We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$193
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$126
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
US$119
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang(George Town)
US$62
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$40/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
110
50
14
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
50
14
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomdesign hoteltwg teaturn down servicepillow menuwhiskey barbang olufsennespresso capsulesa la carte breakfast menudining room servessweet notered velvetcomplimentary minibarsweet dreamspool barrestored colonialm ms
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We enjoy our stay at Room 6.

The complimentary airport transfer is much appreciated else taking grab is also easy.

The room is nice and spacious.

No extra perks for SPG member and late check-out is not even granted but thanks for extending to 1pm for our stay.

There is no lift, only staircase to the rooms on upper floor.

We have our dinner at the Dining room and it is nice and of good quality and reasonable price.

The breakfast hours is until 12 noon and you choose one dish from the living room menu, one coffee and one juice.

The pool is not crowded.

So if you want a quiet place to stay and to enjoy the room, you can consider MM.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank liliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We managed to book here for five nights on a points redemption before the category pricing went up, making it really good value; even with the slightly higher price, for the quality of room and service I would still maintain it as good value now. Being such a small boutique hotel makes the attention to detail here impeccable, and service was very personal as at any one time there were usually only around 3 of the rooms occupied out of a maximum of 8. Our room (number 6) was gorgeous and even more than we could have expected from pictures on the website. But it was the little details that made the difference: the turndown services with different sized slippers on our sides of the bed, the chocolate treats and chilled water every day, never-ending sweets jar, and even bringing us bowls and chopsticks for the street food they noticed us bringing in when we came back to the room. Breakfast wasn’t included in our redemption, but we still ate in the café a couple of the mornings for convenience – price wise compared to alternatives eating out it wasn’t the cheapest, but the food was good and they were also really helpful boxing things up when we had to leave at short notice for a tour. The pool outside wasn’t as appealing in person as we’d expected, mainly as it was full of leaves when we went to check it out; then again we didn’t feel like we missed too much as we didn’t feel a need to leave our room! The location was good as well – not too far if you do want a half hour walk into the old town, or since we found most places on the island needed an uber anyway it didn’t make a huge difference being slightly further out from the old town centre. Despite our Gold SPG status, there weren’t any benefits beyond a points bonus due to the hotel being a part of the Design collection, but I can’t think of any benefits other than breakfast they could have given us in addition to what we got. I’m not sure we would have afforded the cash prices if we hadn’t had the points, but if you’re looking for somewhere to splurge on something special this is definitely the place!

Room Tip: Room 6 is brilliant
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Our first time here in Macalister Mansion and this place really wonderful and I love colonial buildings so much! We went for their afternoon tea which is great, just the scones bit hard and the jam too little for 2 persons. It's also a good for the youngsters who love to take photos because the food presentation is nice, the interior is nice, exterior is nice, the lighting is nice... so overall is good!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

This top boutique designer hotel is worth the time and investment to stay and celebrate our anniversary. The beautifully well decorated, upscale hotel has a great atmosphere that is not snotty at all. The staff well mannered, the service is exceptional, the location is situated privately and comfortable. The swimming pool; warm and inviting. We enjoyed the breakfast & lunch menu in the Living Room, The Dining Room service was excellent, the palate delicious. Karaoke type of music did NOT match the service, nor the palate, and nor the Dining Room and took away the grandeur of our dining experience. (Perhaps it works well with the locals?) The only changes that's highly suggested is that the music must match the refined Dining Experience. Suggestions of (Lounge Chill, Smooth, Instrumental, Classical, and/or Jazz,) music to match the delicious menu and overall experience will complete the atmosphere to a 5* Dining Experience for International Clientele. Other than this, we'd be joyful to stay here again!

Room Tip: Only 8 showrooms to choose from, all gorgeous!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amaris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights in room 2, which is the room with the four-poster bed and bay window overlooking the front of the hotel. This hotel only has 8 rooms which makes it a pretty special place to stay. I consider this a luxury boutique hotel, it is clear how much time and effort has been put into the contemporary yet subtle curated design of the rooms as well as the facilities. Room 2 was lovely, with a large double bathroom with bath and shower, and i love four-poster beds... The dining room is breathtaking, very uniquely designed and with an excellent chef and menu/food to boot. Even if you don't stay here this is probably one of the top restaurants in Penang and worth a visit. The Cellar (the bar/lounge) is beautifully and quirkily decorated, very reminiscent of a traditional Scottish bar/lounge back home with age contemporary twists, which made us feel very much at home. It is a smoking lounge and bar and is very popular for gatherings/work meetings/after work drinks etc. great selection of wines! the Living room is also excellent, with a great breakfast and lunch menu this is more like a cute garden styled area which is bright, airy and fresh feeling. There is also an outdoor pool and pool bar area at the front of the hotel.

In Penang there is plenty to do and the hotel staff are there to assist, it is also close enough to walk to some areas and is a relatively central location. Overall a wonderful, stylish hotel that is cutting edge and full of character where you are more likely to bump into local residents than hotel guests due to the small amount of rooms making it a great place to stay and enjoy.

Room Tip: each room us unique and pics are on the website take your preferred one!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EdanaSchul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews