We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting slice of history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Yat Sen Museum

Sun Yat Sen Museum
Ranked #17 of 123 things to do in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A historic gem in the heart of the George Town world heritage site. The Sun Yat Sen Museum is a beautifully-preserved house museum in the multicultural George Town world heritage site. This historical house has a permanent exhibition on Sun Yat Sen's early revolutionary period in Penang when he planned a historic uprising of the China Revolution of 1911.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Vietnam
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting slice of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

This old house from Sun Yat Sen's time in Penang is very well preserved and worth a visit. Especially interesting were the old maps of the town from the time (many things haven't changed!) and the old wood fired range and cookware.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Del E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this review, 17 February 2017
Thank you so much for your positive review! We take great pride in our old shophouse and we're glad you agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    128
    50
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sun Yat Sen Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

Went to Sun Yat Sen Museum during Penang CNY Celebration and lots of activities around this house !
Worth a visit for history lover....

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank nitr0888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Thank you for your kind review! We really appreciate it and are glad you that enjoyed our museum. We are doing our best to maintain this place and to restore as much as we can. It's good to have someone like to you, who knows how to appreciate our museum. We really hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An hour well spent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Educate yourself on some of the early revolutionary press, as well as taking in the sense of history that infuses this place.
Enjoy a refreshing tea in a great example of an early Malaysian kitchen.

Hosts were very friendly. Make sure to get a photo taken in the "Wilson Hat" mirror.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Garry_and_Lai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Thank you for you kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting insights into Chinese history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

This museum focuses on the activities and relationships formed by the Chinese revolutionary and founder of modern China, Dr. Sun Yat Sen during his time in Penang like him sending his two daughters to a local Penang school and how he formed a reading society to avoid the attention of the authorities. Do not worry if you are unsure about Sun Yat Sen's background as the exhibits and text descriptions provide succinct and interesting portions of his background, revolutionary activities etc in a very clear manner without being too wordy.

This museum also offers intriguing information about Chinese history beyond Sun Yat Sen as our guide during our visit on 23rd January 2017 provided more information about Chinese society during the early 20th century like the tensions between different Chinese ethnic groups and how the house is unique for being longer than the typical Penang shop house. I would like to give my appreciation to your staff member for being so friendly to answer our questions despite being the only staff member on-site and having to entertain other visitors.

Not only is this museum very interesting but it is quite affordable at only RM 5. If you are finding difficulties to locate this museum, look out for a round sign that says "Dr. Sun Yat Sen Heritage Trail" above the first/ground floor level of the shop house or for the Teochew Puppet & Opera House which is next to the Sun Yat Sen museum. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Jeremas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Thank you for you comprehensive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heart of Georgetown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017

This museum is incredible. It's an old house in Georgetown, Penang, with so much to offer. Culture, history and hospitality. the care takers are the nicest people on earth. The place is cooling, the kind of shade we need from the Malaysian sun. Upon your visit, you get free complimentary drinks (Chinese tea, pandan water or lime sour plum).
They also sell books and postcards. Definitely a place to visit!

Ohh, and you can take amazing pictures inside!!!!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Youvadee Sivei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this review, 14 February 2017
Thank you for you kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Yat Sen Museum also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Sun Yat Sen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing