We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Seven Terraces(George Town)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$145
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$126
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$29
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveller rating
174
384
196
35
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
384
196
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgurney drivesea viewtennis courtshealth clublobby loungebak kut tehbusiness hotelwalking distancedecent hotelbit datedpulau tikusmineral waterhawker centrehotel is locatedmini barfood stallsroom was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 815 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2015

This was my second time staying at Evergreen Laurel, & it's still the best choice. The location is perfect. Very near to local eateries such Gurney Drive and Northam Cafe snd 15 mins walk to Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon. The staff are friendly and prompt in their service. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Fresh fruits were replenished every day after housekeeping. Both my husband and me booked a private car via the concierge and they were prompt and efficient to hand the car. But what made me happy was the hotel quickly upgraded our room from cityview to seaview without extra charge!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with seaview
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Junetan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed 4 days in deluxe seaview room on floor 15th. Our room is clean and the big glass window gives wonderful sea view. All necessities provided including shampoo, shower gel, toothbrush, slippers, sleeping robe, hairdryer, iron and etc. 4 bottle of mineral waters and limited soft drinks are complimentary. (Can request to refill each day)
The service of the hotel is good and prompt, the staff is friendly and helpful especially the housekeeping. The restaurant at the ground floor of the hotel always occupied with guests. I never have a chance to taste the meal but can hear the guests enjoy themselves. And they are having the promotion of buffet lunch and dinner.
The location of the hotel is good also, turn right to walk about 3 to 5 mins will reach coffebean bistro and so on. If turn left have many hawkers and restaurant. With 8 to 10mins walk can reach Gurney Paragon consists good restaurant, foodcourt, shops, supermarket and cinema. Further 3 to 5 mins walk to reach the famous Gurney drive hawker center, which I managed to find a vegetarian stall and enjoy Penang special fried noddles (hokkien fried) very much. The bus station within walking distance to travel to center (jetty) and from there to change bus to airport or other place. But must remember to avoid taking transportation during weekday morning and evening peak hour.
Overall is a nice hotel with comfortable room, convenient location to eat and travel around.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We stayed at the Evergreen Laurel between 14 and 21 October, 2015 and what a great stay!! We had sea view rooms as did our friends. Whilst the hotel is not the newest this does not understate the facilities the Evergreen has to offer. The rooms were of an excellent standard and immaculately clean not to mention very large. All of the staff and I mean all of the staff were genuinely helpful and friendly and ready to tell you the best places to eat! The hotel is well located to shopping, an incredible variety of food choices, public transport and places to get your laundry done at incredibly cheap prices. would recommend this to others an we will stay there again.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank ZappaPerth_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Enjoyed my 10 days stay there. Found the staff at reception very friendly and helpful. Complimentary soft drinks in the room fridge daily and good choice in the buffet breakfast.
Location was good as it is very close to the city area and also heaps of restaurants and food choices around Gurney Drive and the big shopping complex, Gurney Plaza.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms and upper floors are quieter
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

The hotel room is like you're back in the 80s decor and badly in need of renovation. Only redeeming quality is the location where it's close to several shopping plazas. Check-in staff was slow but the valet staff was very helpful with taxi to the airport.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank yuantsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews