We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nyonya fusion”
Review of Kebaya Dining Room

Kebaya Dining Room
Ranked #8 of 1,396 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: RM 70 - RM 164
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kebaya is the dining room of the Seven Terraces and is open to hotel guests and the public. Open daily, 6pm till 10pm. Christopher Ong has worked with the hotel’s chefs to create a menu of a new approach to Classic Straits Chinese Nyonya dishes. They have refined these using French cooking techniques and innovative products to deliver surprising new twists on this already fascinating cuisine. The effect is simple, delicious full of flavor and dazzling. A four-course degustation menu of entrée, mains, vegetables and dessert is served in Chinese 'family-style' to allow guests to share the dishes.
Reviewed 8 February 2020

Not your typical Penang nyonya fare. Rather, they are combined with elements from Indian, Thai, Western, Japanese and other types of cuisine. Only serving set menus with 3-4 options for each course. Costly for locals, but OK for us.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, General Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Thank you for dining with us at Kebaya. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable meal with us. We believe Peranakan cuisine should continue to progress and evolve with different cooking techniques and ingredients. We hope you will be back to visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 97 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

What can I say about this restaurant......putting aside the food it is worth going to see what an incredible building this is. It has been renovated to its former glory in such style. It’s absolutely beautiful. Our meal was delicious, everything they served was well presented and tasted amazing. They only serve a set meal, you choose a starter, main, vegetables and desert. They have 2 sittings one at 6pm and the other at 8pm, booking is highly recommended. This place was a welcomed relief from the outside, a haven away from the smells and noise of Penang.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank 491stava
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, General Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Thank you for dining at Kebaya. We are delighted to know you had a fabulous meal with us. We greatly appreciate your review and hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2020 via mobile

I thought I went back 50 years in time when I stepped into the Library. Amazong restoration work of the old Chinese style house and deco. The doors, the floor tile, the furnitures. It was a movie set and we were laughing and chatting like the family who live there. The restaurant is part of a hotel and I have to respect and say thank you to the owner, the designer, the workers who made history live. I felt like going to my grand parents places before second world war (just imagination, I am younger than that). Oh, the good was Penang Nyonya style, local style. Mild to heavy taste, mild spicy. The food was good. Wine list was reasonably priced with ok selection. The open area tables were very nice as well. It is well worth making a visit. Good value for money (fine dining standard).

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank 685wongm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, General Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Thank you for dining with us at Kebaya. We are delighted to know you had a amazing private dinner at the library recently. We hope we will welcome you back at Kebaya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

The restaurant is set in a stunningly restored colonial building that will evoke memories of days past. The food presentation were also excellent and the service top notch.
The mains were in most part pretty well done. The starters and desserts were however a bit of a hit and miss. I just think for this price, you could find a lot more authentic/flavourful Peranakan food in Penang. Peranakan food, much like Chinese food doesn't particularly cater to a starter-entree style anyway.
However, there probably isn't another more elegant and upmarket offering within the Peranakan food space - if that is what you want, then this is probably the place to go.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, General Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Thank you for dining at Kebaya. We are disappointed to know the food did not live up to your expectation on your recent visit. We appreciate your feedback and we hope we will have the opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020

A fellow guest at our hotel told us about this place, we have been travelling for three weeks and this has been our best dining experience
I doubt whether we will get better
Excellent service and delicious food and so reasonably priced

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Londonerpeakdistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Thank you for dining at Kebaya dining room. We are delighted you had a wonderful meal experience with us and greatly appreciate the review and recommendation of TripAdvisor. We hope you will be back to dine with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kebaya Dining Room also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Kebaya Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.