We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Charming”
Review of Coffee Atelier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coffee Atelier
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2017

I stayed here for a week on business. The rooms are spacious and very unique--almost like having an entire apartment to yourself. The staff was incredibly accommodating. I arrived late at night after the restaurant had closed. However, the night manager stayed up for me and even made sure I got a bite to eat. The location is great. I was able to walk everywhere I needed. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your kind review. Glad you had a good time in Penang and that you enjoyed our little place Coffee Atelier. Hope to see you again and best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a ground floor room. The accommodation is rustic, but clean and very comfortable. The downstairs room comes with an outside bathroom courtyard area that gives you somewhere to sit in the afternoon. The fan is a great help in the warm weather. The bed was comfortable, the room air conditioned and ceiling fan, spacious, staff were lovely, friendly people and the breakfast was good. Would definitely recommend. Good area, lots of bars and cafes, can walk to little India and Campbell Street Markets.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank maxandlester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed our little place Coffee Atelier. With best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Great place to be, probably one of most enchanting we've ever been. The rooms are apartment like size and very well integrated with the heritage of this building. The staff is very professional and willing at any time

Stayed: January 2017
Thank michelebruschetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed our little place Coffee Atelier. Best wishes and hope to be able to welcoming you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We stayed here for a quick weekend get-away. We had the 3-person suite on the first floor of "Kopi." Upon arrival, we were treated to complimentary tea/coffee as Ruby gave us information about the surrounding area, as well as provided maps and highlighted locations to explore. We LOVED the suite. The bed was perfect, room was quite insulated so aircon was efficient and always cool. The bathroom is open but private, and the (locally made) toiletries provided were great. Batik robes were provided as well. The entire suite, plus the coffee shop and reception area, was decorated in great taste. Ruby and the other staff were very sweet.

Breakfast was simple, continental-style - eggs, bread, yogurt or fresh fruits, bacon or sausage, orange juice, cereal or muesli, and coffee/tea. It was delicious and very filling to help us prepare for a day of walking about the Georgetown streets.

There is a backpacker's hostel across the road, but we honestly did not hear much out of them past 11 pm. We did keep the shutters and windows closed, so maybe that helped shield the noise a bit.

Complimentary WiFi was fast enough to stream, but at times was a bit slower.

If we have the opportunity, we would definitely stay here again. It's got such a cute charm.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for taking time for writing your kind review. Glad you enjoyed our little place Coffee Atelier and we hope to be able to welcoming you soon again. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Vacation in Penang during the Christmas period . Spent 2 nights in this beautiful shophouse hotel. Nice breakfast. Great location in Gerogetown as well. One of a kind experience as compared to staying in a conventional multi storey hotel . Staff is also very friendly and cheery.

Room Tip: some stairs to reach the 2nd floor suite. perhaps a concern for elderly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastairlaujh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thanks again for staying for us and for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed George Town and Coffee Atelier. I hope to be able to welcoming you again. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.7 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 88 in George Town
669 reviews
0.0 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#12 of 88 in George Town
3,704 reviews
1.0 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 88 in George Town
500 reviews
0.3 km away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 88 in George Town
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Atelier

Address: 47 - 55 Lorong Stewart, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in George Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: RM321 - RM478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffee Atelier 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COFFEE ATELIER is located right in the core zone of George Town, Penang, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.It comprises a collection of five beautifully restored early 20th century shophouses. Today it houses an eclectic mix of a restaurant, an art gallery, a coffee museum and suites which are fully appointed with all modern amenities for short or long term stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Coffee Atelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coffee Atelier Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing