We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy museum, memorable hosts”
Review of Sun Yat Sen Museum

Sun Yat Sen Museum
Ranked #19 of 139 things to do in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A historic gem in the heart of the George Town world heritage site. The Sun Yat Sen Museum is a beautifully-preserved house museum in the multicultural George Town world heritage site. This historical house has a permanent exhibition on Sun Yat Sen's early revolutionary period in Penang when he planned a historic uprising on the cusp of the Chinese Revolution of 1911.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This little shophouse tucked away in 120 Armenian Street is a reminder of a time when Malaya had close links to mainland China thanks to its large Chinese diaspora. This was once Sun Yat-sen's house in Penang, a base from which he and his comrades devised many plans to create a new future for the country he loved.

The museum is small but cosy, humble but sincere - it presents in a straightforward manner Sun Yat-sen the man and his beliefs, and his party the Tongmenghui (the Chinese United League). The walls of the ground floor of the shophouse are filled with storyboards and you have all the time in the world to go through them. If modern Chinese history is not your thing at least spend some time to take in the beautiful architecture of the shophouse, wonderfully restored yet retaining all of the old world charm and ambience.

What really impressed my girlfriend and me and left an impression on us were the museum's two caretakers, Alvin and Kenny. Alvin was near the entrance when we came in (if I did not mix up the pair's names) and he immediately invited us in warmly and sincerely. It was obvious Mandarin was his first language and not English, yet he introduced the museum to us in good English and made a very good effort to make us feel welcome. It felt as if he was inviting us into his home and his warmth and hospitality were 100 per cent. Later, Kenny struck up a conversation with us at the back of the shophouse and upon hearing that we were interested in Penang's history, he immediately gave us many anecdotes about Penang's history. If Alvin and Kenny are still in charge of the museum today the museum will be in very, very safe hands!

2  Thank Eisen1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thank you for your comprehensive review, and kind words for our caretakers! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We have been Baba and Nyonya houses before and much enjoyed the architecture as well as the inside. We expected a bit more all around Sun Yat Sen and the struggles against Qing dynasty, but were left a bit unsatisfied. Still a great place to remember the past, yet, would be great to learn more about the uprising and revolution itself.

2  Thank Ba0zi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

visited twice. Each time in Penang in 2 years. Full of history ofDr. Sun and all the oversea Chinese contributions to the revolution. Also history that was new to me about the local Chinese volunteers during WW2 against Japan in China. History are remembered and honoured.
Must visit if you are interest in history, Dr Sun and the Penang Chinese
I learned much.

1  Thank eddielam_can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thank you for your positive review, and repeated patronage! We hope to see you again whenever you're in Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I have been to the grand Sun Yet Sen museums and tomb in China. This place is very different. A small homely museum dedicated to Sun Yat Sen's early revolutionary efforts in Penang. A must for history buffs. The hosts were extremely welcoming and passionate about history. Exhibits were interesting. Felt like a guest in ones private house. Refreshments were laid out and even for the casual tourist this is a great place to pop in during the scorching afternoon heat and learn something new.

1  Thank vultureMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your positive review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

The museum shows the history of the stay of the chinese revolutionary in penang.
The staff made us feel very welcome and made it quite an experience.
Would really recommend stopping by!

1  Thank JennyTeaspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Assistant at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you for your positive review! We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Yat Sen Museum also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Sun Yat Sen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing