commercial area, all within walking distance.

The hotel building has a corner cafe brightly lit by its open storefront, side windows, paintings and warm smiles of the hotel staff. The adjoining houses-in townhouse style-are the hotel rooms each with ground and second floor suites accessible from a front door along a street arcade. Chairs dot the arcade good for bird watching after a day's walk. The rooms are as good as they look in the photos and much better experienced. The four-poster bed with mosquito net, wood plank flooring, wood window shutters and staircase, solid wood doors, red lantern and old wood furniture gives any client a flashback of the era when the structure was built and a good night's sleep back in time.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Aimee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Many thanks again, Aimee, for staying with us. I am glad that you and your two friends had a good time in Penang and that you liked Coffee Atelier. Best wishes and maybe see you again! Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in the suite upstairs, which is for three people. The main sleeping area was very spacious, and then there's another room with a single bed. The bathroom was also quite large and I love the 'open' concept. Love the natural lemon shampoo that was given, which you can actually buy from the hotel - I regret not buying! I also love the fact that they gave three towels for each person (I am ocd about having different towels for different parts of the body haha).

Didn't get to interact much with the staff but the lady who checked us in was very nice and explained the location of the hotel and the major attractions. Breakfast was simple continental but no complaints. Didn't get to taste the actual menu of the cafe cos there's so many food to try in Georgetown!

Love the area the hotel is in. Convenient to many must go areas. There is even a place nearby where we had a foot massage on our last night.

The hotel is an old heritage building so there's no soundproofing, and there is a party hostel right in front. On the first night the hostel across was quite boisterous and we did get woken up by the noise. But we just laughed as it added to the charm of the hotel for us. And on the second night the hostel was pretty quiet...or they were drowned out by the sounds of thunderstorm and pouring rain..

Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ruzanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thanks again for staying with us and glad you enjoyed George Town and liked our little place Coffee Atelier. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely heritage hotel conveniently located in the centre of the old town, all sights within walking distance. Our ground floor room was very nice and actually consisted of three separate spaces, a dressing room, a bedroom and a huge bathroom. Unlike some of the other reviewers we didn't experience any problems as far as outside noise is concerned. Friendly and welcoming staff and pretty good breakfast.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Thanks again for staying and glad you enjoyed George Town and our little place Coffee Atelier. Best wishes and hope to see you again. Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews