We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One must 'stop by' in Pulau Pinang”
Review of Ren i Tang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ren i Tang
Ranked #2 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Out of 6 hotels visited in Malaysia, this was the best one. With limited number of rooms, basic but yet functional amenities & correct-matching decoration, it allows anyone to feel honored to stay on an heritage site. I personally loved the bathroom amenities, especially the 100% natural soap.
And WiFi was good enough for me to work at distance, just missed a desk in room.
The big plus is that staff was ultra friendly and down to earth: should you just pass-by you wouldn't tell that they are working here!
Location is really great, at an equal distance from any place of interest in George town and in a very lively neighborhood at night - Little India, still not noisy for early sleepers!
Breakfast might look simplified, but it reflect the relaxed atmosphere of the premises and believe us we got enough energy to keep walking afterwards from noon till 8 pm.
Would recommend to anyone we'll meet in the future, except maybe for those travelling with young kids and those that just don't care about history.
Our tip is to get the address ready for taxi driver (ours didn't know the place which ultimately turn out to be an auspicious sign for an intimate stay) or simply call reception to announce your arrival.
We stayed 2 nights and honestly that was just way too short to enjoy all what Penang Island could offer to you: definitely would come back!

Room Tip: room on first floor since no elevator and possibly strong heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Great location, lovely building and rooms and exceptional staff. We arrived late Friday night yet someone stayed up to let us in and show us to our room. The interior is simple but the whole building has been renovated while still maintaining the history and ambience of the old building. We asked to check out half an hour later than usual due to a tour running late and were immediately told that we could actually check out much later instead. We also had dinner at the bistro one night after a long day of walking around and were not dissapointed at all. As mentioned, location could not be better, the hotel is right in the middle of little india only a short walk away from the jetties, peranakan museum, chinatown, harmony street etc with so much great food around everywhere (including a very good family run kopitiam literally across the street). Definitely deserves all five stars!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sanni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

It was a history lesson and a vacation at the same time.I stayed in Loft 17 and the view from the window was unique.Normally you only see the sea view or the street view of Penang but this view was something I have never seen before, it wasn't all posh and nice but the imperfections in the view made it one of its kind.The room was lovely, beds were so comfortable to sleep,literally everything about it simply just delightful.The location of the hotel is so convenient.You can find delicious hawker food near the hotel.You can also take the hop on and hop off bus near chowrasta market which is a 15 minutes walk from the hotel.The hotel has a good balance between the past and the present, together it made my trip an unforgettable one.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kamales I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a gem in the heart of Georgetown (Unesco Heritage). This beautiful place is run by women, the sweetest staff (thanks Uma for everything you have done to make our stay incredible) ! Our room was a twin room and super clean! The only room with our own balcony which was very nice to relax. The room is very nicely decorated and has comfortable beds. In the morning they make a simple but nice and tasteful breakfast. The location is excellent and right in the Indian heart of Georgetown. The noice from the street does not bother you if you are in the room. This beautiful place is for me the best in whole Malaysia! I highly recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Petra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

i loved the room (tub room) that i stayed in. The rooms were spacious and the all wood everything gave it a vintage vibe. The bathrooms also very spacious and the bathtub was heavenly. The cafe downstairs was convenient and although i wasn't very impressed with the food (as there are sooooo many good eats nearby), their watermelon blast was the most refreshing drink i've ever had. It can get a bit noisy during the day as I stayed in a room facing Little India but during the night it was quiet during the night.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prapti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.8 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 88 in George Town
663 reviews
0.6 km away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#14 of 88 in George Town
843 reviews
1.3 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 88 in George Town
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#13 of 88 in George Town
268 reviews
0.6 km away
Carnarvon House
Carnarvon House
#4 of 172 in George Town
260 reviews
0.7 km away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 172 in George Town
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ren i Tang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ren i Tang

Address: 82-A Lebuh Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: RM220 - RM358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ren i Tang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ren i Tang is the result of a 2-year long restoration project on a 19th century Early Straits Eclectic Styled Building located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, Penang Island: Malaysia. The name "Ren i Tang" is the phonetic spelling in Mandarin of South East Asia's oldest Chinese Medical Hall Wholesaler, Yin Oi Tong which is translated as The Hall of Benevolence. Located at the junction of China Street and Penang Street, the building now hosts a variety of activities - the upper floors:Ren i Tang (Heritage Inn); the ground floor: Tang Bistro, The Yin Oi Tong Chinese Medical Hall Museum, and Yin Oi Tong Chinese Medical Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Ren i Tang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ren i Tang Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing