We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel website
RM 198
Booking.com
RM 198
No prepayment needed
ZenHotels.com
RM 173
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Tracy B
Corralejo, Spain

Location location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2024via mobile
Fantastic location to George Town.
Hotel is dated but clean .
Great views from room, cleaned rooms daily.
Separate sunbathing area for when the sun dissapears from pool area.
Very happy with our choice of hotel.
It's is in need of a lock of paint and tlc but didn't spoil our stay.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Choong, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review
Responded 15 Mar 2024
Dear Tracy,

Thank you for your time to write and share your stay experience. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It is our passion to strive in offering satisfactory service to our valued guest. We look forward to delighting you again on your next trip to Penang.

Best regards,
Lynne Choong
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 800
  • Expedia.com
    RM 669
  • Agoda.com
    RM 427
  • Hotels.com
    RM 577
0.2 km from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 902
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
    RM 663
  • Hotels.com
    RM 832
  • Expedia.com
    RM 964
0.1 km from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
RM 280
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    RM 207
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 566
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    RM 379
  • Agoda.com
    RM 345
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 413
  • Agoda.com
    RM 267
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room / Club Deluxe Room
Booking.com
RM 480
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    RM 358
  • Expedia.com
    RM 479
1.1 km from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 373
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 337
  • Agoda.com
    RM 233
  • Hotels.com
    RM 297
0.8 km from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
RM 690
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
    RM 607
  • Agoda.com
    RM 516
  • Expedia.com
    RM 583
3.3 km from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 166
  • Agoda.com
    RM 81
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    RM 118
0.8 km from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 246
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 283
  • Agoda.com
    RM 205
  • Hotels.com
    RM 283
1.0 km from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (1,601)
Filter reviews
1,601 results
Traveller rating
282
737
388
123
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
282
737
388
123
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews revolving restaurant rooftop bar deluxe room within walking distance egg station big room pleasant stay noodles georgetown penang doorman komtar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,601 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2024

Hotel is the best, nearby to Nasi Kandar, shopping area, heritage place. Easy to find and located at heart of Georgetown, Penang. Staff is awesome and well prepared. Hope that to come again for vacation with family. overall are awesome and good

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaMLuk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Choong, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang as your choice of accommodation during your recent visit. We are ecstatic that you had a seamless stay experience with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again for many more visits in the near future.

Best regards,
Lynne Choong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2024

Very old fashion chinese style hotel - huge hotel with 2 buildings. Reminded me of the hotels during my childhood days, talking about more than 30 yrs back. Only good point about this hotel is the location as center of main georgetown area. As we were on official visit so we didn't had any choice to choose our own hotel. It was booked due to close to the venue we had to attend.
Check in took long time despite of having 3 receptionist. We asked for smoking room , which they assign without any problem. the rooms are old style with carpet and tiles. Forgot to take pictures. Old style bathroom. Run down as well. Air con worked on 1 temperature and takes ages to cool. Very dim light..
Only good point, we had good view - could see the sea and city as room was on 11th floor. The floor was smelling of tinner as some work was going on.
Breakfast is very basic nothing special but you surely have cornflake's + fruits+ bread + egg + juice and coffee / tea .
Midnight all the lights in lobby are off, don't see any security guards but only 1 staff at reception whom u can't see until and unless u are at counter.

we requested for late check out till 1300hrs which their manager offered without any fuss but we get call at 1240hrs- are u checking out now ? which we told them we were on the way down only if they wouldn't have called. check out took 1 min.
concierge were helpful with checking weight etc.

if i'm on my personal visit will never has chosen this hotel. it was not cheap compare to the room/service - we paid rm 338.00 per night. There are many boutique and chic hotels in same area. E&O hotel was next door to us.

Sorry !! but i will not recommend.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elegant I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Choong, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Dear Value Guest,

My team and I regret to learn that your recent stay experience with us was not to your expectation and that you will not be returning.
We hope that you will accept our humble apologies for the inadequacies faced during your stay. We value our guests and strive to provide the best experience that we can every time so it is our sincere assurance that necessary action will be follow thru on the mentioned.
Once again, we thank you for having brought the shortcomings to our attention.

Best regards,
Lynne Choong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2024 via mobile

Very dated hotel with old, worn and smelly carpets. The rooftop bar was mediocre, dodgy food offering and poor quality wine for RM 240. This place has seen better days and the staff looks uninterested, we arrived after 9pm and didn’t receive the courtesy of a greeting.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travelgeek1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Choong, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear Value Guest,

First and foremost, thank you for your time to write and share your stay experience with us. While we wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve our hotel services .Your comments are well noted and necessary actions will be taken to rectify it. We had also shared your feedback to our partner , 360 Revolving Restaurant.
We sincerely apologize for the inefficiency on our facility that you had experienced. Once again, I thank you for bringing this matter to our attention as this assists us in our endeavors towards achieving consistent, caring and excellent service standards.

Best regards,
Lynne Choong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2024

Just take a look at my pictures and you will see it all, Room service do not make beds and vacuum the room, Everything is just to hard for staff for the simplest things and I do not recommend this place, I asked 4 times for the mouldy fridge to be replaced and no action was taken. I was there 5/1/2024 Room chairs are broken, place is old and so run down.Leaking toilet, I went to see 4 other rooms are they were all in the same horrible condition.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Isabella085
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Choong, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Dear Isabella085,

First and foremost, thank you for your time to write and share your stay experience with us. While we wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve our hotel services .Your comments are well noted and necessary actions will be taken to rectify it. We sincerely apologize for the inefficiency on our staff service that you had experienced. Once again, I thank you for bringing this matter to our attention as this assists us in our endeavors towards achieving consistent, caring and excellent service standards.

Best regards,
Lynne Choong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2023 via mobile

We waited over an hour to check in. I understand it is a busy time of year, however the whole process was long winded.

The shower is too low and cannot be adjusted, plug hole was blocked and a lot of water does get spilt on the floor.

The beds are solid, and pillows uncomfortable.

TV didn't work.

All the staff were very helpful and polite, however for the price, there's much better accommodation available in Penang.

Room tip: Don't bother. Overpriced
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank jamesaY2208RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lynne Choong, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Dear Jamesa,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Bayview Hotel Georgetown recently. Providing the good level of hospitality is our priority and hearing we have fallen below that standard is something we like to address immediately. I am very sorry to learn that your experience overall was not adequate. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unseemly incident as we value our guests and understand how important it is to offer exceptional service. I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. It will help us improve our operations and services. We hope to delighting you again and a Happy New Year to you too.

Best regards,
Lynne Choong
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews