We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
199
52
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
52
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor bathroom mosquito net original condition dressing room private courtyard adjoining restaurant attached cafe modern amenities downstairs room master bedroom shop houses antique furniture first floor unique stay four poster bed breakfast was delicious the perfect place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

We cannot rate Coffee Atelier highly enough.
The care and customer service from Ruby and the team was excellent. We requested late check in due to our evening flight arrival and Ruby waited for us to arrive at midnight, welcoming us with a smile.
We stayed in one of the grounds floor units. Beautifully restored with original heritage features. The spacious study, bedroom and courtyard gave us plenty of space. The outdoor bathroom was very unique and worked really well. Very comfy bed, luxurious linen, air con, tea/coffee/water, excellent breakfast gave us all the comforts we needed.
Location is fantastic - walking distance to all of the heritage old town sights and lots of cafes, food and shops to explore on the area.
Near the bus stop for the 101 route which takes you to the National Park for jungle treks and beaches.
Easy location for Grab taxis - we used Grab to and from the airport (20 MYR one-way).
If you’re looking for a location with character, comfort and care then give Coffee Atelier a try. We will return!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kualatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Thanks again for staying with us and for taking time to write such a detailled review! Glad that you enjoyed George Town/Penang and the concept of Coffee Atelier. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Happy New Year and all the best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

The hotel is spread out over a series of former shop houses. The house I stayed in had been lovingly restored, and the suite was pleasantly decorated and had modern amenities. The air conditioning helped with the heat, and an interior door facing the street helped keep the noise out from a party hostel on the other side of the street. The food served in the adjoining restaurant was delicious. The hotel is centrally located, and the staff provided a warm and efficient service.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 439sonjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Thanks again for staying with us and for taking time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Coffee Atelier and that you had a good time in George Town. Happy New Year and all the best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2018

I have nothing but high praise and accolades for Coffee Atelier as it fit perfectly into our travel goals for Penang. We visited for two weeks in September of 2018. Our goals were to stay in a converted authentic shop house, explore the Heritage area on foot, and eat the fabulous Malay Straits foods. Coffee Atelier was the perfect location for these goals and the bonus was the owner and staff were super-friendly, the rooms are eclectic treasures, and the attached Cafe 55 an added treat. It is hard to describe the rooms if you are used to cookie-cutter hotel spaces. Our downstairs room was actually three rooms, a study - dressing room, a proper bedroom, and outdoor bath suite/garden, all in a converted historical colonial shophouse. (Don't let outdoor fool you - nobody can see in). The 'room' was large enough to be comfortable for two weeks, more like a small apartment - minus a kitchen. Looking at the decor of the room it is evident of the serious attention to detail that went into every little touch. Beautiful artwork mixed with original touches of the former 'shophouse'. The property is beautiful throughout as two units share a large entry way and the 'five foot way' outside has seating and beautiful plants. Very relaxing laid back vibe in the midst of a hectic urban area. We trusted Stefan to find transport to/from the airport and we enjoyed our time with the driver, who was waiting at the airport exit and prompt for our return. Our days were spent sleeping in (the bedding and pillows comfy and high quality), enjoying a lovely quiet breakfast at Cafe 55 (included in rate - set menu with other options), then heading out for a bit of exploring, (we did the street art hunt - great fun way to explore Penang - plus some interesting museums and historical sights), then return for a heat of the day nap in the cool comforts of the aircon room, have an expresso and quick bite at Cafe 55, then head out for the evening to explore the many, many food options and bar scene. All that and never really out of walking distance of Coffee Atelier, although Grab is easy to use for cheap transport - the traffic is terrible at times. After that day I could relax on the front stoop for a night cap while watching the street parade of passersby, under the eye of the 'nightwatchman' of the property. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Unique lodging, friendly hosts, (and staff), and World Heritage exploring out the front door. Perfect recipe for two weeks in Penang.

Other notes: The property was clean and very well maintained, very secure and safe, and surprisingly quiet at night (for a hectic urban area) once inside the room.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AzRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Many thanks again for staying with us and for taking time to write such a detailled review - really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed old George Town, the neighbourhood of Coffee Atelier and our concept. Best wishes and we are looking forward to welcoming you sometimes soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2018

My wife and parents spent 3 nights at Coffee Atelier in November 2018 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff (Ruby and her team) were very warm and friendly and made delicious breakfast and lunch for us everyday. Coffee Atelier's proximity to downtown George Town made it a convenient place to start our explorations of the city's heritage areas. The owner Stefan also took great care to ensure we had a pleasant stay. We look forward to be back there!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Asiaexplorer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Thanks again for staying with us and for taking time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed Coffee Atelier's concept and George Town. Best wishes - and see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2018

A pleasant stay, very clean rooms, more than a hotel, was like having a small house in the center of Penang. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast. near the hotel, upstairs a very interesting art gallery.
The staff is also available to show other rooms with antiques.
I also met the Owner. A nice person and available.

Room tip: Central location, convenient. The rooms are equipped with beautiful antique furniture
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WlaMalesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Many thanks again for staying with us and for taking time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Coffee Atelier and that you had a good time in Penang. All the best wishes - and see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews