We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it.”
Review of Coffee Atelier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coffee Atelier
Ranked #10 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We were a little unsure about our choice before we arrived as we had selected somewhere that seemed quirky and right in the centre of everything.
We loved it. It is quirky and it delighted us.
Our bedroom was lovely - beautiful Malay furniture and an enclosed balcony which could be closed off at night so we were never disturbed by noise despite being in the centre of everything. The bedroom is air conditioned. Our bathroom down a short corridor was open to the air, spotlessly clean, insect free and with plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was delicious and our hosts could not have been more pleasant. There is also some very good artwork and the whole place is utterly charming.
We made a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ColleeninNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Thanks a lot for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed our little place Coffee Atelier. Best wishes and hope to be able to welcoming you again. Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2016

When I booked this place I had high expectations from it already. Only there was a little doubt about the location, as I felt it could get noisy if it's so close to the centre. But my doubts about the noise were ousted as soon as I entered the bedroom which could be nestled deep beyond a common area and a living room. There was also the most beautiful courtyard next to the bedroom. The place has managed to freeze in time and the owners and kept every aspect of it's heritage intact. Besides the heritage the rooms have the most amazing paintings, actually they are all over their cafe too.

Now about the location, it's the best, close to everything, yet away from crowds. There are so many cafes and restaurants close by.

The staff is great, they redefine hospitality and go to a length to accommodate your requests.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I am in Georgetown again.

Room Tip: choose the room with a open courtyard, it looks too beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheVeggieWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Thanks again for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed George Town and that you had a good time at Coffee Atelier. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The best place to stay in the heart of the old George Town. Super nice, quiet, special building & rooms. The staff takes care of everything with great attention to details! Very clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Feels a bit like home! I could have stayed here much longer! Thank you!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Thanks again for staying with us. Glad you had a good time in George Town and that you enjoyed our little place Coffee Atelier. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

A tour of the Georgetown heritage site is never complete without staying in a heritage house. Coffee Atelier are heritage houses adapted to hotel operations without destroying the old architecture. We chose Coffee Atelier for its location, old architecture, good ratings and availability of a triple-shared room. Little did we know that the very efficient, friendly and accommodating staff is a big factor in making this hotel worth choosing.

The hotel is located in the core heritage zone in an accessible but not too busy and noisy portion. To its north, just a few meters away, is the bus stop of the free CAT bus and the buses that go around the heritage zones and to Penang Hill. Fort Cornwallis and other heritage government buildings are near that area. To its east, about two blocks away, is the Tourist Information Center which conducts free walking tours, the Penang Heritage Trust, Little India, money changers and the clan jetties which is farther away but still within walking distance. A short distance to its south are Chulia and Armenian Streets and side streets which boast of street art, restaurants and various shops. To the west are Chulia Lane with charming cafes, Love Lane which is the boundary of the core heritage zone and Penang Road a major bus route and a commercial area, all within walking distance.

The hotel building has a corner cafe brightly lit by its open storefront, side windows, paintings and warm smiles of the hotel staff. The adjoining houses-in townhouse style-are the hotel rooms each with ground and second floor suites accessible from a front door along a street arcade. Chairs dot the arcade good for bird watching after a day's walk. The rooms are as good as they look in the photos and much better experienced. The four-poster bed with mosquito net, wood plank flooring, wood window shutters and staircase, solid wood doors, red lantern and old wood furniture gives any client a flashback of the era when the structure was built and a good night's sleep back in time.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Aimee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Many thanks again, Aimee, for staying with us. I am glad that you and your two friends had a good time in Penang and that you liked Coffee Atelier. Best wishes and maybe see you again! Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in the suite upstairs, which is for three people. The main sleeping area was very spacious, and then there's another room with a single bed. The bathroom was also quite large and I love the 'open' concept. Love the natural lemon shampoo that was given, which you can actually buy from the hotel - I regret not buying! I also love the fact that they gave three towels for each person (I am ocd about having different towels for different parts of the body haha).

Didn't get to interact much with the staff but the lady who checked us in was very nice and explained the location of the hotel and the major attractions. Breakfast was simple continental but no complaints. Didn't get to taste the actual menu of the cafe cos there's so many food to try in Georgetown!

Love the area the hotel is in. Convenient to many must go areas. There is even a place nearby where we had a foot massage on our last night.

The hotel is an old heritage building so there's no soundproofing, and there is a party hostel right in front. On the first night the hostel across was quite boisterous and we did get woken up by the noise. But we just laughed as it added to the charm of the hotel for us. And on the second night the hostel was pretty quiet...or they were drowned out by the sounds of thunderstorm and pouring rain..

Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ruzanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thanks again for staying with us and glad you enjoyed George Town and liked our little place Coffee Atelier. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.7 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 88 in George Town
667 reviews
0.0 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,704 reviews
1.0 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 88 in George Town
500 reviews
0.3 km away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 88 in George Town
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Atelier

Address: 47 - 55 Lorong Stewart, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in George Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: RM324 - RM482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffee Atelier 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COFFEE ATELIER is located right in the core zone of George Town, Penang, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.It comprises a collection of five beautifully restored early 20th century shophouses. Today it houses an eclectic mix of a restaurant, an art gallery, a coffee museum and suites which are fully appointed with all modern amenities for short or long term stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Coffee Atelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coffee Atelier Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing