We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
33
10
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
10
2
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

This is a unique place, house is completely constructed on the sea. Complete wooden structure, easy to access place, host and her dad are very friendly, guided us from minute we have stepped in till we have completed our trip throughout Malaysia. Sea water level differs by every few hours.
You can use washing machine, hosts have provided a variety of snacks and fruits, and bread, jam and butter too. Feels like it’s your own home in a different country. Value for money.
P.S. This place itself is a tourist attraction.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uday B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

It was my first time to try homestay (instead of the usual hotel/hostel arrangement). Honestly, I was very excited to see the actual house that Anthony Bourdain had featured in No Reservations. My expectations were met and I am truly happy to say that I experienced the jetty life.

What I love about 59A: the hospitality of the people, the homey feel and cleanliness of the place, and the ambiance of their porch-by-the-sea.

Siew Pheng and Papa are very, very nice. Siew is someone you can easily talk to. She shared a lot of things and is very enthusiastic talking about anything under the sun (international and local politics, her personal travels, and insights about her locality). Papa is also very kind and has often provided us with fruits.

Our room is decent and clean and the place offers the basic facilities that you need. I totally appreciate the clearbook with all the information about Penang. If you do not have an itinerary prepared, don't worry as their clearbook clearly has everything (from what to eat, where to eat, suggested itineraries, etc.). They have the basic facilities like hot shower and laundry area. Their table has free coffee/tea/bread/fruits accessible anytime.

My favorite part of the house? Their patio-by-the-sea! It overlooks the sea and the walkway of the heritage site. You can watch the sunset and sunrise, the lights from the other side, or the tourists midday.

I definitely recommend this place for you to stay in Penang!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanghaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

A great place to stay in one of the more fascinating locations you'll ever see. The host Siew Ping is a fantastic host and a fellow food-traveller. If you're in Penang to eat (of course you are...) Siew Ping is a brilliant contact for local food advice. Mr Chew (Papa Oranges) will also look after you (and of course, feed you oranges). An absolute gem for anyone who loves food and wants to immerse themselves in this UNESCO listed location!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mattbM8224TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Very friendly people. A location that has to be seen to be believed. One of the most unique hotel experiences you'll ever have: let alone for $30 a night. I live in Penang and even I may book a room there again, just because. You haven't done Penang until you've done My Chew Jetty Homestay.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jamesdO723SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I am all for seeing how the locals live and chose Chew Jetty because of this. Please read the description of your stay before you book and is is exactly what you will get. Siew Ping was great over email before and during the stay. Mr Chew doesn't speak any English but could not have looked after me better. The home is very clean and you can have teas / coffee / water during the day too. Mr Chew chopped me oranges everyday bless him. Breakfast is provided, toast, cereal, fruit. The air con in the room was poor however, Siew Ping was going to review this. In the description it mentions the odour that can arise from the water. This does happen and at points can be quite strong for non locals. However, I wanted to live as a local for a while. The best bit was sitting out on the veranda and watching the many tourists passing by. A great experience which I wouldn't have changed, but it won't be for everyone.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank anniewphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews