We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bernard N
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

It’s good but can be better!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 May 2019via mobile
First impression says it all. From the check-in process to the final departure, I have nothing but compliments. However, there are a few areas that can be worked on. For instance, smiling. Simple enough right? But carries plenty of impact even if things go sideways. And the best part, it’s free. Therefore, the management should be looking into these simple factors that can take your line of service to a whole new level. Overall, beautiful room, great food, coffee house is a +1 for vegetarians and most importantly the standard of service was as expected from a 5 star hotel. Kudos to the team and will be looking forward to another enjoyable stay at your property :)
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 436
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 374
  • Expedia.com
    RM 428
1.0 km from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 577
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • KLOOK
    RM 423
  • Expedia.com
    RM 564
1.1 km from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 1,044
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
    RM 850
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,675
2.2 km from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 704
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 445
  • Expedia.com
    RM 572
2.2 km from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
RM 233
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 206
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 478
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    RM 260
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 245
  • Priceline
  • KLOOK
    RM 191
  • Expedia.com
    RM 244
1.7 km from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room / Club Deluxe Room
RM 500
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 499
  • Agoda.com
    RM 475
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 306
  • Hotels.com
    RM 232
  • Expedia.com
    RM 278
2.1 km from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 128
  • KLOOK
    RM 109
  • Hotel website
    RM 128
2.2 km from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveller rating
205
429
212
42
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
205
429
212
42
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gurney drive sea view gurney area walking distance bit dated mineral water high floor f b spacious room local food shopping mall strategic location gym penang georgetown jacuzzi hawker
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 919 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2019

The hotel in and of itself does not have many negative factors about it, but that does not mean that it does not have any. One of the negative aspects is that the rooms may not be ready for when you arrive occasionally. However, they do offer you their sincere apologies to you. Another push factor is that the sea view that the hotel once had is no more as the seafront is being reclaimed for the Gurney Wharf Project. Some rooms do look out of date despite the comfy feel of them, people do tend to frown upon the furniture and despise the hotel just because of that factor. The hotel is near the main road, however, causing loud noises to be heard rarely.

Now the positives. The hotel is conveniently a 5-10 minute walk to and fro Paragon and the Gurney Drive nightly food court. It is well maintained and is more hygienic than most hotels for the same price and around the area. The hotel has non-smoking and smoking rooms on different levels for everyone's convenience. It is located in a peaceful environment of Penang, so I would highly recommend this hotel to those looking for a nice quiet getaway. The spas and kids centre gives opportunities for parents to have some free time as well. It is also an advantage that not all tourist choose this hotel, therefore it is not packed with them even during festive times. The staff are well maintained and polite to all visitors that visit here.

I have been to this hotel several times for Chinese New Year with my family and other occasions and it has always been a great pleasure to be staying here every time.

Room tip: if you arrive earlier than your booked time, the room is most likely not to be prepared yet.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank incorrect_tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2019 via mobile

I had many visits before to Paris , first time find hotel with all I need in my room , bath room perfect
Area around hotel very nice , many coffe shops , Resturant , there is mall near here
Very quit place and elegant

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 245daliak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

Nice hotel with all the amenities and services I am looking for in a typical 4* at a reasonable discounted price online. They upgraded me to a premier room which I only had to pay a small amount but the room had 2 double beds. So this was the downside. They said checkin was at 2 and I had arrived half hour earlier as the room I booked was not ready. I wish they could have upgraded for free as most hotels do. Room service took 40 minutes and the guy arrived with an unhappy face to deliver my food. I wish they had friendlier staff. Most of them did not smile. Why are they looking so unhappy? From concierge to recep to cafe.. they are in the hospitality industry. Nonetheless I still liked the hotel and I hope to come back and find better service in the future.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ppylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2019 via mobile

Reception staff who serve me were friendly. Room is spacious, clean with comfortable beds and nice sea-view. Conveniently located, 5-10 mins walk to Paragon, Gurney Mall shopping n Gurney drive night food court. Hotel have got ample parking lots, overall have an enjoyable stay!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank yuenwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2019 via mobile

I booked 2 connecting rooms during the festive period. The hotel wasn't packed with tourist or locals who returned to Penang for Chinese New Year celebrations. The hotel has been around for a long time but it is surprisingly very well maintained and clean unlike the neighbouring hotels. The pool is basic but the have a fantastic Kid's Club to keep the children occupied. They even have children books available (new and in one piece).
The service is great too. The housekeeping staff to porter boy is well mannered where they greet guests sincerely .
Kuddos to the maintenance and housekeeping team for keeping the hotel clean and well maintained.
The only draw back is the hotel does not have seaview anymore as the seafront is being reclaimed for Gurney Wharf project. Hopefully it will be better when the project is completed.
I would definitely be back again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank luye28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews