We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 300
Priceline
Vio.com
RM 229
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,808)
Filter reviews
1,808 results
Traveller rating
451
859
324
111
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
451
859
324
111
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hawker stalls street food walking distance ban heang local food buffet breakfast clean hotel single bed nasi lemak hotel lobby strategic location pleasant stay housekeeping staff family room noodles front office komtar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,808 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2023

Very friend staff, the room we stayed was clean and comfortable too.

Love the breakfast!
It has everything we could expect to get from a hotel breakfast!

There are ample parking spaces available if you are driving there, however being in the city centre, it may be hard to drive around as the roads can be a little confusing.
Would recommend you to leave your car in the hotel and travel by foot or use GRAB services instead!

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank DooDei
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2023

Dear DooDei,
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our services and facilities up to your expectations. Please recommend us to your loved ones, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thank you for making us your preferred choice of accommodation in Penang.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2023

We stayed four nights in this hotel and enjoy our experience with the street food as the hotel is right next to it. Quite place with an exceptionally clean open air swimming pool but small in size. Our room on the 11th floor is large with good a/c and excellent shower.
Breakfast/Restaurant is operated independently from the hotel which provide a good breakfast though I found the choice limited if local food is not your top pick. The coffee was too strong for my liking and they did not have milk or half/half just powder creamer. However, the coffee/coffee mate in the hotel room supplied by the hotel was not bad.

We were very happy with their services; we had no trouble getting extra towels, water or coffees delivered to our room within minutes. Their Duty Manager Kelvin was very helpful at check-in and staff generally eager to help to make sure our stay was comfortable.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Edmund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2023

Dear Edmund,
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

We are glad that you find our location strategic, and our services are up to your expectations. Please recommend us to your loved ones, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Thank you for making us your preferred choice of accommodation in Penang.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2023 via mobile

Very good location in Georgetown, stalls downstairs are very bad (awful food), aircon very good, reception staff a bit lazy, cleaning staff very helpful, very bad shower pressure (really bad), mattress is very hard but I slept well, WiFi very good

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 490SSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2023

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

We are glad that you find our location strategic. We view your feedback on the services provided and water pressure with concern, rest assured we have reminded our service manager to uphold our service standards, the maintenance team has taken immediate actions to resolve the issue with water pressure, as we prioritise our guest experiences. Thank you for your patronage and review, we look forward to welcoming you with better services in the future.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2022

Pro:
1) the staffs are very friendly and helpful. would like compliment to Alex, the front desk staff
2) the room is very clean & very spacious

Cons:
1) curtain is very dusty & dirty
2) window is dirty

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 674serenec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2022

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

We are glad that you find our location strategic, and the services provided are up to your expectations. Your comment on the cleanliness of our window and curtain is very much appreciated. Rest assured the management view your feedback with concern, actions will be taken to providing a better experience to our guests.

Thank you for your patronage, we would be truly grateful if you may recommend us to your loved ones. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2022

Overall is good, except for the bad service of housekeeping. Found a used wet hand towel in the room, need to remind and wait for almost 1 hour for bath towel and hand towel (didn't allocate in the room when checked in), the room had a bad smell when first entering, and a king size bed is actually a combination of 2 single bed, feel not comfortable. The greatest service is the Indian lady who standby at the car park, she is very patient and polite in guiding us for the parking payment, feel warm by her service, thank you.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CelineWoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2022

Dear Celine,
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

We would like to thank you for spending time out of your schedule, writing us a review. We view your feedback on the housekeeping services provided with concern, rest assured stern reminders have been given to the team, as we prioritise our guest experiences and comfort. We are glad that the services by our security at the car park is up to your expectations. The bed configuration as mentioned is part of our effort to meet the high demand of the king bedrooms, especially during busy period. Nevertheless, the management will be looking into the demand and make improvements.

Thank you for your patronage. We hope this experience will not mar your impression of our hotel. Please extend us another opportunity to serve, as we trust our team is capable to meeting our guests' expectations.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews