We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 300
Priceline
RM 300
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
RM 225
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Tai L
My Hotel Stay for my Penang Trip
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Apr 2023via mobile
Sunway hotel Georgetown located in the city Center. The hotel location is easy to find Penang foods and shopping. There is night hawkers food Center just beside the hotel and open from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. It is about 5 minutes walk to the famous Chinese Dim Sun.

My Deluxe room at 9th floor is clean and the air-cond is cold. The room size is just nice for 2 persons to stay. The hotel Wi-Fi is average. Bed and pillows is comfortable. The TV look smaller and most of the hotel is using 55” LED in the room. The TV channels had limited channels. The water pressure in the bathroom is not strong for shower. The hotel provide free parking for their hotel guest.

I will stay in this hotel again if I come to Penang for next trip. I also will recommend this hotel to my family members and my friends for their Penang trip.
Date of stay: April 2023
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 490
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 356
  • Agoda.com
    RM 300
  • Priceline
    RM 532
0.4 km from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 674
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 612
  • Vio.com
    RM 417
  • Hotels.com
    RM 543
0.6 km from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 800
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 554
  • Agoda.com
    RM 445
  • Priceline
    RM 503
1.2 km from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
RM 256
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    RM 215
  • Agoda.com
    RM 215
  • Trip.com
    RM 259
0.8 km from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 413
  • Trip.com
    RM 281
  • Agoda.com
    RM 267
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 407
1.6 km from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 583
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • KLOOK
    RM 410
  • Hotel Website
    RM 559
3.1 km from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room / Club Deluxe Room
Booking.com
RM 367
RM 360
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    RM 360
  • Expedia.com
    RM 360
  • travelup.com
    RM 358
0.5 km from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 144
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel website
    RM 144
  • KLOOK
    RM 111
  • Expedia.com
    RM 159
1.4 km from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 3,188
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • travelup.com
    RM 2,665
  • Hotel Website
    RM 3,002
1.5 km from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (1,808)
Filter reviews
1,808 results
Traveller rating
451
859
324
111
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
451
859
324
111
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hawker stalls street food walking distance ban heang local food buffet breakfast clean hotel single bed nasi lemak hotel lobby strategic location pleasant stay housekeeping staff family room noodles front office komtar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,808 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2023

My family made a trip to Penang from 23 to 25 March 2023. We booked 1 Family Room + 1 Deluxe Room in Sunway Hotel Georgetown. The check-in process was smooth.
However, we were very disappointed with the beds in the Family Room. The bed stinks of urine smell and had patches on both the bedsheets. We were so tired but couldn't get to sleep due to the stinky urine smell.
We had to call the Maintenance at 11.10pm. They came in at about 11.30pm to change the bedsheets and pillow cases for 1 Kingsize bed and 1 single bed.
The young man went in & out of our rooms 3 to 4 times to get cleaner bedsheets for our rooms. Even the new clean sheets had a damp smell to it. He then used a sanitizer/freshener to spray the carpets and corners of the room. It was all completed at around 12.30 midnight.
Attached are some photos & videos taken.

Date of stay: March 2023
Thank Pioneer59036788720
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2023

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

Thank you for spending time to write us a review, despite your busy schedule. We appreciate constructive feedback from our guests. We are sorry for the unpleasant experience you had, please be assured we have highlighted this to the relevant department to uphold our standard, and perform more thorough check on the linen for better guest experience. We promise to enhance our service, as your comfort is our priority.

We thank you for your visit, and look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2023 via mobile

Finally after 3 long years hubby and I returned to our favourite hotel in Penang, we had a amazing and awesome stay, our 7th since 2016 and once again the Sunway Staff went above and beyond, decorating our room on arrival welcoming our return and also decorating our room on my birthday, loved it. The only thing we found disappointing was the breakfast buffet, the lack of variety of local and western dishes, not like it was 3 years ago, it was the same food day after day, and was never hot, hopefully it will improve to what it formally once was, other than breakfast we will definitely be returning

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 193sandym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2023

Dear Sandy,
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

We are glad to welcoming you and your partner back, and proud to having you as our returning guest. We trust you had another memorable stay with us, your feedback on our breakfast is very much appreciated, rest assured this has been highlighted to the team at the restaurant for improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you for your continued support.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2023

Great hotel just outside the historic area. Friendly staff, a business centre, large room, and great city view (ask for a higher floor with a view of the old town).

Great for public transit acccess - the Times Square stop is a 2 minute walk up the street. From there, you can go to and from the airport.

In the other direction is excellent and cheap street food. This was the "go to" place for dinner and fruit juices.

Room tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a city view.
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MontySpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

We are glad to hear that you had a memorable stay, and our service meets your expectations. Indeed, our location is strategic, with easy access to attractions and restaurants. Please recommend us to your friends and family, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you for making us your preferred hotel in Penang.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2023 via mobile

My 1st Sunway Hotel experience away from KL , my stay at Sunway Georgetown was Fabulous!
Sunny as the weather in Penang, the hotel was well kept and tidy. Everything was clean n perfect
Room booked was a Deluxe King room and room was clean n spacious when I checked in
Bathroom was clean and towels was also neat n ready for use.
Aircon was working well ( A relief from Penang Weather)
Location is great ! Just downstairs is Lorong Baru which is famous for the makan starting from 5pm till late !
Walking distance to Gama , 1st Avenue and Birch House !
Thanks to the Housekeeping Team at L9 , they are friendly and willing to help when asked to clean my room.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank NgGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2023

Dear Gregory,
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, and find our location strategic. Please recommend us to your friends and family, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you for making us your preferred hotel in Penang.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2023 via mobile

Check in was fast and easy. Really appreciate their service. Friendly bell person and receptionist, most importantly, the housekeeping team was efficient. Location is prime here, near to most of the attraction and it’s a stone throw away to a night market street. Will come back again!

Room tip: Friday would have a lot of traffic jam
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kennethych
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Owner at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2023

Dear Kenneth,
Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

We are glad to hear that you are happy with your stay, and our service meets your expectations. Indeed, our location is strategic, near many restaurants and provides easy access to attractions. Please recommend us to your friends and family, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you for making us your preferred hotel in Penang.

Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews