We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but expected a bit more ”
Review of Sun Yat Sen Museum

Sun Yat Sen Museum
Ranked #18 of 137 things to do in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A historic gem in the heart of the George Town world heritage site. The Sun Yat Sen Museum is a beautifully-preserved house museum in the multicultural George Town world heritage site. This historical house has a permanent exhibition on Sun Yat Sen's early revolutionary period in Penang when he planned a historic uprising on the cusp of the Chinese Revolution of 1911.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We have been Baba and Nyonya houses before and much enjoyed the architecture as well as the inside. We expected a bit more all around Sun Yat Sen and the struggles against Qing dynasty, but were left a bit unsatisfied. Still a great place to remember the past, yet, would be great to learn more about the uprising and revolution itself.

2  Thank Ba0zi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
There are newer reviews for Sun Yat Sen Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017

visited twice. Each time in Penang in 2 years. Full of history ofDr. Sun and all the oversea Chinese contributions to the revolution. Also history that was new to me about the local Chinese volunteers during WW2 against Japan in China. History are remembered and honoured.
Must visit if you are interest in history, Dr Sun and the Penang Chinese
I learned much.

1  Thank eddielam_can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thank you for your positive review, and repeated patronage! We hope to see you again whenever you're in Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I have been to the grand Sun Yet Sen museums and tomb in China. This place is very different. A small homely museum dedicated to Sun Yat Sen's early revolutionary efforts in Penang. A must for history buffs. The hosts were extremely welcoming and passionate about history. Exhibits were interesting. Felt like a guest in ones private house. Refreshments were laid out and even for the casual tourist this is a great place to pop in during the scorching afternoon heat and learn something new.

1  Thank vultureMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

The museum shows the history of the stay of the chinese revolutionary in penang.
The staff made us feel very welcome and made it quite an experience.
Would really recommend stopping by!

1  Thank JennyTeaspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you for your positive review! We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We have visited other former homes of Dr Sun Yat Sen in China so this added to our knowledge. A small but well equipped Museum with some very interesting exhibits. Well worth the visit.

1  Thank Mickrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you for your positive review! We are glad to have contributed to your knowledge of Dr Sun, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Yat Sen Museum also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Sun Yat Sen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing