We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasing dinner”
Review of Kebaya Dining Room

Kebaya Dining Room
Ranked #8 of 1,396 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: RM 70 - RM 164
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kebaya is the dining room of the Seven Terraces and is open to hotel guests and the public. Open daily, 6pm till 10pm. Christopher Ong has worked with the hotel’s chefs to create a menu of a new approach to Classic Straits Chinese Nyonya dishes. They have refined these using French cooking techniques and innovative products to deliver surprising new twists on this already fascinating cuisine. The effect is simple, delicious full of flavor and dazzling. A four-course degustation menu of entrée, mains, vegetables and dessert is served in Chinese 'family-style' to allow guests to share the dishes.
Reviewed 1 October 2022 via mobile

Visited on 30 September after reviews seen on TA. Took an extremely cheap Grab from the E&O.
The restaurant is part of the 7 Terraces Hotel and is an extremely sympathetic conversation of seven former Shop Houses.
We did not book but were lucky to get a table.
The waiting staff were first class and we enjoyed our Nonya dishes from the set menu that had a slightly European twist. The prawns were particularly good and my wife enjoyed the very generous lamb shank.
The wine was very keenly priced and with coffee our bill was just under £100. All in all very satisfied.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank TimSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2022 via mobile

We just ate here three nights straight. By far the nicest restaurant in Penang. The food is complex and beautiful. The team, especially Dinesh and Vincent, are proud of what they do and for very good reason. We will come back again and again.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank Bunduboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2022

We were a party of 4 from Melbourne, Australia. The minute we walked into the restaurant it felt as if we had been transported back 100 years. The decor and ambience was sublime - this is even before we had tasted the food!!! Service was impeccable and the food was amazing. As my late mother and grandmother used to cook nonya food, the dishes tasted authentic and brought back memories of the aroma that used to waft out of our kitchens when my mother and grandmother were alive. Do yourself a favour and book a table.

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank 22zamank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2022 via mobile

Had a wonderful lunch with parents at the Kebaya Dining Room. For about RM100 per person, each person chooses their starters, mains and dessert and these dishes can be shared. Food was good and tasty. Highly recommended especially for a special occasion. The place is nicely decorated in an old Nyonya style.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank JoeCool_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2022 via mobile

If you are looking for a restaurant that :

1. Is beautifull & Classy

2. Has incredible service, the waiters are all great, Vinesh went out of the way to make it an incredible experience !!!!

3. Offers DELICIOUS food, (don't hesitate to choose the duck confit that cooked for 12 hours, just Excellent !!!! The prawns Geng curry and lemongrass is whaooo !!!!!)

Look no further THIS IS THE RESTAURANT OF GEORGETOWN !!!!

PS : I almost forgot...start with the Lime Margarita...even in Mexico it wasn't this perfect....

Date of visit: July 2022
1  Thank Ivan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kebaya Dining Room also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Kebaya Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.