We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveller rating
455
115
1
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
115
1
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews little india chinese medicine china room wooden bathtub laksa loft room steep stairs shuttered windows heritage building restored chinese boutique hotel within walking distance modern comforts no lift first floor roti your luggage
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely old building in the heart of Little India. Renovated but with a bohemian feel and a strong emphasis on recycling. The manageress, Ooma (probably not how it’s spelt) was extremely helpful and unfailingly cheerful and always seemed to be present, making sure everything was alright. A very good place to stay for the price. Slight word of caution, those with mobility issues will struggle with the stairs which are very steep and have very narrow treads. In addition, you have to leave your shoes at the bottom of the stairs to protect the wooden floors above, so the stairs need to be negotiated in bare/socked feet.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JeffG1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is renovated symathetically and with great detail, with a focus also on environmental concern. We had the Tub room, top floor with shutters on 2 sides overlooking the streets of Little India. The wooden tub was very comfortable. We slept really well even over Chinese New Year as any noise stops by about 10.30/11. The staff were great especially the Manager Uma who helped us several times. Breakfasts were eggs and noodles or roti with dahl, toast, fruit or cereals + juice, tea, coffee - all very nice. Bistro Tang serves delicious local or Western dishes all day and its especially comfortable to relax on their raised platform with big cushions to read or watch the world go by. We would stay again.

Room tip: Tub room (13) is huge and very comfortable. 2 flights of wooden stairs but ok. Your luggage is hauled up in a basket by pulley.
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the second time we have had the pleasure of staying at the Ren i Tang. We discovered the Ren i Tang by luck soon after it opened a few years ago. It was a pleasure to return. There were some familiar faces and some new faces; and we were welcomed by all the moment we walked through the door. This is a small, calm, boutique hotel set in busy and bustling Georgetown. Excellent service, quaint and intriguing rooms, a relaxed environment with good coffee in the morning and a selection of gins in the afternoon. Perfect.
Worth asking for hints of where to eat and what to see in Georgetown.
Absolutely recommend.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pennieruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This lovely old house is smack bang in the middle of things. So don’t count on having a quiet night. The room we had was on the small side.
Steep stairs to climb to get to the rooms!
Breakfast was nice and staff very friendly.
They dealt with an issue we had in a very graceful and professional manner - thank you again for that!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very clean and the staff is very nice, helpful and professional. The location is perfect, 5 minute walking from the ferry and the central bus station. The Breakfast was good and quite rich.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 185AlessandroV185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews