We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small intimate restaurant”

Jawi House Cafe Gallery
Reserve a table
Ranked #14 of 1,393 Restaurants in George Town
Price range: RM 14 - RM 33
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Authentic Jawi Peranakan Heritage Cuisine prepared by Chef Nurilkarim Razha, sixth generation Jawi Peranakan of Pakistani origin. Discover Jawi Bamieh, Jawi Laksa, Jawi Biryani and Nasi Lemuni among other dishes available. Quench your thirst with Jawi House Arabian Sherbet or Penang Nutmeg Juice and conclude your dining experience with our in-house local dessert like Kuih Sarang Semut or Bubur Pulut Hitam. Explore our premise; traditional Straits Chinese facade with an eclectic Jawi Peranakan-Straits Chinese interior maintained and conserved under the UNESCO Heritage Guidelines. Thank you and hope to see you soon!
Reviewed 15 March 2020

We walked to this restaurant on the advice of our hotel concierge - and it fitted the bill perfectly. Great friendly service, excellent food, reasonable prices and a lovely ambience. We paid £3.50 for a plate of hummus and bread and just £3.50 each for our main courses of chicken (for me) and mixed vegetables (for my wife). Our bill for two people came to just £15! This was authentic Penang cuisine - but real quality.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 43 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

A great little restaurant serving authentic Malaysian food. We were very impressed with the food when we visited 3 years ago.
We came again and were not disappointed. Every dish looks good and tasted even better.
The fact that a large local family were also dining there at the same time as we were, speaks volumes for this restaurant.
Highly recommended. You will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2020
3  Thank bert88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

Recommended by Concierge at our Hotel, so we have it a try and we’re not disappointed. We shared the dip salads and a Biryani and it was enough to have a desert at the end. Lovely tasty food which is well presented. Service was great, would defiantly visit again. Doesn’t serve alcohol which wasn’t a problem for us. Booking is recommended.

Date of visit: February 2020
3  Thank 491stava
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

We had a brilliant lunch here. The building is amazing, friendly staff and the food was superb. Had the beef rendang with lentil rice and seasonal salad. All was perfect and price very reasonable.

Date of visit: February 2020
3  Thank Matt642
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Little_Penang_Boy, Other at Jawi House Cafe Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Dear Matt642,

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day.

So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020

we were enjoying the sights on Armenian street (but feeling overwhelmed by the mid-day heat) and were so pleased to see the trip advisor decal on this restaurant! We had two salads...both absolutely full of interesting and fresh ingredients!! Also enjoyed two special drinks, both tasty and very healthy. This restaurant was like an oasis for us western travellers seeking a fresh salad. In the area you can also enjoy art galleries, the Sun Yat Sen Museum and clan houses....so much to see

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank TorontoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Little_Penang_Boy, Other at Jawi House Cafe Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Dear TorontoCarol,

Thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you loved your experience; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day.

So thanks for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jawi House Cafe Gallery also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Jawi House Cafe Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.