We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nyonya style dining experience”
Review of Kebaya Dining Room

Kebaya Dining Room
Ranked #8 of 1,396 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: RM 70 - RM 164
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kebaya is the dining room of the Seven Terraces and is open to hotel guests and the public. Open daily, 6pm till 10pm. Christopher Ong has worked with the hotel’s chefs to create a menu of a new approach to Classic Straits Chinese Nyonya dishes. They have refined these using French cooking techniques and innovative products to deliver surprising new twists on this already fascinating cuisine. The effect is simple, delicious full of flavor and dazzling. A four-course degustation menu of entrée, mains, vegetables and dessert is served in Chinese 'family-style' to allow guests to share the dishes.
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

A beautifully decorated restaurant in a heritage hotel. Their was live music on old instrument being played. The set course was delicious but too much for us, so make sure you leave room. Our entree of otak otak was a hit and the crab roll which you make yourself was interesting. Our mains of duck and lamb shank were beautifully cooked and the curried vegetables had great flavour. Our waiter Dinesh was an excellent host and explained the meals and how to eat (or mix) certain things together. An enjoyable final night in Penang.

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank TomP948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2024 via mobile

The Service is hopeless. We had a bad experience.
Firstly the fan was spraying drops of oil all over the Table and my daughter. When we reported it the maitre was laughing!!
He gave us a new table (then gave that table to a new couple. The same thing happened again and they asked to be moved!!)

The service was Glacial. Water arrived eventually but no glasses. Waited 10 more minutes

The food was ok but overpriced. The dining room is nice, music player was good and bathroom good. That’s why it’s 2 stars not one.

Not going back. Would not recommend

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank GolfDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2023

This was our splurge meal while in Penang. The setting of the restaurant is unbeatable... really breath-taking. The restaurant is Michelin listed and specializes in their own adaptations of Classis Chinese Nyonya cuisine. They offer 2-course meals for 128 ringgit, that includes a starter, main and side greens. Adding a dessert brings the base cost to (158 ringgit. They also have a nice wine selection and even offer craft beer at reasonable prices. They serve the food family style so it's recommended to order different dishes so you can try several of their menu items. We liked the three meats that we ordered (lamb, beef, and duck); all very tender and tasty. The Pai Tee was a nice starter and the mango salad was the nicest of the greens. We were less impressed with the other offerings. Service was excellent. Including drinks, we paid around 600 ringgit for three of us.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

Excellent food, service and ambience. A must ‘go to’ restaurant when visiting Georgetown. Very worthy of a Michelin star.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2023

Brilliant experience. Great food. We had a table of 12 people and the dining room setting is amazing and the atmosphere special.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CharlieS1364
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kebaya Dining Room also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Kebaya Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.