We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had ordered the special”
Review of Kebaya Dining Room

Kebaya Dining Room
Ranked #8 of 1,396 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: RM 70 - RM 164
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kebaya is the dining room of the Seven Terraces and is open to hotel guests and the public. Open daily, 6pm till 10pm. Christopher Ong has worked with the hotel’s chefs to create a menu of a new approach to Classic Straits Chinese Nyonya dishes. They have refined these using French cooking techniques and innovative products to deliver surprising new twists on this already fascinating cuisine. The effect is simple, delicious full of flavor and dazzling. A four-course degustation menu of entrée, mains, vegetables and dessert is served in Chinese 'family-style' to allow guests to share the dishes.
Reviewed 14 February 2021 via mobile

We had ordered the special menu (2-3 pers) for Valentine’s Day to arrive in a beautiful and environmentally tiffin. Instead the food arrived in enough plastic to fill an ocean. The rice was excellent but the rest of the rm 150 menu was bland and uninspiring. No, not our cup of tea.

Date of visit: February 2021
3  Thank PER J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, General Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Thank you for ordering a delivery during the MCO. All our orders went out with a 3 or 4 tier stainless steel tiffin in a re-useable bag and for repeat orders we encouraged our customers to exchange tiffins, unless we had run out of tiffin on the day. Our apologies if you did not receive a tiffin with your delivery and extremely disappointed to hear the food was not to you liking. We hope we can have the opportunity to make it right for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2021

I am normally not a fan of takeaway food from a fine dining restaurant, as half the experience is the atmosphere, service, plating and ambience of the place, which cannot be replicated at home. However, with the Covid19 lock down and inability to dine in, takeaway was the only option.

Our 3 course meal was delivered, still warm, in a three tiffen cannister along with all the extras. They took the initiative to provide an explanation on how to serve and enjoy your meal at home.

As I am allergic to seafood, they made allowances in the selection to cater for my needs. So one starter was unique to our order.

Every course was an explosion of flavours, with a wonderful combination of sweet, fresh, spicy (but not excessively hot) tastes and aromas. We had to take a break before tackling the dessert, as the portions where more than ample, so some time was needed to digest the first two courses.

I am not going to break down each meal as they were all amazing and you need to experience them yourself. So while locked down, don't despair you can still enjoy a beautifully cooked meal from this fine restaurant. We did have the pleasure of having one of their tasting menus a while back while touring Seven Terraces, which had set our expectations at a very high level and are thrilled to say we were not disappointed.

We can't wait for the restrictions to be lifted so we can return to enjoy another meal at the restaurant itself.

Well done to the Chefs and staff for preparing such a wonderful experience in such difficult times.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bevan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, General Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Thank you for ordering a Tiffin Take Away Set during the MCO period in Penang. We greatly appreciate your feedback and your detail review of your delivery. We hope to welcome you at Kebaya now that we are open for dine in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2020

The 3 course dinner in Kebaya is amazing. My husband and I are here for our honeymoon getaway and am really glad we chose this place vs other fine dining places. The starter otak2 is special with the crispy puffs and the sauce is so good! For our main course, seabass was grilled to perfection and lamb was extremely soft and tender. We really enjoyed the vege masak lemak too, gravy was great. For desserts, we really enjoyed the pengat panna cotta, and the tang yuen. Loved the ambience and service too. The waiters are very helpful and friendly. They even served us complimentary dessert because we're on our honeymoon. Will come back again. Dont expect a traditional meal and be pleasantly surprised!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Lewt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2020 via mobile

It’s located inside Seven Terrace hotel building. Available on set lunch and dinner. Nice ambience, fine dining (casual dress code) with Chinese and colonial style, grand antiques stuff. Wine and drinks are available, bar with colonial style. Friendly and helpful staffs, ask recommendation from menu and the explanation from waiters or Sahrul, the Manager. Tasty awesome food, especially Hong Bak Lamb, Fish, Prawn but all food we ordered are tasty too. Very recommended!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank henrysusanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2020

For the past four years Kebaya is where we have taken every special guest visiting Penang and where our family has celebrated every special occasion - birthdays, anniversaries, exam results, etc. More recently we have also enjoyed several superb lunches too. Kebaya was our first destination as soon as lock down restrictions were eased.
Dining at Kebaya is magical and the luxury and decadence are effortlessly entwined in every aspect of the experience. The professionalism of the staff, the quality and presentation of the extraordinary food, the style and sophistication of the beautifully restored Seven Terraces - it all feels genuine and flawless.
The lychee martini is not to be missed and is the perfect way to start the evening.
We have loved every dish on every menu over the past four years and the sophisticated flavours and elevated interpretation of traditional Nyonya dishes never fails to impress.
The lunch menu in particular, offers exceptional value and there is always something fascinating to feast your eyes on too - the The Chinoiserie Exhibition is superb and the antique shop gallery is worth a visit. Dining at Kebaya is an experience not to be missed for Penang residents and visitors alike.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shearersx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7TManager, General Manager at Kebaya Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review on Kebaya. We greatly appreciate your patronage and support over the years and honoured that you chose Kebaya to be the first place to dine when RMCO was in place. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your guests to Kebaya. We are now offering a new menu and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kebaya Dining Room also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Kebaya Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.