We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small museum.”
Review of Sun Yat Sen Museum

Sun Yat Sen Museum
Ranked #18 of 138 things to do in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A historic gem in the heart of the George Town world heritage site. The Sun Yat Sen Museum is a beautifully-preserved house museum in the multicultural George Town world heritage site. This historical house has a permanent exhibition on Sun Yat Sen's early revolutionary period in Penang when he planned a historic uprising on the cusp of the Chinese Revolution of 1911.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I have been to the grand Sun Yet Sen museums and tomb in China. This place is very different. A small homely museum dedicated to Sun Yat Sen's early revolutionary efforts in Penang. A must for history buffs. The hosts were extremely welcoming and passionate about history. Exhibits were interesting. Felt like a guest in ones private house. Refreshments were laid out and even for the casual tourist this is a great place to pop in during the scorching afternoon heat and learn something new.

1  Thank vultureMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

The museum shows the history of the stay of the chinese revolutionary in penang.
The staff made us feel very welcome and made it quite an experience.
Would really recommend stopping by!

1  Thank JennyTeaspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you for your positive review! We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We have visited other former homes of Dr Sun Yat Sen in China so this added to our knowledge. A small but well equipped Museum with some very interesting exhibits. Well worth the visit.

1  Thank Mickrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you for your positive review! We are glad to have contributed to your knowledge of Dr Sun, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Worth a stop in for 5 Malaysian Ringgit but don't expect much. There is not much original furniture or memorabilia from Sun Yat Sen's time in the building but you can learn a bit of history and see what a restored old house with some nice antiques looks like. The docent was lovely and helpful and even helped with some photos of us. You can get a feel for what it might have been like 100 years ago. Nice place.

1  Thank ebomze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are always trying to improve the content of our museum. We hope you enjoyed your time here nonetheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This old house from Sun Yat Sen's time in Penang is very well preserved and worth a visit. Especially interesting were the old maps of the town from the time (many things haven't changed!) and the old wood fired range and cookware.

1  Thank Del E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you so much for your positive review! We take great pride in our old shophouse and we're glad you agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Yat Sen Museum also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Sun Yat Sen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing