We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$32
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/22
Hotels.com
US$32
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/22
Agoda.com
US$26
View deal
Booking.comUS$37
Official HotelUS$43
TravelocityUS$32
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
99
162
162
48
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
162
162
48
47
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2020

Rate reasonable but room very small. Obstructive view for Standard view. Needs refurbishment. Breakfast nothing much. Weekend buffet dinner was disappointing with limited items. Lifts are very slow. Staff are however friendly and smiling.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharmingSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalaKalimuthu, Front Office Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Dear CharmingSr,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our location and that it allowed you to conveniently reach Penang Adventist Hospital.

Noted on your comments that the hotel need refurbishment and lifts are slow, it is well maintained by our staff as we have preventive maintenance works to meet our guests comfort and it is ongoing.
We assure you that necessary measures are being taken to rectify this to ensure that service standards are improved in future. We have done some basic refurbishment, whereby we have replaced and done such as new vinny flooring , new mattress, new pillows, new lights, repaint furniture and change upholstery, fresh coat of paint in the room and re-glazed the bathtub.

We appreciate your acknowledging our staff and we will definitely pass your comments on our staffs' friendliness, level of service and also their response to your needs, to our team members.

Noted too on your comments that the limited choice in breakfast and buffet dinner. We have shared you concern to our chef and necessary action will be taken to further improve in selection of breakfast and buffet dinner.

We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future

Kind Regards,
Kala Kalimuthu
Front Office Manager
Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights, purely to get my Thailand visa from the nearby consulate. If you're here for this purpose then Berjaya Penang is ideally located.

The consulate is just 15 minutes slow walk from the hotel and very easy to navigate to (2 straight roads). The Gurney malls are only 8-10 minutes walk in the other direction, too, so you can easily go do a bit of shopping, get food etc whilst waiting for your visa.

My 4 star review is a bit subjective as it's 4 star based on what I needed the hotel for (a bed near to the Thai consulate). However, if I was holidaying in Penang (which I have on 5 previous occasions), I wouldn't choose this hotel.

Yes, the hotel is a bit old and not keeping up with the more modern 4-5 stars but it does the job as long as you're not the kind of person to pick holes in everything or take photos of every little imperfection. Expect a fairly good hotel, in a fairly good location (excellent if you're here to get a Thai Visa) and fairly good service.

Downstairs from the hotel is a 7-11 and Family Mart (30 seconds further down). There's also a taxi stand directly outside and a mall next door with KFC and some Asian food cafes.

Breakfast is, again, good as long as you don't expect a Marriott-Style spread.
There's toast, croissants, juices, cereal, porridge, fruit, cold meats and cheese, coffee, tea plus about 8-10 hot dishes to choose from, like noodles, rice, mixed vegetables etc. There's enough choice to fill you up for the morning.

Couple of tips to the manager reading this...
- welcome drink - bring it to the guests as they check in. When I checked in, I didn't even know where to get this from with the voucher you gave me. It's a nicer gesture bringing it to guests as they check in.
- At check in your front desk staff should explain the services. I hadn't a clue where breakfast was, what times, what floor the swimming pool was or even what floor my room was on. I was just given my key card. It wasn't rude but you could improve on this very easily.
- breakfast - all 3 mornings I had to go looking for your breakfast staff to give them my breakfast voucher. Have someone greeting guests as they come in for breakfast and thanking them when leaving.

There's a lot of small details that could turn you into a proper 4 star as, for now, you're definitely a good 3 star but really not more. All hotel owners should stay in a decent (Marriott/Hilton for example) hotel to see all the things they should be doing.

Anyway, I'll be back here if I need another visa, for sure.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank matthji
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalaKalimuthu, Front Office Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Dear matthji,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards

We are pleased to hear your nice comments about your comfortable stay and you have enjoyed the location of the hotel. Always nice to know we succeed in making our guest having a successful and memorable stay with us.

Noted on your comments that the hotel is older, it is well maintained by our staff as we have preventive maintenance works to meet our guests comfort and it is ongoing.

We assure you that necessary measures are being taken to rectify this to ensure that service standards are improved in future. We have done some basic refurbishment, whereby we have replaced and done such as new carpets, new mattress, new pillows, new lights, repaint furniture and change upholstery, fresh coat of paint in the room and re-glazed the bathtub.

Noted on the comments regards to customer service at front desk and cafe. We will re look into training for our associates and necessary action will be taken to improve our service standard.

We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future.

Kind Regards,
Kala Kalimuthu
Front Office Manager
Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

This hotel is strategic & centrally located where it normally take within 30 minute to almost attraction within Penang. Even to Penang Hill didn’t take Long drive. Very spacious hotel room stay & great staff.
Hotel carpark may need LED lighting.
Need major upgrading to be on par with other hotel establishment.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank heomarmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KalaKalimuthu, Front Office Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Dear heomarmab,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards

We are pleased to hear your nice comments about your comfortable stay and you have enjoyed the location of the hotel. Always nice to know we succeed in making our guest having a successful and memorable stay with us.
We appreciate your acknowledging our staff and we will definitely pass your comments on our staffs' friendliness, level of service and also their response to your needs, to our team members.

Noted on your comments that the hotel is older, it is well maintained by our staff as we have preventive maintenance works to meet our guests comfort and it is ongoing.

We assure you that necessary measures are being taken to rectify this to ensure that service standards are improved in future. We have done some basic refurbishment, whereby we have replaced and done such as new carpets, new mattress, new pillows, new lights, repaint furniture and change upholstery, fresh coat of paint in the room and re-glazed the bathtub.

Noted too on your comments lighting at hotel car park . We shared your comments to our management and necessary action will be taken to improve the brightness in the hotel car park.


We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future.

Kind Regards,
Kala Kalimuthu
Front Office Manager
Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It is located in the middle of Georgetown, and nearby the Gurney Drive (about 1km). There are a few convenient stores nearby, so you can buy any snacks at night.

I actually requested for non-smoking rooms through Agoda, but during checked in, I forgot to mention about it. So we got smoking rooms, where we can smell cigarette smoke inside and outside our rooms.

The breakfast was nice, although the fried mee/kueyteow was a bit tasteless. Other than that, the food was okay.

We got superior rooms, which were quite big. The rooms were clean, with all necessary items (kettle, TV, hair dryer, mini fridge,etc).

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank norlysoleha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2019

The location is very good just across the street from Penang Adventist Hospital and nearby there are lots of hawker street food, and it is within walking distance to Gurney Plaza, and Gurney Paragon the two shopping malls at Georgetown. The room was furnished with two toothbrushes, two sandals, two bath towels. Although the hotels was old, but the room was spacious, and yet for the affordable price you pay, its worth to live in the hotel. The breakfast was decent, not too many variety, but it was okay. Overall it is recommended if you are going to visit Penang Adventis Hotel

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mykarimun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews