We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$44
View deal
Hotels.com
US$44
View deal
Trip.com
US$59
US$41
View deal
SAVE US$18
Free cancellation until 21/04/21
Booking.comUS$44
PricelineUS$44
StayForLongUS$59
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,607)
Filter reviews
2,607 results
Traveller rating
826
1,120
469
116
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
826
1,120
469
116
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traders hotel the club lounge golden sands booked a club room free shuttle shopping mall batu ferringhi sister hotel business hotel within walking distance central location breakfast spread cocktail hour bus station pleasant stay local food street food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,607 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2020

Very central location, just 5-10 drive to great F&B and cultural, shopping street (Lebuh Armenian). Good service, comfy rooms that are well-designed. Hot shower, modern bathroom. Great value for money.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dianefoo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

We had a great snd safe short break in Penang. I want to make special mention of @hoteljenpenang where we stayed. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location superb. It was within walking distance to all the places we visited this round like @hinbusdepot, @hinmarket, #newlanepenang hawkers’ street, @littlekitchennyonya and our favourite find for this holiday, @penanghouseofmusic. It’s also a very short drive to each of these other locations that we went to: @samsbatikhouse, @chinahousepenang, @ludwigsoftserveau in #armenianstreetpenang, #cecilstreetmarket and @cheongfatttzemansion. It’s also a great base if you want to do explorations to places like @mypenanghill or @myentopia on the beach side of the island if you don’t want to stay on that end. We would stay here again in a heartbeat if we wanted to explore more of the city. Thanks @hoteljenpenang for a memorable stay, till next time! @ JEN Penang Georgetown by Shangri-La

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank Hsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJP Team, Owner at JEN Penang Georgetown by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Dear Hsian,

Thank you for leaving us the kind review.

We are simply delighted to know that overall you've enjoyed your stay especially on our hotel location and friendly staff. We are indeed strategically located in the heart of Georgetown which our guests can access many interesting places such as shopping malls, local eateries, and UNESCO Heritage buildings.

We hope you've had yet another amazing stay with us, and we can't wait for you to be back for your next one!

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile

The location is perfect, right smack in town. Ample free, self parking during my weekday stay. If coming with large bags, recommended to drop it off at the lobby first, as there is no lift from the carpark.

The room is modern and has all the creature comforts needed. Despite being a younger, hip brand, the bed is typical Shangri-la luxury - Simmons mattress, Feathertop and luxe down pillows. Water pressure was good, internet fast and free.

Friendly and fast check in. Noticed SOP closely followed, plenty of sanitisers and special film on elevator buttons for extra protection. Highly recommended hotel.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank fredd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJP Team, Owner at JEN Penang Georgetown by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Dear fredd0,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

We are extremely happy to know you had a great stay at JEN Penang especially highlighting the hotel location, comfortable rooms, and services rendered by our friendly team members.

We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back for yet another great stay.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020

Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-la is located right at the center of the UNESCO world heritage site, Georgetown. It is a contemporary city hotel that allows the guest to unwind after a full day excursion at Georgetown. The hotel's facilities and room amenities are not comparable with other Shangri-la properties, but the bubbly and energetic staff made up for this. William and Katherine were pleasant with their interactions. They will go out of the way and their comfort zone to make the guest feels comfortable.

I remember, William handed me his own medicated oil, when I told him that I have twisted my ankle. Katherine making sure attractions were open before I visited them by making phone calls.

Overall, Hotel Jen is a friendly establishment, you know that familiar feeling that you have made some great friends for life, that is hotel Jen.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keyrantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJP Team, Owner at JEN Penang Georgetown by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Dear keyrantravel,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

Thank you for constantly supporting our hotel. On behalf of the team and the staff mentioned, we'd like to sincerely thank you for your lovely comments, as they are of great motivation to the team. We hope you've had yet another amazing stay with us, and we can't wait for you to be back for your next one!

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2020

short walk to shopping mall, with many eateries to choose from. had good night sleep in the clean & comfy room. good bfast buffet. lobby is not fancy but inviting. swimming pool is clean, but windy... had very good stay for the price.

Date of stay: November 2019
2  Thank ag_huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJP Team, Owner at JEN Penang Georgetown by Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Dear ariefg_indy,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

We are glad to know you enjoyed the stay especially the hotel location. We are indeed conveniently located in the heart of Georgetown which our guests explore the city to local eateries, UNESCO Heritage spots, and many more within walking distance.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Ody Odayappan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews