We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peranakan dining to perfection in a too die for setup ”
Review of Kebaya Dining Room

Kebaya Dining Room
Ranked #8 of 1,396 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: RM 70 - RM 164
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kebaya is the dining room of the Seven Terraces and is open to hotel guests and the public. Open daily, 6pm till 10pm. Christopher Ong has worked with the hotel’s chefs to create a menu of a new approach to Classic Straits Chinese Nyonya dishes. They have refined these using French cooking techniques and innovative products to deliver surprising new twists on this already fascinating cuisine. The effect is simple, delicious full of flavor and dazzling. A four-course degustation menu of entrée, mains, vegetables and dessert is served in Chinese 'family-style' to allow guests to share the dishes.
Reviewed 29 January 2020 via mobile

This is a must visit, prices are slightly on the higher end of the spectrum for Penang standard but still affordable given the exquisite quality and service. The dining room sit in a restored heritage building cum boutique stay named the Seven Terrace. All the china and porcelains are just to die for! You need to call to book in advance as they only serve dinner sets, this gives a different side of the Penang culture other than the wide array of street food. Must visit

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank DaisyC153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Thank you for dining at Kebaya. We are happy to know you had a wonderful experience with us enjoying the food and surroundings. We hope you will be back soon and we look forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

Visited with my mother and wife, very very nice evening with very good local food with a European twist. Very nice place all together and good service.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Happiness05765781898
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Thank you for dining at Kebaya. We are delighted that you had a great meal experience with us. We hope you will be back soon and we look forward to welcoming you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

I dread eating standard Chinese New Year reunion food so we ended up with Peranakan for reunion where it was less crowded and food was not production line.

It would have been perfect if I did not have to wait 20 minutes for my table while the guests from the first seating sat around chatting and the restaurant staff did not encourage them politely to leave, until I broached it.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Davidlye70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Thank you for returning to dine at Kebaya. Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay in getting the table to you on time. As you are aware, reunion dinner is a busy time and thank you for your patience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2020

One of the best vegetarian meals that I have had. Stunning texture and tastes.

Lovely range of wines too, unusual for Malaysia.

Great service too with a smile.

Beautiful peranakan house/hotel.

Faultless.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheMohawkSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Thank you for dining with us at Kebaya. We are delighted that you had a wonderful meal experience with us on your recent visit. We appreciate your feeback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2020 via mobile

Beautiful surroundings should be celebrated with a good cocktail and the Georgetown Cooler at the bar hit the spot, and was a great start to a supberb culinary experience. Book a table at Kebaya, put on your smart frock and enjoy the excellent service, ambiance and of course food. It is rare that I read a menu and would like to choose most items on it, but this is one of them. You choose a starter, main, veg and desert for a set price and my husband and I shared our dishes - a fusion of tastes complimented by some excellent wjne. We visited on recommendation from friends who come frequently, and all I can say is GO!

Date of visit: January 2020
3  Thank hayend89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience on Kebaya. We are delighted you had a fabulous evening and we appreciate your recommendation of TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kebaya Dining Room also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Kebaya Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.