We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous evening!”
Review of Kebaya Dining Room

Kebaya Dining Room
Ranked #8 of 1,393 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: RM 70 - RM 164
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kebaya is the dining room of the Seven Terraces and is open to hotel guests and the public. Open daily, 6pm till 10pm. Christopher Ong has worked with the hotel’s chefs to create a menu of a new approach to Classic Straits Chinese Nyonya dishes. They have refined these using French cooking techniques and innovative products to deliver surprising new twists on this already fascinating cuisine. The effect is simple, delicious full of flavor and dazzling. A four-course degustation menu of entrée, mains, vegetables and dessert is served in Chinese 'family-style' to allow guests to share the dishes.
Reviewed 18 January 2020 via mobile

Beautiful surroundings should be celebrated with a good cocktail and the Georgetown Cooler at the bar hit the spot, and was a great start to a supberb culinary experience. Book a table at Kebaya, put on your smart frock and enjoy the excellent service, ambiance and of course food. It is rare that I read a menu and would like to choose most items on it, but this is one of them. You choose a starter, main, veg and desert for a set price and my husband and I shared our dishes - a fusion of tastes complimented by some excellent wjne. We visited on recommendation from friends who come frequently, and all I can say is GO!

Date of visit: January 2020
3  Thank hayend89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience on Kebaya. We are delighted you had a fabulous evening and we appreciate your recommendation of TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 106 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2020

An anomaly. Our third visit to a really good restaurant ruined by the staff. Disinterested unengaged it turned a good evening into a very disappointing one. It is a shame as the ambience is good, we had our regular table. When I asked to see the manager I was told he was having his dinner. Fortunately, his assistant came to see us. Need to sack the staff and train a team that will complement their good food

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Johnsnelgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Thank you for returning to dine at Kebaya. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We have taken your comments on board and will take appropriate steps to improve the service skills of the team. We hope this occasion will not deter you from returning to us on your next visit to Penang. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020

Wonderful food and great service. The waiters are ready with dining suggestions. The food is really nice.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Trivinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2020

Thank you for dining at Kebaya and writing a review on TripAdvisor which is much appreciated. We are delighted that you had a wonderful meal experience with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

This restaurant is a rip off! Same food on the street is ten times better and cheaper. It looks impressive and probably is for tourists who are not foodies or who cannot tell the difference between a good Chinese cuisine and a tourist proof one...
We were very much looking forward to it but we were very disappointed. Everything is a facade. You pay for accessing the history of the ace, nothing more.
Foodies: don't waste your money on this restaurant!

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank VDesRosiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Thank you for dining at Kebaya. We have been trying to trace your reservation over the last few days but without success. At Kebaya we are proud to serve innovative Penang Peranakan Cuisine. Old recipes have been tried and tested, new techniques applied to enhance the flavours and texture of dishes, most importantly our ingredients are well sourced; from organic meats, line caught seafood to all the spices we use. Every detail is planned meticulously by the owners with the team to offer a unique dining experience in a luxurious setting of a 1920 Penang Mansion.

We are very surprised that a foodie cannot tell the difference between street food and restaurant food, Chinese food and Peranakan food but no doubt a real foodie will be able to do that. As this is your only review on Tripadvisor, we will let other diners be our judge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2019 via mobile

Second time here and food was still as delicious as ever. My parents enjoyed the food and even more so the impeccable service from the staff, especially Dinesh who was very friendly and gave good recommendations on what to order. He also remembered all 12 of our orders without writing down anything! Ninie was also very warm and invited us to stay at the Seven Terraces hotel next time we came to Penang. Standout dishes were the prawns and barramundi! Would come back again and again.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank jorinas576
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Thank you for returning to dine at Kebaya. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time once again. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kebaya Dining Room also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Kebaya Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.