We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting slice of history”
Review of Sun Yat Sen Museum

Sun Yat Sen Museum
Ranked #20 of 139 things to do in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A historic gem in the heart of the George Town world heritage site. The Sun Yat Sen Museum is a beautifully-preserved house museum in the multicultural George Town world heritage site. This historical house has a permanent exhibition on Sun Yat Sen's early revolutionary period in Penang when he planned a historic uprising on the cusp of the Chinese Revolution of 1911.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This old house from Sun Yat Sen's time in Penang is very well preserved and worth a visit. Especially interesting were the old maps of the town from the time (many things haven't changed!) and the old wood fired range and cookware.

1  Thank Del E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review! We take great pride in our old shophouse and we're glad you agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Went to Sun Yat Sen Museum during Penang CNY Celebration and lots of activities around this house !
Worth a visit for history lover....

1  Thank nitr0888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for your kind review! We really appreciate it and are glad you that enjoyed our museum. We are doing our best to maintain this place and to restore as much as we can. It's good to have someone like to you, who knows how to appreciate our museum. We really hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Educate yourself on some of the early revolutionary press, as well as taking in the sense of history that infuses this place.
Enjoy a refreshing tea in a great example of an early Malaysian kitchen.

Hosts were very friendly. Make sure to get a photo taken in the "Wilson Hat" mirror.

Thank Garry_and_Lai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for you kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

This museum focuses on the activities and relationships formed by the Chinese revolutionary and founder of modern China, Dr. Sun Yat Sen during his time in Penang like him sending his two daughters to a local Penang school and how he formed a reading society to avoid the attention of the authorities. Do not worry if you are unsure about Sun Yat Sen's background as the exhibits and text descriptions provide succinct and interesting portions of his background, revolutionary activities etc in a very clear manner without being too wordy.

This museum also offers intriguing information about Chinese history beyond Sun Yat Sen as our guide during our visit on 23rd January 2017 provided more information about Chinese society during the early 20th century like the tensions between different Chinese ethnic groups and how the house is unique for being longer than the typical Penang shop house. I would like to give my appreciation to your staff member for being so friendly to answer our questions despite being the only staff member on-site and having to entertain other visitors.

Not only is this museum very interesting but it is quite affordable at only RM 5. If you are finding difficulties to locate this museum, look out for a round sign that says "Dr. Sun Yat Sen Heritage Trail" above the first/ground floor level of the shop house or for the Teochew Puppet & Opera House which is next to the Sun Yat Sen museum. Definitely worth a visit!

Thank Jeremas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for you comprehensive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This museum is incredible. It's an old house in Georgetown, Penang, with so much to offer. Culture, history and hospitality. the care takers are the nicest people on earth. The place is cooling, the kind of shade we need from the Malaysian sun. Upon your visit, you get free complimentary drinks (Chinese tea, pandan water or lime sour plum).
They also sell books and postcards. Definitely a place to visit!

Ohh, and you can take amazing pictures inside!!!!

Thank Youvadee Sivei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for you kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Yat Sen Museum also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Sun Yat Sen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing